Release Jazz Jackrabbit 2


ZXDunny

Deep avatar
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
2,567
This is great - your Diablo port was amazing work, and this is good fun too. I never liked platforming on the PC (back in the days of 2/386) as they didn't feel smooth like the Amiga did... This is no different, but still playable.

I'd also second an attempt at Age of Empires (or AoE2 Age of Kings!) as they were awesome games.

D.
 

Hồng Thất Công

Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
4,385
Location
Cái Bang
Max Payne please!  :)   I have the game but never had the time to finish it.  Maybe will do on Pandora since I can play 1 or 2 hours each day on the bus :)

Mininum System Requirement:

CPU:    450 MHz AMD / Intel Processor (or compatible)
RAM:    96 MB RAM
GPU:    16 MB Direct3D Compatible Graphics Card
DX:    DirectX 8.0 or newer
OS:    Windows 95 (OSR2 or later), Windows 98, Windows ME, Windows 2000

This static recompilation thing is really awesome for Pandora really.  It opens door to so many PC games/applications for Pandora and lengthen its life indefinitely!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

sebt3

homebrew player (P. & C.)
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
4,846
Age
40
Location
France
Website
sebt3.openpandora.org
Mininum System Requirement:

DX:    DirectX 8.0 or newer
Static recompilation is one thing. fixing an issue or two like notaz have done in diablo can be done if the coder is awesome enough.but adding a migration from Direct3D to openGLES to a static recompilation projet is way to much to ask imho.
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,852
Age
48
Location
France, near Lyon
We need simple POC first, with C/C++ simple program to comple against Wine and check, step by step, the status of glshim support.

Porting directly to GLES an decompiled software seems a bit huge indeed...
 

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
For Max Payne it would make much more sense to write a apkenv module to just make use of official GLES port, although who knows if they left keyboard controls intact.
 

Farox

Certified Guru
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
2,173
Age
53
Location
Italy
Website
rbnet.it
Farox, on 04 May 2015 - 11:36 PM, said: I also want to suggest a game...Jungle Strike or Desert Strike but i'm most interested on first (as i have a CD rom of it) :) Are the PC versions really better than the console ones?
yeah maybe you are right...i have only played the Amiga version of the game back in the day, and never the PC version.

Another suggestion ...Resident Evil ?
 

Rockthesmurf

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2003
Messages
1,114
Age
37
Location
Manchester, UK
Website
Visit site
@Farox same question, from what I recall the PC version of Resident Evil was a pretty dodgy port, weird graphics/glitches, surely the original PS1 on emulator is the better choice here. If it was the case notaz had a 'one click' type system, then I could understand a bunch of simple things being knocked out, but something which is going to take somewhere between weeks and months to do, I would have thought he'd want to look at titles which have high demand and also can't currently be run on the Pandora
 

Farox

Certified Guru
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
2,173
Age
53
Location
Italy
Website
rbnet.it
Ok i'm stop suggesting...i'll let notaz choise the next game candidate.

I'm (always) happy with every game he choise... :)
 

Haraldur

Very Active Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2015
Messages
300
Maaaayyyybe... Fallout.

I missed Jazz Jackrabbit in my youth. It looks pretty impressive, though, so thank you.
 

___

Advanced Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,376
+1 for fallout... fallout 2 even? one can dream.
 

Hồng Thất Công

Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
4,385
Location
Cái Bang
a realy realy nice Game that runs fluid on my Pandora,see here:
Thanks for the video, but do you really get such a huge audio lag? Or is it something with the video?
I don't think it's audio lag, I believe it's the crackling sound of the torches/fires on the walls.

When I save the game, the save sreenshot seems to be messed up, but it is not a big problem.  The big problem is when I load the save, I get black screen but I can still hear the audio running in the background.  The only way to exit the game was to perform a hard reset.
 

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
I don't think it's audio lag, I believe it's the crackling sound of the torches/fires on the walls.
What I meant was sound effects playing over a second later than they should.
When I save the game, the save sreenshot seems to be messed up, but it is not a big problem.  The big problem is when I load the save, I get black screen but I can still hear the audio running in the background.  The only way to exit the game was to perform a hard reset.
Hmm yeah the screenshot is messed up, but it loads fine form me. Maybe you hit alt+enter that time? Right now it sometimes results in black screen, but you can press alt+enter again to recover.
 

Hồng Thất Công

Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
4,385
Location
Cái Bang
I did not hit alt+enter.  Anyway, I tried to load it again and now it crashed completely.  I restarted the Pandora, and tried to launch the game again but nothing happened after that.    Here's the pnd out.

pndrun_jazz2.txt
 

Attachments

  • pndrun_jazz2.txt
    2.1 KB · Views: 110
Last edited by a moderator:

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
14,037
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Is that the whole pndrun.out file?  Cos it looks kinda short to me.  It's unusual to be able to kill the pnd running shell, so that normally prints out the success or not message after then tries to umount stuff, but none of that is there.

I guess the process might still be running.  I don't like the look of that fbdev message so perhaps it wasn't able to configure the screen, so is just sat there waiting for something to happen.
 

Hồng Thất Công

Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
4,385
Location
Cái Bang
Yeah I think something is running in the background 'cause my Pandora feels extremely sluggish after the crash.

Edit:  Confirmed by Live System Info that something is definitely still running in the background  after the crash as CPU stays at 100%!  Long press of the Pandora button showed Jazz JackRabbit 2 still running in the kill process dialog box.  After killing it, CPU returned to 0~1%.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Farox

Certified Guru
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
2,173
Age
53
Location
Italy
Website
rbnet.it
Yeah I think something is running in the background 'cause my Pandora feels extremely sluggish after the crash.

Edit:  Confirmed by Live System Info that something is definitely still running in the background  after the crash as CPU stays at 100%!  Long press of the Pandora button showed Jazz JackRabbit 2 still running in the kill process dialog box.  After killing it, CPU returned to 0~1%.
OMG the first virus on Pandora :p ??

More seriously...i have found time to test this game and i must say its another great work.

Working very fine from controls to save games , and i must say its really fun to play.

Thanks notaz!! B) B)
 

Hồng Thất Công

Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Messages
4,385
Location
Cái Bang
I forgot to mention that I played and saved the game on one of my other Pandora (Pandora #1).  I then took the SD cards out of Pandora #1 and tried to run the game from the saved point in Pandora #1 on Pandora #2, and this is when I got this problem.  I started a new game on Pandora #2, created a save on Pandora #2, and the game loaded fine from the save made on Pandora #2.

So it seems like saves from this game are not cross-Pandora compatible?  
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,852
Age
48
Location
France, near Lyon
I tested a bit on a CC Pandora. Works very well. The game is fluid and responsive, graphics and sound as I remember them.

Impressive work, again! 
 

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
So it seems like saves from this game are not cross-Pandora compatible?  
I suspect the game is saving pointers into the savestates, because I did a recompile an all saves now crash the game. This will be hard to fix :(
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top