Release Pcsx-Rearmed

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by notaz, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. may88

    may88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Bury St. Edmunds, UK
    Just played Tomb Raider for a bit... I think I need to overclock a little but otherwise perfect.

    Thank you so much Notaz. This is incredible work.
     
  2. Wally

    Wally I am a banana! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,925
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Awesome Update notaz and thanks for fixing worlds scariest police chases!!!

    Rugrats still doesn't work, it gets to the loading screen and crashes to the MiniMenu
     
  3. Schnatterplatsch

    Schnatterplatsch Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    218
    Formating the SD helped to fix the savestates in Brave Fencer Musashi (it seems the .img was broken somehow).
    Anyway Tobal no.1 still segfaults (using the pcsx4all plugin and the builtin one). I've tested the same rip on my PC and it worked fine. It's the [SCUS-94208] version. Am I the only one experiencing this? It used to work (slow, but worked) in previous versions, at least in r8.

    EDIT: One more thing: In Tales of Eternia the scene where that girl crashes from the sky the sound stutters a bit at 800 MHZ(I guess because of the transperency effects), but after that it runs fluid at 600. It seems to be 2D all the way. It's just an unqualified guess but maybe there is a bottleneck that can be removed somehow. Dunno :)
     
  4. streak

    streak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Poland & UK // Currently: Ipswich
    just for debugging:

    games that crashes emualtor [on R8 and R9]:
    Lego Races
    Crusader No Remorse

    games that freeze emulator [on R8 and R9]:
    [Mostly games from "Radical" studio software like:]
    Jackie Chan stuntmaster
    MTV Snowboarding

    GAMES that works better on R9 [compared with R8]
    Jumping Flash [frameskip effect not occuring -> playable]
    Glover [main character visible]
    Necronimicon -> finally works [still some lags in FMVs]
     
  5. Prometheus

    Prometheus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,474
    Ack. I've just had a chance to try out The Misadventures of Tron Bonne (PAL), and it seems to have regressed to how it was around R6 or so - it gets past the Eidos and Capcom logo videos, and then simply hangs on the loading screen prior to the title screen. :( (It was working in R8, but required the occasional toggling of one of the options, which I seem to recall writing about somewhere earlier in this thread.)

    The issue with Rockman 8 - Metal Heroes (NTSC-J) that I reported a few pages ago is still there, too, unfortunately.

    I removed my appdata entry for PCSX-ReARMed just to rule out any issues with that, but these things remain. Just thought I should point them out. :p

    That aside, what an improvement this release is overall! Everything is noticeably faster and smoother - VERY nice. :D Thankyou very much!
     
  6. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,911
    Location:
    Lithuania
    ok thanks.. I'll leave it disabled for the time being as I don't even know what exception it's supposed to get since there is no MMU, and I'm not aware of anything needing this.

    Weird, the NTSC version works fine, and I heard jap one too. They probably changed something while adding Eidos logo, you could probably savestate after that point on r8 and load on r9. PAL version is hard to come by (it's not even indexed at redump.org) and ones on ebay are rather pricey, so can't test it here.

    I looked at it briefly and it's not really obvious what's wrong there.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  7. Holliefant

    Holliefant Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    221
    Thanks for the new version, looks very good :)
    I wanted to report a small problem. When I play Xenogears it Crashes when the World Map should be opened. But not always...
     
  8. MooTheKow

    MooTheKow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Has anyone else tried to play Marvel Vs. Capcom? I can't seem to get it to work. Everything seems to load fine until you select your fighters at which point the program will always crash before actually loading the fights.
     
  9. CPUnltd

    CPUnltd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    792
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, USA
    been a while since I played it, but I haven't tried it on the Pandora version yet... will try it out soon and see what happens...
     
  10. Wally

    Wally I am a banana! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,925
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I just wanted to point out another flaw I noticed, Tony Hawks Pro Skater 2 has some weird graphics artefacts that keep popping up.. its either a flash of blue / Red or green, something must be screwed in the blending somewhere
     
  11. Michoko

    Michoko Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    France
    Just got from holidays, and this is a wonderful surprise! Thank you so much Notaz! :)
     
  12. Asmo

    Asmo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,279
    Just FYI on Driver (Pal), in R8 trying to return to the game from the map screen would cause a crash, in R9 trying to access the map screen causes a crash. Driver under R9 seems a bit more crashy in general, sometimes starting a game or 'go for a ride' sends you straight back to the desktop. With any of these instances of crashing, once out of PCSX there is lingering slowdown and visual handicaps in other apps (other games can appear to be 15fps or so).

    On the upside, Need For Speed 3 runs near perfectly now (way too slow & choppy before), and on the few games I'd noticed Audio Tracks were incorrectly played (Ridge Racer, Tomb Raider) this has been eliminated!
     
  13. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,911
    Location:
    Lithuania
    If it's not always you are likely overclocking too much.

    Driver is problematic on PCSX, I assume it doesn't like timing. Accurate timing is hard to do on PSX since it has cache, and emulating cache (what >95% of games don't need) would slow things down significantly.

    Probably because it leaves the LCD in 50Hz mode, try running this from the terminal:
    Code:
    sudo /usr/pandora/scripts/op_lcdrate.sh 60
    
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  14. Dunny

    Dunny Exophase ApprovedĀ® Forum Troll

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Broughton, Brigg, UK
    I'm seeing this a lot, usually after I manually exit r9 after playing R-Type Delta. The pandora menu in xfce takes an age to pop up, apps take forever to start, and I have to reboot in order to fix it. Not tried any other games yet.

    D.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  15. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,911
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Hm this doesn't make sense. How long do you have to play for this to happen?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  16. Dunny

    Dunny Exophase ApprovedĀ® Forum Troll

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Broughton, Brigg, UK
    Not long. I've tested with Road Rash (which works just lovely now, thanks!) and it happens after that too. I'm using scph1001.bin if that helps. Also on HF5 still until HF6 is available - I'd not rule out something wrong with my system.

    D.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  17. Asmo

    Asmo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,279
    That would explain it alright, I'll try that later thanks!

    Unlike Dunny, I haven't experiened this after manually exiting a game in R9 (Driver included).
    FWIW I'm running it under HF6a4 from SD.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  18. streak

    streak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    690
    Location:
    Poland & UK // Currently: Ipswich
    Notaz, any chance to check games like Jackie Chan Stuntmaster or MTV Snowboarding [whats wrong with 'em]?
     
  19. Barnaby

    Barnaby Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    203
    Location:
    Shadow Moses, in a cardboard box
    Oh wow, GunCon support is an unexpected and pleasant surprise :D. Time Crisis works really well, thanks for adding it! This emulator is just getting more and more impressive.

    I like the speed increases too, and some glitches I noticed in MGS seems to have gone now. FFIX can still be a bit slow in battle when effects are playing (such as Bahamut's Mega Flare), so I assume the same applies to FFVII and VIII. There aren't as many slowdowns as there used to be though, which is nice. Is the next revision going to be focused towards an improved CPU code? This seems pretty much on the doorstep of perfect PS1 emulation now.
     
  20. RobFord

    RobFord Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Haven't tested many games yet, just playing FFVII.

    One thing, started the game in R8. When I loaded up FFVII in R9 the audio was greatly distorted. I went to the audio plugin and it was using the Gausian setting. I changed this back to the first option and the sound went back to normal.

    Not too sure why R9 was set to gausian as default, I hadn't noticed an option to change this is R8.

    But anyway, Notaz your hard work is greatly appreciated, really looking forward to what you next bring to this fabulous emulator.
     

Share This Page

Loading...