Release Starcraft

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by notaz, Mar 4, 2014.

  1. elwing

    elwing Rabbit Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,118
    I'm still hoping for a Xash3d port someday...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 29, 2015
  2. Zucadragon

    Zucadragon Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    I've got an original pandora.

    I'm running the newest firmware. 1.71 I believe, I only updated the firmware a few days ago.

    And yes I did, I actually did it wrong once before, so I re-installed starcraft + broodwar, updated them both to 1.16.1 and then copied directory and files (like the two setup.exes) 
     
  3. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,492
    Hmm that's not too out of the ordinary setup... Could you run starcraft again, have it crash again... then could you share the results of the pndrun out log file. should be a .out file in the /tmp/ directory with starcraft in the name.   
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2015
  4. Zucadragon

    Zucadragon Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Sure thing, here it is:

    =======================================================================================

    PND             : /media/dragon/pandora/desktop/starcraft.pnd

    PND_FSTYPE      : Squashfs

    APPDATADIR      : /media/dragon/pandora/appdata/starcraft

    APPDD_FSTYPE    : ext2

    PND_CPUSPEED    : <unset>

    EXENAME         : run.sh

    ARGUMENTS       : <unset>

    =======================================================================================

    [ START ]--- Mount the PND ----------

    Mounting : mount -t squashfs -o ro "/dev/loop0" "/mnt/utmp/starcraft"

    Mounting the Union FS : mount -t aufs -o exec,dirs="/media/dragon/pandora/appdata/starcraft=rw+nolwh":"/mnt/pnd/starcraft=rr" none "/mnt/utmp/starcraft"

    [sUCCESS]--- Mount the PND ----------

    [ START ]--- Starting the application ( run.sh  ) ----------

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"KERNEL32.dll" at 0x40aa0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"KERNEL32.dll" at 0x40a90000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\wineboot.exe" at 0x40130000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\advapi32.dll" at 0x40dd0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"KERNEL32.dll" at 0x40a80000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winemenubuilder.exe" at 0x40120000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"KERNEL32.dll" at 0x40aa0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\services.exe" at 0x40150000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\advapi32.dll" at 0x40180000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\rpcrt4.dll" at 0x40de0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\advapi32.dll" at 0x40f60000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\userenv.dll" at 0x40e50000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"KERNEL32.dll" at 0x40a50000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winedevice.exe" at 0x40ca0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\advapi32.dll" at 0x40dd0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\gdi32.dll" at 0x41100000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\ntoskrnl.exe" at 0x40e30000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\version.dll" at 0x411f0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\user32.dll" at 0x40fd0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\rpcrt4.dll" at 0x40e80000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\rpcrt4.dll" at 0x41220000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\ole32.dll" at 0x40e70000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\mountmgr.sys" at 0x41100000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"KERNEL32.dll" at 0x40a60000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\plugplay.exe" at 0x40190000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\advapi32.dll" at 0x40da0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\rpcrt4.dll" at 0x40e00000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\oleaut32.dll" at 0x412a0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\shlwapi.dll" at 0x413a0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\windowscodecs.dll" at 0x40dc0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\shell32.dll" at 0x41410000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\gdi32.dll" at 0x411f0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\version.dll" at 0x40060000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\user32.dll" at 0x410c0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\shlwapi.dll" at 0x41050000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\shell32.dll" at 0x40e30000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"KERNEL32.dll" at 0x40a40000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\explorer.exe" at 0x40c70000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\advapi32.dll" at 0x40e20000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\rpcrt4.dll" at 0x40da0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\gdi32.dll" at 0x40fb0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\version.dll" at 0x410b0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\user32.dll" at 0x40e90000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"Z:\\mnt\\utmp\\starcraft\\libscr_sa_arm.exe" at 0x40d60000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\advapi32.dll" at 0x41510000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\gdi32.dll" at 0x41410000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\version.dll" at 0x400e0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\user32.dll" at 0x412e0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winex11.drv" at 0x411d0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\imm32.dll" at 0x40120000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\msvcrt.dll" at 0x41580000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\imm32.dll" at 0x41390000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\shlwapi.dll" at 0x413e0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\shell32.dll" at 0x41480000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winex11.drv" at 0x41720000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\rpcrt4.dll" at 0x417d0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\ole32.dll" at 0x416e0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\msacm32.dll" at 0x40150000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winmm.dll" at 0x41610000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\shlwapi.dll" at 0x41a60000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\shell32.dll" at 0x41850000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\comctl32.dll" at 0x41bb0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winspool.drv" at 0x41ca0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\comdlg32.dll" at 0x41ad0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winex11.drv" at 0x41de0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\uxtheme.dll" at 0x420e0000: builtin

    err:menubuilder:write_freedesktop_mime_type_entry error writing file /mnt/utmp/starcraft/mime/packages/x-wine-extension-ini.xml

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\opengl32.dll" at 0x429a0000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\wined3d.dll" at 0x42860000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\ddraw.dll" at 0x427f0000: builtin

    fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0x412cf2b8,0x00000000), stub!

    fixme:fbdev:X11DRV_fbdev_SetCurrentMode Cannot change screen BPP from 16 to 8

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\dsound.dll" at 0x42c00000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\oleaut32.dll" at 0x42c70000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\mmdevapi.dll" at 0x42c40000: builtin

    trace:loaddll:load_builtin_dll Loaded L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winealsa.drv" at 0x42d70000: builtin

    ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1028:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) The dmix plugin supports only playback stream

    err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x800703E6 creating output file L"Z:\\mnt\\utmp\\starcraft\\icons\\hicolor\\16x16\\apps\\1E64_notepad.0.png"

    err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x800703E6 creating output file L"Z:\\mnt\\utmp\\starcraft\\icons\\hicolor\\32x32\\apps\\1E64_notepad.0.png"

    err:menubuilder:convert_to_native_icon error 0x800703E6 creating output file L"Z:\\mnt\\utmp\\starcraft\\icons\\hicolor\\48x48\\apps\\1E64_notepad.0.png"

    err:menubuilder:write_freedesktop_association_entry error writing association file "/mnt/utmp/starcraft/applications/wine-extension-ini.desktop"

    I/O warning : failed to load external entity "/mnt/utmp/starcraft/mime/packages/x-wine-extension-ini.xml"

    I/O warning : failed to load external entity "/mnt/utmp/starcraft/mime/packages/x-wine-extension-msp.xml"

    Could not parse file "/mnt/utmp/starcraft/applications/wine-extension-ini.desktop": Input/output error

    Could not parse file "/mnt/utmp/starcraft/applications/wine-extension-msp.desktop": Input/output error

    Could not parse file "/mnt/utmp/starcraft/applications/wine-extension-rtf.desktop": Key file does not start with a group

    Could not parse file "/mnt/utmp/starcraft/applications/wine-extension-wri.desktop": Key file contains line '?PNG' which is not a key-value pair, group, or comment

    wine: Unhandled page fault on read access to 0x00000018 at address 0x40e43290 (thread 0009), starting debugger...

    couldn't load main module (2)

    Unhandled exception: page fault on read access to 0x00000018 in 32-bit code (0x40e43290).

    Register dump:

    ARM User Mode

     Pc:40e43290 Sp:412cfc28 Lr:40ffe928 Cpsr:60000010(-ZC-)

     r0:00000004 r1:00000018 r2:40ff4e9c r3:00000000

     r4:4333ba6c r5:40fd8a88 r6:40ffe950 r7:0000000b

     r8:0000000a r9:00009a44 r10:00000001 Fp:4333ba8e Ip:00000000

    Stack dump:

    0x412cfc28:  40581240 40fd600c 40581240 411c3070

    0x412cfc38:  00000004 00000005 00000280 4333000b

    0x412cfc48:  411c4c80 00000000 4333ba6c 0000000e

    0x412cfc58:  4333ba96 411b0264 411b365c 40ff0504

    0x412cfc68:  00000000 40e47474 00000000 00000000

    0x412cfc78:  00000000 00000000 40e829f4 00000000

    Backtrace:

    =>0 0x40e43290 (0x4333ba8e)

      1 0x40ffe928 (0x4333ba8e)

    0x40e43290: 

    ldr r8, [r1, #0]

    Modules:

    Module Address Debug info Name (26 modules)

    PE 400e0000-400e4000 Deferred        version

    PE 40120000-40124000 Deferred        imm32

    PE 40150000-40159000 Deferred        msacm32

    PE 404d0000-404d4000 Deferred        ntdll

    PE 40aa0000-40c3c000 Deferred        kernel32

    PE 412e0000-4131b000 Deferred        user32

    PE 41410000-41417000 Deferred        gdi32

    PE 41510000-41514000 Deferred        advapi32

    PE 41580000-41584000 Deferred        msvcrt

    PE 41610000-41686000 Deferred        winmm

    PE 416e0000-416e8000 Deferred        ole32

    PE 417d0000-417d4000 Deferred        rpcrt4

    PE 41850000-419ae000 Deferred        shell32

    PE 41a60000-41a68000 Deferred        shlwapi

    PE 41ad0000-41b68000 Deferred        comdlg32

    PE 41bb0000-41bdf000 Deferred        comctl32

    PE 41ca0000-41caa000 Deferred        winspool

    PE 41de0000-41de4000 Deferred        winex11

    PE 420e0000-420e4000 Deferred        uxtheme

    PE 427f0000-427f4000 Deferred        ddraw

    PE 42860000-42864000 Deferred        wined3d

    PE 429a0000-429a4000 Deferred        opengl32

    PE 42c00000-42c04000 Deferred        dsound

    PE 42c40000-42c44000 Deferred        mmdevapi

    PE 42c70000-42c78000 Deferred        oleaut32

    PE 42d70000-42d73000 Deferred        winealsa

    Threads:

    process  tid      prio (all id:s are in hex)

    00000008 (D) Z:\mnt\utmp\starcraft\libscr_sa_arm.exe

    00000024    0

    00000023   15

    00000022    0

    00000021    1

    00000009    0 <==

    0000000e services.exe

    0000001c    0

    0000001b    0

    00000016    0

    00000014    0

    00000010    0

    0000000f    0

    00000012 winedevice.exe

    00000018    0

    00000017    0

    00000013    0

    00000019 plugplay.exe

    0000001e    0

    0000001d    0

    0000001a    0

    0000001f explorer.exe

    00000020    0

    [sUCCESS]--- Starting the application ( run.sh  ) ----------

    [ START ]--- Restoring the frame buffer status ----------

    [sUCCESS]--- Restoring the frame buffer status ----------

    [ START ]--- Restoring nub mode ----------

    [sUCCESS]--- Restoring nub mode ----------

    [ START ]--- uMount the PND ----------

    [ START ]--- Waiting the Union to be available ----------



    Ohhhh, it's the spoiler tag, see I was looking around for some kind of "collapse" tag but couldn't figure it out, thanks :D


    Also, I'm running with a normal flash right now, but I've also got an SD I could flash and run from, would that be better?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2015
  5. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,492
    ^ I would think your setup is fine. 

    I'm not entirely sure what to make of that error other that it seems to have thrown an exception. I suppose Notaz would be the best to look at that error. 
     
  6. Zucadragon

    Zucadragon Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Alright, thanks a lot for trying to figure it out so far, I hope Notaz can help me out, I want to surprise people at the next Lan party by playing Starcraft on my OP :D
     
  7. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,492
    Another question, were exactly is it crashing? as soon as you click the multiplayer option on the main menu or when you try to start up a game? 

    I don't believe I've ever tried starting a battle.net game, I've always started a LAN game via UDP connection as IPX isn't really an option anymore.
     
  8. Zucadragon

    Zucadragon Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    It crashes right after I click the button, sometimes I can hear the sound of the next menu appearing, but the game is already closing at that point.

    Let me be more clear, after I click multiplayer and then broodwar or Original... Either of those two crashes the game immediatly 
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 26, 2015
  9. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,911
    Location:
    Lithuania
    This should not happen, perhaps some permission issue? Wine is probably failing to make a windows-like directory tree, and games are often full of assumptions about that. Or something is just plain broken on ext2, I have only tested it on FAT.
     
  10. bluedeer

    bluedeer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    153
    It runs beautifully for me, but I have a question. When I'm running it on my Rebirth, it's a 4:3 ratio instead of taking up the entire screen. But some of the Youtube videos showing this running seem to be running it fully taking up the entire screen. 

    For example, in this video:

    https://www.youtube.com/embed/7vWnyDrNQO4?feature=oembed

    But when I run it in exactly the same, way, it does not go wide, it stays instead in 4:3, leaving the two black bars on the side. How do I get it to stretch?
     
  11. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,492
    I made that video, Its 4:3 on the Pandora and my TV... that is my old 36" CRT wich isn't widescreen using the TV out cables. Starcraft was made before widescreen became popular.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 27, 2015
  12. bluedeer

    bluedeer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    153
    Oh, it looked like it was on the Pandora screen. I'd seen another one that looked the same way, I didn't realize it wasn't actually displaying on a Pandora screen. I was around when Starcraft was released, I wasn't sure if there was some kind of display stretching that Notaz's port was able to do that I was missing or something. :)
     
  13. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,492
    I have to think stretching may be possible somehow, although I rather have the "black borders" than stretched. SDL method is the only way I know, but I don't think Starcraft is using SDL. 
     
  14. Zucadragon

    Zucadragon Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    I'm gonna see if reflashing helps out with this issue. I'll post here if it does or doesn't :p
     
  15. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,911
    Location:
    Lithuania
    I was talking about your appdata permissions, so you should better check directory permissions of your SC install, like maybe the directory belongs to different uid than the one that is logged in on pandora, or just try a FAT32 card.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 28, 2015
  16. bluedeer

    bluedeer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    153
    I think with 640x480 vs 800x480 isn't too bad and just large enough that the extra width would make some aspects of the game a little easier to work with by having the extra space for the touch screen to work, but I think to each their own, to be honest. But I don't know if that'd be an issue with the hack that Notaz is using or not. But even still, Starcraft on the Pandora at full speed is still pretty epic! 

    I can't get the left bumper to trigger right mouse click though, for some reason, but if I use ABMouse, I can at least use a button.
     
  17. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,911
    Location:
    Lithuania
    uploaded an update today (b8):


    - wine updates from jazz2 project:
    -- optimizations, reduced wineserver CPU usage
    -- reduced audio latency
    - added a launcher with some options. If you don't want to change anything, just press enter or space to launch the game.
    - added optional fullscreen scaling
    - recompiled with latest tools
     
  18. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,192
    Yay !

    Thanks !
     
  19. Eight Bit

    Eight Bit Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,620
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Wauw! It is sooo much faster, don't know if that's also because of the OS update but...

    wauw!
     
  20. gadgetoid

    gadgetoid Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,022
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    It might be that I haven't fired it up in a while, but... woah... it feels ridiculously quick. Definitely faster than when I played it on my Pentium 2, or whatever the hell I had back then.

    <3 notaz
     

Share This Page

Loading...