Production Pyra photos/videos/thoughts thread


Kiga

Very Active Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
665
Grench, a tip to make your life easier:

apt-cache search name-of-whatever

... will usually give you the name of the package that contains the command / binary.

Hope that helps.
or just "apt search name-of-whatever" the apt command has improved a bit over the years. can install and search from the single command.
I add apt-file search to find any file, not just binaries, in any package of the repository, dpkg -S apply only on installed packages.
apt-file wasn't installed by default on my distribution, it's especially useful to find a package which contains a missing header file when compiling.
 
Last edited:

docbroke

Banned
Joined
Feb 21, 2019
Messages
459
Age
39
Location
India
Thanks I'll give that a shot. We'll see how it goes on the Pyra.
Yes kazam will eat some cpu cycles. But it should be fine, pyra seems to have more power then my current laptop. I am able to use kazam with libreoffice or firefox on my laptop. Firefox and Libreoffice takes little more time to start on my laptop compared to pyra, and I use the same debian with cwm (even less bloat). I use it to record lectures ( we do online lectures due to lockdown with schools still closed).
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
12,987
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
True, but on my Pandora I could use the scroll bars using touch or the d-pad to scroll firefox. Looks like on the pyra you can scroll using touch practically anywhere on the webpage, and the right nub is also currently configured as a scroll wheel. I'm not sure how that last one will last; AIUI the default was going to simulate the Pandora more closely, which had only mouse buttons on three ordinals of the right nub.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
10,127
Age
36
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Yes, the Nubs are Clickable, im maybe technical not the best user, but i can remember that this time whe have Clickable Nubs ^^ (And also everything else from the good stuff whe dreamed our whole Nerd Live (4 Shoulderbuttons, Iuminated Keyboard... )..
 

Robert Taylor

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Messages
228
Yes, the Nubs are Clickable, im maybe technical not the best user, but i can remember that this time whe have Clickable Nubs ^^ (And also everything else from the good stuff whe dreamed our whole Nerd Live (4 Shoulderbuttons, Iuminated Keyboard... )..
It's funny you mention that. I can remember wanting this kind of device in the early 2000s. One of the things that I have found that as devices shrunk in size, my requirements of the device ergonomics and features increased. I cared less and less about cpu, ram and storage space and more and more about keyboards, buttons and ergonomics.

Every device that I have ever owned had many many many flaws. The closest that I got to liking any mobile device were Blackberries (especcially Blackberry Passport for the large screen) because of the keyboards.

This ticks pretty much every requirement box that I have ever had.
 
Last edited:

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
10,127
Age
36
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
I dont have that much devices that got clickable Nubs, only the PS2 Controller, the XBOX 360 Gamepad for Windows, the XBOX ONE Gamepad and the Switch, and a Iluminated Keyboard was only something i had on my OLD "Dumpphones", ,
Ditnt miss this Feature on my Computers as i Type Blind whit 10 Fingers, so i ditnt have to look at my Keyboard, unless i need some extra Buttons like %§")?, but as the Pyra isnt that 10 Finger Type Friendly, a Keyboard whit Light is pretty cool..
 

Grench

Forum Addict!
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6,623
That's interesting - I have found it to be very playable (probably at least 40-50fps) except for when water is visible and then it slows down to the 15-20fps mark. I don't know if that is just an inefficiency in the game, or perhaps a weak spot in the GPU/driver/gl4es.
I'm still getting pretty chug-chug type game play with relatively low fps. I fiddled with it a bit more this morning. I am getting a few warnings in the terminal that I launch it from.

[WARNING] /build/supertux-IXAzsJ/supertux-0.6.0/src/video/video_system.cpp:52 Error creating GLVideoSystem-330core, using GLVideoSystem-20 fallback: shader/shader330.frag: Shader compile failed: Compile failed.
ERROR: 0:14: 'shader in & out declarations' : requires language version 130
ERROR: main() function is missing.
ERROR: 2 compilation errors. No code generated.
/build/ri3wsegl-pyra-0.5/dri3_ws.c:843: WSEGL_SwapControlInterval: WSEGL_SwapControlInterval

/build/dri3wsegl-pyra-0.5/dri3_ws.c:843: WSEGL_SwapControlInterval: WSEGL_SwapControlInterval 1

[WARNING] /build/supertuxx-IXAzsJ/supertux-0.6.0/src/supertux/sector.cpp:221 [levels/misc/menu.stl] Tried spawning Tux in solid matter. Compensating.
LIBGL: Shuting down

I was running:
supertux2 --show-fps -g 640x360
The idea was to cut down on the rendering to see if I could boost speed. It used the bottom left 1/4 of the screen - apparently there isn't scaling up to full screen for 1/4 resolution yet. This improved things a bit - but not as much as I'd hoped for. Maybe I'm getting less out of the CPU on my prototype than you are on your production unit? Not sure.

I suspect that there is still something not quite the same between your build and mine - which is okay. I don't want to distract you further. This was a solid proof of concept and we did find a few minor bugs along the way.

Thank you for your help!
 

daveshah

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
261
Location
(Old) Hampshire, UK
Those errors are because gl4es implements OpenGL 2.0 only (hardware limitations mean anything more recent isn't possible). SuperTux does seem to fall back fine to 2.0, so I doubt this is the cause of the performance issues.

What level are you trying? And do you know if your prototype has some kind of heatsink fitted?
 

Grench

Forum Addict!
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6,623
Those errors are because gl4es implements OpenGL 2.0 only (hardware limitations mean anything more recent isn't possible). SuperTux does seem to fall back fine to 2.0, so I doubt this is the cause of the performance issues.

What level are you trying? And do you know if your prototype has some kind of heatsink fitted?
I was just trying the intro / first / learning level. I haven't had any reason to take a screwdriver to my prototype. Not daunted by it - just didn't have any reason to. @EvilDragon - does my prototype #8 "Marble" have a heatsink fitted?
 

Grench

Forum Addict!
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6,623
If you are looking for another Debian game to test the 3D with, try trackballs. I was unable to get it to play nice, but as seen above that could just be a me issue. Give it a try if you have the time?
 

Robert Taylor

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Messages
228
grench, is blender in the repos? if it is, can you load it up and rotate the view and tell us if that is laggy / worrking / not working?
 

daveshah

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
261
Location
(Old) Hampshire, UK
Yes, the SGX544 only supports OpenGLES 2 (with a few extensions). @ptitSeb 's gl4es can be used as a shim to support a large subset of OpenGL 1/2, like on the Pandora. My understanding is that the architecture of mobile GPUs mean not all programs designed for desktop GPUs work well with this though.
 

Grench

Forum Addict!
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6,623
Alright - so trackballs is probably out. I was able to play through the first few levels of Supertux2. Gameplay speed on my prototype is highly dependent on how many 'monsters' are on-screen at the time. Workable, but this game could probably use a Pyra-optimized version at some point (stating the status of it - not asking for someone to do it anytime soon).

Thank you for checking!
 
Top