Something has gone wrong.

matzesu

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
9,533
Age
35
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Und wieviele Hitze kann die Pyra jetzt ab nachdem die Wärmeleitung so gut funktioniert??

Oder ist die Wärme von außen weniger ein Problem weil die CPU mehr Wärme entwickelt als wir hier in Europa je haben werden ??
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,977
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Oder ist die Wärme von außen weniger ein Problem weil die CPU mehr Wärme entwickelt als wir hier in Europa je haben werden ??
Although not part of the EU for long, the UK is still part of Europe, and it's currently so hot that after a few hours of idling, I feel that laying my hands on my laptop actually draws heat away from it.
 

matzesu

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
9,533
Age
35
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Ok so according in wich part of this world you be, it can get pretty hot,

So whe have about 29*C at my Place,
Will the Pyra still be able to run whiteout shutdowns??

And as it’s meant to be pocketable, it will also get pretty hot due to the Body Temperature, and the sun radiation’s..
 

Djoga'Ro

moonstruck
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
1,208
Und wieviele Hitze kann die Pyra jetzt ab nachdem die Wärmeleitung so gut funktioniert??

Oder ist die Wärme von außen weniger ein Problem weil die CPU mehr Wärme entwickelt als wir hier in Europa je haben werden ??
Thedriving force behind heat exchange is the difference in temperature. So, when you want the SoC not to go beyond some max. temp, the environmental temperature matters to you, because it controls how much load you can put on the device. Iirc, the amount of heat transfered grows linearly with the temp. diff. (TD), i.e. at 20 C TD you get half the power compared to 40 C TD. (My new keyboard doesn't do the degree symbol; that superscript circle.)
 

matzesu

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
9,533
Age
35
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Im more a practical user, im currently can see the Pyra in my Hands, I’m pretty optimistic,
I know whe aren’t there yet, but pretty close,
So I just want to know how to deal with hot environment,
When I didn’t should power on my Pyra,
Or when i shouldn’t start the Dreamcast Emulator cause it’s too hot for full power
And rather play some Atari Games..
 

FBnil

Waiting to Champion the Pyra to the World...
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
2,971
Location
Yurp
So playing Tetris in Bed under the blanket in Summer would not be an issue for the Pyra??
Mosquito's? or pr0n-tris?

After my exams I'll come for a visi
Good luck at the exams (study, right? Not medical exams, I hope?)
[doublepost=1530643247,1530642610][/doublepost]
I live in Texas
I'll assume you stay in the shadow at all times during the summer, next to an AC... in that case: Yes.
I'll assume you do not leave your Pyra in the car, in the sun.... I did... my Pandora will never be the same...
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,977
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
The glass transition temperature of polycarbonate is 147 degrees celcius (297 °F) and is deemed usable up to 130C. I doubt temperatures get quite that high in a parked car in the sun on earth. If it got that hot, a dog left inside would not just die, it'd be barbecued.

I don't know what the Pandora case is made out of off the top of my head for comparison though.
 

Zwerg01

Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2017
Messages
73
Thedriving force behind heat exchange is the difference in temperature. So, when you want the SoC not to go beyond some max. temp, the environmental temperature matters to you, because it controls how much load you can put on the device. Iirc, the amount of heat transfered grows linearly with the temp. diff. (TD), i.e. at 20 C TD you get half the power compared to 40 C TD. (My new keyboard doesn't do the degree symbol; that superscript circle.)
You dont need the degree-symbol °. Temperature differences are written in Kelvin.
 

Letalis Sonus

Advanced Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
1,321
You dont need the degree-symbol °. Temperature differences are written in Kelvin.
Still, it's a question worth answering. As much as I like the British layout of my T60p for programming, it drove me nuts to find out where to find this symbol that is being printed on every single German keyboard.

For those that enjoy the goodness of a full 4 layer UK layout that is commonly being provided on Linux, it is located on the 4. level of the 0 key - or, alternatively as an accent, the 4. level of the [ key. Credits for this go to Mate for keeping the Gnome2-style full visual view of the available keyboard layouts in its graphical configuration program.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,977
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
The degree symbol is unicode 000000b0, so you can just type shift+ctrl+u, then b and then 0 to get it practically anywhere. Remember, high temperatures make you sweat which can lead to B.O.
 

Letalis Sonus

Advanced Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2009
Messages
1,321
so you can just type shift+ctrl+u
Everyone who wants to regularly use random symbols outside of the printed layout should be aware of how to enter codepoints directly, but that is no solution for symbols that you need all the time. That is just a shitload of key presses for a single regularly used symbol, without any fixed position to use as a mnemonic hook to recall it.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,977
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
True, but it may be worth mentioning that the unicode chacacters known as ring above and that of degree symbol aren't actually the same glyph. In my 8x8 terminal font, the degree symbol looks to be a 4x4 circle in upper center, while ring above is a 4x3 cicle even higher in the line and slghtly more to the left. I doubt there are many countries keyboards that actually contain a degree symbol in the default keymap. Of course, you could configure the ring key when not used in combination with a letter as the degree glyph, but you could do the same on the UK keyboard if you can decide on a symbol you can lose. Just the graphic on the keyboard will be slightly out in that case, but as someone who runs a UK laid out keyboard in a US configuration (so that getting a pipe is a two finger keypress, rather than a three finger keypress on this keyboard by default), my fingers clearly don't care what's actually written on each key.
 

Grench

Forum Addict!
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6,435
True, but it may be worth mentioning that the unicode chacacters known as ring above and that of degree symbol aren't actually the same glyph. In my 8x8 terminal font, the degree symbol looks to be a 4x4 circle in upper center, while ring above is a 4x3 cicle even higher in the line and slghtly more to the left. I doubt there are many countries keyboards that actually contain a degree symbol in the default keymap. Of course, you could configure the ring key when not used in combination with a letter as the degree glyph, but you could do the same on the UK keyboard if you can decide on a symbol you can lose. Just the graphic on the keyboard will be slightly out in that case, but as someone who runs a UK laid out keyboard in a US configuration (so that getting a pipe is a two finger keypress, rather than a three finger keypress on this keyboard by default), my fingers clearly don't care what's actually written on each key.
We could just map that to Fn+Shift+0 on the Pyra...
Unlabeled keyboard layers mapping threads time?
 
Top