Finalizing everything!


Klumpen

Run away! Run away!
Joined
Nov 19, 2011
Messages
8,571
Location
Uncanny Valley
4gb, including at least 2gb which are useless for the vast majority of people and which consume power non-stop, is a nonsense to me.
Do they? I thought it was supposed to be discussed here, but looking at the last pages it seems to be about something else.

I'm mostly interested in non 4/3G but more RAM would be nice if it doesn't have a huge impact on power drain.
 

rygD

Nihilistic Mystic
Joined
Feb 28, 2014
Messages
7,522
Location
Everywhere
I'm mostly interested in non 4/3G but more RAM would be nice if it doesn't have a huge impact on power drain.
Maybe some of the prototype will get the extra RAM so we can get some actual info, such as if it is useful now for popular games and software, and how much faster it burns through the battery. I want to say I don't care about battery life, but it would be a lie.
 

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
2,066
What's there to worry about combinations piling up? In this case you could just sell the pyras without SoC and sell the SoCs separately. And you could offer to assemble the ordered parts before shipping as a paid service as well.
 

Blue Shadow

Very Active Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
184
What's there to worry about combinations piling up? In this case you could just sell the pyras without SoC and sell the SoCs separately. And you could offer to assemble the ordered parts before shipping as a paid service as well.


Keep in mind that this will not only complicate the ordering process, but also the price calculations - no matter if you are selling 6 device types or offer the boards separately, calculate different prices for a device/board and another mainly identical one just with more ram, would be tricky.
 

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
2,066
Keep in mind that this will not only complicate the ordering process, ...
Ordering at fast food restaurants still demands more brain power. Well, when also offering assembly, there would be a need of validation on the shops part (that all to be assembled kinds of parts are ordered to), but this is a computable problem.
... but also the price calculations - no matter if you are selling 6 device types or offer the boards separately, calculate different prices for a device/board and another mainly identical one just with more ram, would be tricky.
No, in one case you have to come up with 3 times 2 prices in the other case with 3 plus 2 prices. That's actually less complex.
 

Blue Shadow

Very Active Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
184
@Djoga'Ro
I'm not talking about the customer's side, but about ED's side. And it's not about the number of prices, but about choosing the appropriate one. See bugs and calculations thread, though here you probably won't have that much MOQ trouble, depending on the minimal production runs at Global Components.
Also that could quite possibly delay the start of the preorders.
 

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
2,066
My suggestion doesn't intruduce any additional MOQ trouble.
What I suggested would be utterly worthless, if ED is going to only start production runs after orders or if he wants to reduce options to wifi-only only with 2GB and 4G (US/EU) only with 4GB.

Iff he wanted to produce all 6 possible specifications fully assembled, already packaged, and thus ready for shipping for stock (i.e. before orders), he'd need to estimate the demand of wifi-only/4G, for 4G the demand of EU/US, and for all of those possibilities the demand of 2/4 GB RAM.

Alternatively he could choose to produce 3 types of SoC-less pyras plus 2 types of pyra-less SoCs, all packaged and ready to ship waiting for orders after the fact. Here he could do the estimation on demand of 2 GB or 4 GB separately, assuming there's no strong interdependency between choosing 4G over wifi-only and 4 over 2 GB. That would be less complex.

Then again, he could do all that, but not fully assemble them, so have them not ready to be shipped in stock, and do the last assembly steps and packaging, when an order comes.

So, if my suggestion is of any use, entirely depends on what ED wants to do. I hope, I could show, that in a particular scenario it would be. The rest is up to ED and I don't expect anything in this regard, but consideration.
 

ilo_pona

Still Fresh
Joined
Jul 31, 2015
Messages
16
Nice progress. Extra happy about maybe being able to charge over microusb 3.

4GB/4g US for this prepreorderer, please!
 

TheTeaGuy

Still Fresh
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
27
Age
25
Location
England
Huzzah! Fantastic news! Thank you for the extensive update. I eagerly await the 1st May!
 

Mr_Loon

Can't Remember
Joined
Aug 30, 2010
Messages
2,330
Great to hear it's all coming together. :)

+1 for the option of 4GB on the WIFI model.

@EvilDragon : Did you find out if there will be enough demand for a 4G model to meet the necessary MOQ's / support costs / additional production costs / complexity of needing EU & US models etc?

Also one thing that's been bugging me since I found out that the blue USB port on Pyra is eSata rather than USB3 is : Why is a full size USB3 port not present? Surely USB3 brings far more to the table than eSata?
 

Blue Shadow

Very Active Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2016
Messages
184
Great to hear it's all coming together. :)
Also one thing that's been bugging me since I found out that the blue USB port on Pyra is eSata rather than USB3 is : Why is a full size USB3 port not present? Surely USB3 brings far more to the table than eSata?
The SoC simply does not support two USB3 Ports. The one channel available is used for the OTG port which offers more flexibility.

So the blue port is considered to be a future proof usb3-ready port for when an upgrade board that support it may come out.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,411
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Im a bit unsure about the 4gb Version, i mean i cant imagine a usecase, where i would need more than 2 gb
I wants to Play Minecraft on Pyra, which could need some Ram, but most thinks will be a bit of webbrowsing, Youtube, write something on the goo via Libre Office, mybe use Gimp for some low level trawing ( .., - and ready is the moon face).. play around whit DVBT, listen to Webradio, and make lots other tings i also made on Pandora..
My interests in Emulations are Dreamcast and PS1, and DS, and most of the Time SNES, GBA, N64 and Genesis/Mastersystem and Atari..
Ports up to Openmorrowind and Doom 3, but thats it, ..
I dont know if i need more than 2 MB Ram..

But on the other Side; on my CC Pandora, i was at the low end of the Pandora Performance, somethimes i feeld a bit anger for the Rebirth and 1GHZ Users when my Unit runs out of Power for some tasks..

So maybe i would get me a 4gb Edition if the energie consumtion isnt that diverent..

If the Diverents are 15 Hours 2GB and 10 Hours 4GB, i wouldnt buy a 4GB, but i wouldnt bother about + - 1 Hour..
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
11,411
Age
37
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
I dotnt know, but i remember that Ptitseb was experimenting whit Doom 3 on Pandora, and mybe whit the Omap 5 EVM some Yeahr ago on Gamescom..

So maybe he should get it to run in some thime..
But first whe need the 3D Driver to run..
 

mclien

Very Active Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
462
Location
Hannover
4 GB sound nice, but I'll probably stick to 2 if it's gonna force 4G on me. I understand the reasons, though.

Everything else is also good news. Hoping that everything remaining will go smoothly.
Oh, I see a community task ahead:
ED should narrow down the order options to make it simpller7 cheaper.
BUT: 4G and 4GBRAm will be on different PCBs, so if 2 forum member fins each other and order the right Pyras, they can "simply" exchange the CPU board.
Will give the one 4GB /3G and one 2GB /4G version (or one 4GB /NO mobile chip and a 2GB 4G version annd...you get it)
 

comradekingu

Glowing ember
Joined
Apr 15, 2011
Messages
5,075
Website
portfolio.anotheragency.no
Pretty sure the 4G customerbase aligns with 4GB ram.

If the demand for 4G isn't great enough in terms of people wanting it, it may be that those people are willing to overpay to leave the rest of the stock for later buyers.
 

mclien

Very Active Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
462
Location
Hannover
I'm not sure here, because I havn't figured out if the 4G chip will have GPS. I'm more like: I want GPS (and would be ok, if that means 3G) but definitly want 4GB RAM...
So, as soon as the order options are clear, we might need the CPU board exchange thread ;-)
[doublepost=1461575662,1461575313][/doublepost]@Gren @Magic Sam : I'm guessing that some firefly fans aren't far too.... (with your selection kinda my top3 at the moment).

This means we desperatly need an exchangeable logo plate!! (I'm thinking about to try too meet ED in Leipzig to talk about it (but I have to see, if I can afford it timewise...)
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
I'm not sure here, because I havn't figured out if the 4G chip will have GPS.
It does, that's been a confirmed thing from the beginning.
Here is a brief overview. A more comprehensive datasheet is on the details page. The PHS8 is the 3G module that's also being considered: it supports a "world" version called the PHS8-P which would work in both Europe and North America while the 4G only comes in separate US or European flavours; hence why ED is considering going with just 3G, it's only one chip to buy and place, not two. Either way, they're pin compatible so whatever ED chooses it's just a drop into the solder machine.
 

Djhg2000

Very Active Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2014
Messages
200
Location
Sweden
One thing that's been bothering me for a while now is I don't know if the non-3G/4G boards will still have the traces for the module but leave that part unpopulated or if that (electrical, not physical) section of the board is gone completely.

I know I won't need the module initially and I'd rather not solder SMD components anyway, but at the same time I want to know if installing a 4G module is possible at all.
 
Top