Release Pcsx-Rearmed


Chaser

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
408
Location
Manchester
^ You may find some instances of older versions working better for some games but in general the latest version is your first stop. its just always going to be the case that fixes for one one thing, may break another, so you have to experiment if you find a certain title isn't running aswell as you hoped, or had heard it can.

You can run two copies but as they all create the same named PCSX appdata folder, you'll need to put them on different cards i.e SD1 and SD2 and perhaps put one in the pandora/menu and the other on the pandora/desktop on the other card. r9 lists itself as r9 in the menu but I think all prior versions just listed themselves as pcsxReArmed, so you cant tell them apart if they are both in the menu. You can also rename the older versions appdata folders and if you re-use an older version of the emu, just rename the appropriate folder correctly to re-use its settings etc at the time and then change the name again after.
 

Blue Protoman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
4,119
Zanac (in Zanac X Zanac) has good sound now, but crashes after a few seconds. Soukyugurentai still has that input issue, but less often. Racing has less graphical bugs, but they still exist.
 

asimov-solensan

Very Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
531
Does Notaz know about the "fog effect" performance drop?

I noticed it first in FFVII, some summonings (odin for instance) ahows a fog/smoke effect that makes the framerate drop to half or more. Now I'm playing suikoden 2 and again with certain spells that shows a very similar effect (I must assume it's the same in fact) I can see how the framerate drops noticeably on a game that otherwise could run perfect at 750 mhz.

Which lead me to think that this must happen on a lot of other games and maybe it's worth to try to solve it.

Maybe people can tell other games that shows this problem, I can provide savestates for those two.
 

RobFord

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
267
Evening All

Everything I have tried so far has worked on this emu, apart from my version of the first Persona game. It hangs on the detecting memory card, just after pressing the start button.

The second Persona game works well.

Thanks for all the hard work on this one Notaz, fantastic achievement.


Cheers

Rob
 

Darkknight512

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
637
Age
26
Location
Canada
asimov-solensan said:
Does Notaz know about the "fog effect" performance drop?

I noticed it first in FFVII, some summonings (odin for instance) ahows a fog/smoke effect that makes the framerate drop to half or more. Now I'm playing suikoden 2 and again with certain spells that shows a very similar effect (I must assume it's the same in fact) I can see how the framerate drops noticeably on a game that otherwise could run perfect at 750 mhz.

Which lead me to think that this must happen on a lot of other games and maybe it's worth to try to solve it.

Maybe people can tell other games that shows this problem, I can provide savestates for those two.
Happens in FF9 as well, game runs fine at 400 Mhz, right when the spell is casts, it lags even at 1 Ghz. Also I've noticed the game's menu's only run full speed at 1 Ghz.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Darkknight512

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
637
Age
26
Location
Canada
I've noticed a few crash to desktops in Final Fantasy 9 when the game is transitioning between town/location , world map, and battle.

It does not happen a lot, I think it only happened 3 times in 20 hours of game play so far.
 

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
I'm moving this rearmed discussion to OP boards now as most pandora users hang around there these days. This thread is rather bloated now anyway.
http://boards.openpandora.org/index.php?/topic/5669-pcsx-rearmed-r10/

Darkknight512 said:
I've noticed a few crash to desktops in Final Fantasy 9 when the game is transitioning between town/location , world map, and battle.
Might be fixed in r10, I tracked down some stability issues there.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

CPUnltd

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2010
Messages
792
Age
39
Location
Milwaukee, WI, USA
I don't get notifications of threads on the official boards as well as I do here... which is the main reason I'm almost always here vs the official boards... guess I'll have to start manually checking things out over there more...
 

DJRoby4

Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
201
Hi, I can't play Medievil II on caanoo, it hangs at start screen when it says to press X. Anyone noticed this? Is there a way to solve this?
Another question: anyone has noticed how to get crash CTR run in fullspeed (or something like it) on the Caanoo? With wich settings?
Thanks!
 

erico

Advanced Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2011
Messages
1,741
Age
44
Location
Brasil
Website
sites.google.com
DJRoby4 said:
Medievil 2 works with spnull. You should (if you can) fix this! :D
you can try medieval II with the original bios too, could be that.
Making a game run properly on such emulator is quite a work on messing with the settings.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top