Release Minecraft (launcher)

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Jul 23, 2014.

  1. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Here is the Minecraft launcher.

    [​IMG]

    Using a regular launcher from Windows or Linux, you can launch Minecraft on the Pandora.
    Note that Minecraft is vrey demanding, on CPU (and GPU), so don't expect to much Framerate of it.

    This port use gl4es.

    Still, if you use on overclocked Gigahertz Pandora, and with the use of the OptiFine mod (install it like if your are on PC, or install it on a PC and then copy everything on the Pandora), you can reach pleable Framerates, like shown in this nice video from Ingoreis:


    Minecraft launcher is featured on Pandoralive here.

    Note that the rendering is not 100% perfect yet. Menu background animation is wrong, and there maybe some glitches here and there.

    History log
    =========

    Build 10
    ----------

    • Updated libs
    • Added lwjgl 3 (so compatible minecraft 1.13+)
    • embedded a JRE 1.8
    Build 09
    ----------

    • Updated libs
    Build 08
    ----------

    • Updated gl4es
    Build 07
    ----------

    • Updated many native libs
    • Added detection and launching of OptiFine mods
    Build 06
    ----------

    • Updated many native libs
    Build 05
    ----------

    • Updated many native libs
    • Should be compatible with 1.8.3 minecraft version
    Build 04
    ----------

    • Compatible with latets Firmware SZ 1.62+
    • Latest glshim
    Build 03
    ----------

    • Java parameters can be changed (look at appdata/minecraft/home/.params)
    Build 02
    ----------

    • First release version
    Build 01
    ----------

    • Beta releases
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2019
    Tags:
    sswam, Trip, ingoreis and 1 other person like this.
  2. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,040
    Location:
    germany
    It is getting better and better. :)
    No chance to really play this onto my old CC Pandora but forGHz Users it's worth a try.
    Today should be a new official MC snapshot release with alot of performance optimizing included, I've seen pics from the MC devs on twitter where their new test builds reach over 2000 (!) FPS.
    MC should also support Multi threading in the future so it runs much better onto Processors like the Pyra will have one. ^^

    https://twitter.com/SeargeDP/status/491594238329499648

    https://twitter.com/SeargeDP/status/491705316338593794
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 23, 2014
  3. ingoreis

    ingoreis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    49.491276,8.423518
    Hmm Multithreading?


    Maybe we can use the Pandora


    Neon Coprocessor with that with some Things?


    Mean you we can use additional Neon here for little more Performance?Or DSP?


    Ever little FPS Count ;)


    In the Video i let the Chunks so far because i wanted to see the Clouds.


    When you want can i make a Video with not so many visible Chunks and without Sun,without Clouds.


    But its then a very naked Minecraft.


    @Ekianjo


    Nice Article,thx for naming me too ;)


    Maybe you can insert the new Video in your Article with the more FPS in the Optifine Text?


    @FusionPower


    Time to Upgrade to 1 GHZ :)


    @Ptitseb


    Thhhhxxxx ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 23, 2014
    rohezal likes this.
  4. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,040
    Location:
    germany
    Lol, no. Time to wait for the Pyra I would say. ;) However, I prefer Minecraft onto the PC, I need propper Mouse+Keyboard first person Controls to do my construction magic in Minecraft. No way I could build decent stuff onto an Console or Handheld. I'm still impressed that people can play Minecraft onto an Console with an Controller.
     
  5. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    This DSP power on the Pandora needs to be tapped into ... Man!  Pandora still has so much untapped potentials, they are just not used atm :(
     
  6. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,700
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 23, 2014
    sswam likes this.
  7. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,497
    Neon isn't a co-processor.. it's an instruction set that the OMAP3 and other ARM processors utilizes.

    It's your time to step up, here's some light reading to get you started.. http://www.ti.com/lit/ug/spru732j/spru732j.pdf
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 23, 2014
    Hồng Thất Công likes this.
  8. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    I did :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 23, 2014
  9. rohezal

    rohezal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,659
    Multithreading doesn't help for the Pandora. It would only help (probably a lot) if some work (best integer work) could be loaded to the DSP. But this would have to done by decompiling minecraft classes, per hand optimization and a bindings between the Java VM and the DSP.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 23, 2014
  10. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Just tried. It work, but seems to need a lot of memory to run well (don't use -Xmx200M with it for example, I have seen the memory satirated quickly).

    Speed-wise, I have't notice improvement on the Pandora, but I may need more testing (testing again with -Xmx400M). Seems to me that 1.7.9+OptiFine is faster.
     
  11. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,040
    Location:
    germany
    Pandora has only a single core CPU so of course Multi Threading won't help. But the Pyra CPU will be Dual core afaik so there could be benefits.
    Hm, at least onto the PC the new performance boost goes through the roof when I read the user comments. Try to use a low view distance, this can save tons of memory. Mojang optimized alot and they went away from the old "advanced OpenGL" option for example:https://twitter.com/SeargeDP/status/491613295548567552 Don't know if this somehow affects the Pandora version.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 23, 2014
  12. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Yup, maybe they are using the Occlusion query that was part of the advanced OpenGL before by default now. It's not supported in glshim for now (maybe when Depth reading will be supported, that could be done too).
     
  13. ingoreis

    ingoreis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    49.491276,8.423518
    Another Idea for Little Speedup is deactivate the Zram.
    Zram compress Memory and need CPU too.


    PPSSPP work little faster without Zram too.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 23, 2014
  14. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    How do you disable Zram?  Command please :)
     
  15. Orz

    Orz Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    *Pretty Space*
    I'm having trouble getting the framerate ingoreis got in his video. I'm using minecraft 1.7.10 and optifine A4 light and have overclocked to 1.2 ghz but I'm still only getting 0-3 fps. How can I increase my framerates? 
     
  16. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    First, be patient, you don't get thoses framerate in the first minute or 2.

    Put everything to low/off on the Graphics options of OptiFine.
     
  17. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,497
    Also he upped his system speed to 450 as well.. Assuming you have a 1Ghz Pandora (don't use the numbers below if you have a CC and Rebirth which has 332 as default speed. you may be able to push it to 370 on those units.):

    sudo /usr/pandora/scripts/op_sysspeed.sh 450
    the default is 400 if you want to revert.
    Code:
    sudo swapoff /dev/zram0
    turn back on..
    Code:
    sudo swapon -p 5 /dev/zram0
    edit: updated the swapon command to the right one.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 23, 2014
    Hồng Thất Công likes this.
  18. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Here is a couple of screenshot with the latest Minecraft snapshot....

    minecraft7.png

    minecraft6.png
     
  19. edgex004

    edgex004 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,162
    Is there a way I can turn the -server and -Xbatch parameters off or on for the new repo versions? I think the version that had been the most playable for me is still the one with those parameters turned off, but will need to keep testing. It may have been slightly slower, but the current version will freeze for 1 second or so every 5-10 seconds, and I think I prefer slower speed with less freezing.
     
  20. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,363
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    No easy way for now, but I will think of something using some files to edit.
     

Share This Page

Loading...