Release Mupen64Plus new version runs Zelda OOT and much more !!

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by hailrazer, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,040
    Location:
    germany
    Yes, we will not reach the PS Vita. But at least PSP/NDS Standard Graphics should be no Problem for the Pandora. ;)


    And actualy, we wouldn't need any documentation if our Drivers would be better IMHO. From the PC I usualy expect regular Driver updates from the hardware manufacturers and for example NVidia always does a great job in this. I would expect the same from SGX and TI to all their customers (not only Pandora) but I've never heared anything about regular OMAP Driver updates, at least nothing that really has some advantages in performance here and there. :huh:


    Yes, the clocks seems to tick in a different way in ARM world and I guess I have wrong ideas about how the stuff works. I just want to say our devs do a great job to pull out that much of the Pandora, no complaining about this. :) Under the circumstances they often have to work, it is always a miracle. ^^
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 31, 2011
  2. Exophase

    Exophase Nothing good will ever come of Exophase.

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,308
    Location:
    Cleveland OH
    It's not that the drivers are necessarily bad Fusion_Power, it's just that you will always be at a disadvantage by doing things through a standardized and relatively high level API that a lot of hardware has to conform to. This is a reason why early on there was a lot of support for 3dfx's Glide API, because it was a proprietary interface that cut out a lot of the stuff something like OpenGL has to deal with.


    Driver updates do actually happen, TI does provide them.. having updates all the time is not strictly a sign of a superior product.
     
  3. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,040
    Location:
    germany
    Ok.


    I guess this is because the OMAP Chipset we are using in thePandora, actualy was designed for a pretty wide range of various Smartphones and Mini Computer thingies, including a wide range of compatibility but no real in deep access for special functions? Would make sense. I guess TI had reasons for making the Chipset exactly like it is. However, their OMAP Advertisements could be at least a little bit les sensational IMHO. From reading all this stuff you could think with the OMAP you can do magic things instantly. :D


    Ah, yes, good old GLIDE. Damn, Games never ran better these days. I was able to play Unreal 1 on my 266MHz (!!!) Pen II PC without Problems, all I had was a Voodoo2 graphics Card with only 8MB VRAM. Diablo 2 looked best in Glide and of course there was Ultra HLE, which actualy pulled more out of my PC than ever was in. I've never seen a better efficient Per-MHz-Power of Games/Emulators than with Glide. Really well designed API, still big respect to the Devs.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 1, 2011
  4. NESnero

    NESnero Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    So Ocarina of Time runs kinda well when I overclock to 1ghz, still slow and laggy.


    I've heard that turning the audio off on mupen will improve the game somewhat, however when I go into the mupen configure and set the audio plugin to "no audio" I cant select the Ok button because it happens to be offscreen and I can move the window up. So, the Ok button is off screen and i cant click it, is there a way to change this, or another way to turn audio off to imporve gameplay?
     
  5. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    Hold left shoulderbutton and drag the window!
     
  6. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,735
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    hold down the R trigger and drag the window up :)

    edit I mean L trigger :)
     
  7. sukhi2011

    sukhi2011 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Why are you lot complaining about zelda 64 it runs fine and good speed,it's 100% playable.


    One game i tried most emulator inc. pc project 64 it had problems with text and speed the game is called fighters destiny 1,2 but i was really surprised it ran far better on pandora with text and good speed in both games,i always wanted to play this game on portable system,thanks to the developer and the pandora my dream came true.
     
  8. NESnero

    NESnero Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I heard the speed gets better once you leave kokiri forest, meh, I'm picky with all this stuff.
     
  9. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,026
    Can you release a version without picklelauncher. I prefer the default GUI.
     
  10. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    You can just start the other menuentry, that comes with it and you have the normal gui.
     
  11. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,026
    Oh, OK thanks!
     
  12. DrKlaw

    DrKlaw Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    Hi there,


    Is there any hack to save/load state in full screen mode, or to toggle full screen/window? One of my favorite games for this emulator is Star Fox 64. Back in the day... it used to drive me crazy that it doesn't natively save your progress. Now-a-days I was looking forward to playing this again but the "no progress save" makes it even worse given I don't have large contiguous blocks of time to spend gaming. I'm getting bored of the first level! Save/load states work fine on my N900, but have you ever used Mupen on an N900? Even with a GameGripper it's pretty tough to use.


    Thanks
     
  13. Dark_Link

    Dark_Link Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    :/ i wish you would stop at how its accessing the video for Daedalusx64 and stuff and look at the emulation methods it uses..edit.. ok fine it would drop a few fps going through open gl but it should be a lot faster and the reason sound isnt on as it lags the emu...it wone once its ported to the me portion of the psp.. like we can use the dsp core
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2011
  14. gadgetoid

    gadgetoid Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,022
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    Might have to stick it out and give it a try. At the moment I want to get my hands on a red 3DS and the port of Zelda, but fate is conspiring against me.
     
  15. Wally

    Wally I am a banana! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,926
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Daedalus will never get the ME portion.. Why? ME is so locked down and debugging symbols cannot be ran from it (So its theoretically impossible)
     
  16. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,735
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    daedalus does have access to ME
     
  17. milkshake

    milkshake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,735
    Location:
    Rotherham, UK
    does it not? Im pretty sure the original deadalus used ME for sound? or some other work was offloaded to it.
     
  18. Stradian

    Stradian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    Daedalus does have access to the ME currently for async audio. Daedalus is also impossible to port because a good portion is written in PSP assembly. There is still potential for mupen, its just that someone needs to get back on that gles2n64 plugin.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 25, 2011
  19. Dark_Link

    Dark_Link Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    it has full access to the ME and the port over to ME is half done. I was wondering if we could use some of daedalus better hle functions
     
  20. Wally

    Wally I am a banana! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,926
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I guess I didn't say that right, the CPU will not be on the ME ever. There's several developers who have tried but the aforementioned "debugging symbols and the fact that its locked down" puts it out.


    The audio is running asynchronously from the ME yes but thats it.


    IF anything, Daedalus is written for x86 and Mips processors and probably could work with the ARM end of things if someone worked on the dynamic recompiler for it ^_^
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 7, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...