Release Diablo

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
So it's the same story as before.
 
After finishing StarCraft I've been briefly looking what else could be recompiled without spending the whole eternity, but couldn't find anything that both I would care for and that wasn't huge. But what I've noted is that Diablo shares several .dll files with StarCraft so quite a lot could be reused and there is less code overall (it turns out Blizzard developed Diablo and StarCraft at the same time, so naturally reused things). I've put it on hold back then, but finished the recompilation work today.
 
Unfortunately it's unstable and crashes in some non-obvious way. I don't know if this is worth finishing, as the game is not too demanding and seems to be almost ok under qemu, I guess under wine+Exagear it might be just fine. Posting this here for more (de)motivation.
Update: the crashes have now been fixed, so it's on the repo now:

http://repo.openpandora.org/?page=detail&app=package.diablo1

shareware version has been converted too:

http://repo.openpandora.org/?page=detail&app=package.diablo1s

Instructions:
1. Install the game on PC.
2. Still on PC, apply the official 1.0.9 patch (drtl109.exe).
3. Copy Patch_rt.mpq from the game's folder on PC to pandora/appdata/diablo folder of SD card.
4. Copy diabdat.mpq from the Diablo CD to pandora/appdata/diablo folder of SD card.

https://www.youtube.com/embed/hl8ThFIqJ5w?feature=oembed
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Ziz

Advanced Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
3,577
First of all: Awesome! In any way. Even unfinished. :D

Secondly: (How) Can we help you finishing this? Giving more motivation? Giving some memory dumps or backtraces?

If you are in Dresden sometime, send me a PM and I will buy you a drink (at least). ;)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
Well it would be good to know if somebody would actually play this.

Some things can already be tested, like how useful is the touchscreen. The game doesn't seem to like jumping cursor which you get with a touchscreen, so it seems it's hard to target NPCs, or maybe it's just my impression?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Hồng Thất Công

Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
4,384
Location
Cái Bang
Wow!  On a trip now and haven't tried it yet but wow for another awesome effort.  Will donate a little to perhaps (de)motivate you to finish this when get home :)
 

rohezal

Advanced Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
1,673
*Seeks cover before asking such an impolite questions* Does Diablo 2 maybe share a lot of dlls with Diablo? Thank you for porting Diablo I, I played it on the Pandora with your great PSX emulator. The controlls worked fine because they are optimized for a gamepad.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

edgex004

Advanced Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,167
Well it would be good to know if somebody would actually play this.

Some things can already tested, like how useful is the touchscreen. The game doesn't seem to like jumping cursor which you get with a touchscreen, so it seems it's hard to target NPCs, or maybe it's just my impression?
I have always wanted to try the diablo games. I would certainly try it out!
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,641
I would make a video, but I'm afraid I would get accused of making the port again...
 

elwing

Rabbit Addict
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
3,118
awesome! that's great... I really need to pack my mouse with my pandora... there's so much gems needing mouse I don't play...
 

rygD

Nihilistic Mystic
Joined
Feb 28, 2014
Messages
7,403
Location
Everywhere
Cool stuff.

crashes when you leave town
That explains it.  I was in the passenger seat in the car and was wondering what happened. :p

Seriously though, thanks.  I will have to look through my CDs and see if I still have it floating around.
 

lunarwhale

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 8, 2015
Messages
44
Pumped as hell about this, love having dedicated ways to launch games on the Pandora. Great work, notaz!
 

elwing

Rabbit Addict
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
3,118
lots of all memories... I remember filling rooms with firewall.... and having to wait pretty long until they extinguished....
 

Farox

Certified Guru
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
2,083
Age
51
Location
Italy
Website
rbnet.it
Thanks Notaz what a nice surprise :)

Hope it will be full playable in the future...and someone made a video about it.
 

ZXDunny

Deep avatar
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
2,552
Oh yeah, definitely installing this. Loved Diablo (not so much Diablo II and Diablo III is just awful)

Please keep working on this :)

D.
 

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,089
Age
38
Location
49.491276,8.423518
Wow i am glad that you released this.

Had made in the Past some Videos with Qemu but its for most Users very complicated to get it run with the Win95 Way.

Your PND make everything more easy and against the PSX Version can we save the collected Unique Items with this PC Version ;)

Unique Items on the PSX Version was ever a Problem in the Past because they dissapeared when you Save the Game on PSX.

I search in the Moment my Diablo1 CDRom here but not found it yet :rolleyes:

Thhhx ;)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

_jr_

Advanced Member
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
1,170
Was wondering whether it was Pandora related when I saw you pushing wine patches again. Thank you very much!
 

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
*Seeks cover before asking such an impolite questions* Does Diablo 2 maybe share a lot of dlls with Diablo? Thank you for porting Diablo I, I played it on the Pandora with your great PSX emulator. The controlls worked fine because they are optimized for a gamepad.
Only 2, one of which is incompatible (different version) so it would have to be redone from scratch, and there are like 10 additional ones...

I would make a video, but I'm afraid I would get accused of making the port again...
It would also likely crash before anything interesting happens and there are some really nasty menu glitches (that were not there during debug but only showed up after PND was packaged, *sigh*).
 

Rockthesmurf

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2003
Messages
1,106
Age
36
Location
Manchester, UK
Website
Visit site
Another nice little example of cool tech! I love it, would like to see it finished, but more for the cool factor than because there are no other ways currently to play Diablo 1.

I wonder if there is potential for the HD Mod to work in future... http://mod.diablo1.eu.org/ video: 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=37&v=m4PfLbMJCoA
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top