1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Prototype mainboards coming soon

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Dec 4, 2016.

  1. Kippykip

    Kippykip BFG 9000

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    'STRAYA
    inb4 it still fucks up
     
  2. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,033
    No, two months ™
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2016
    rygD likes this.
  3. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,033
    You can never tell with Two Months™
     
    Lightkey, DrHAX, Wally and 2 others like this.
  4. error

    error Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Dallas, TX, USA
    It will always be two months.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    So let's hope my Pandora lasts for 2 more months
    But expect Screen Backlight Issue it's still works perfectly fine..

    I can remember, I ditnt wanted to buy a GP2X Device back in 2008 when I put my Pandora Preeorder, because I believed in 2 Months
     
  6. Black Sliver

    Black Sliver Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    You have to add the ripple/noise between SoC's GND and Cap's GND to the ripple between SoC's VCC and Cap's VCC to get the absolute voltage drop between Cap and SoC. All GNDs are connected, All VCCs are seperate. The idea is that the current/ripple from one VCC-GND pair (e.g. VCore) interferes with a more sensitive pair (e.g. VPLL).
    The highest-impedence part of the GND connection is from the pad to the plane, which consists of traces and (soon to be more) vias.
    (Also, by using more vias, most of the current will flow through the nearest via, which means you won't see as much of VCore's ripple on Vpll's GND-connection)
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2016
    shaddim and hns like this.
  7. mclien

    mclien Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    422
    Location:
    Hannover
    Just a wild thought to add new ideas: It migth be possible, that bunnie is at 33c3 in Hamburg after christmas. As he has lots of expierence in general developing (chumpy, novena etc) and is a nice guy, he might be interested to add ideas and be intrested in a meetup.
    I could contact him to find ot if he would be interested..
     
    rygD, Silent-Hunter, 2coop4 and 4 others like this.
  8. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    629
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Man if Bunnie helped with the Pyra that would be awesome. It would be like my ultimate home run small scale electronic device.
     
  9. mclien

    mclien Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    422
    Location:
    Hannover
    I'l try to find out if he is in Hamburg and has time to have a look.
     
    2coop4 likes this.
  10. Bernd

    Bernd Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    129
    Hopefully all insects got terminated in this version.

    A nice pyra as (self bought) birth day present would be cool.
     
    AnimatedFreak likes this.
  11. shaddim

    shaddim Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Thank you for the indetail reply... I think I have an idea now, but I'm still not totally clear about it.
    Sorry for being so persistent on this, but I should understand this as I work in a neighbouring field, even with electrical engineers doing similar things: is this about that the impedance of some gnd connection basically has a to high impedance (on a MHz frequencies) and therefore on dynamic (MHz) high load (with high currents), voltage variations/ripples occure therefore. Which then interfere (or have impact on) with some frequency relevant / sensitive component? And adding extra vias just creates shorter and better conductivity reducing the impedance? Where the noise comes here into game? The comment about common ground indicates that the grounds should have been better designed separated? Thank you for clearing my foggy understanding :)
     
  12. Black Sliver

    Black Sliver Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    I don't understand the second sentence quoted.
    Anyway. Driving DC current through a resistor results in a voltage drop. Driving AC current through a resistor results in ripple/noise. At those frequencies, a copper trace has high resistance (actually impedance) because of the inductive part. For the actual voltage "inside" the chip, it does not matter where the voltage drop occurs (GND or VCC), but the GND noise will be on all voltages. Having ripple on PLL's or VCO's VCC may result in a bad chip clock, which may result in a stopped clock or invalid state inside the CPU.
    Nope. The GNDs have to be on the same level inside the chip for it to work. If they are connected inside, but not outside, you have high compensating currents inside the chip (-> more current through one pin/pad -> more voltage drop/noise), which makes things worse. Having truly separate GNDs (like AGND and DGND) is only common for ADCs and requires special layout inside the chip (GNDs may not be tied together inside the chip).
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
  13. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    Maybe if I get some money for Christmas, I think I could effort a Prototype..
    and if EvilDragon sends me a 1,5 ghz massproduktion CPU Board after some months, why not??

    So i can just load my Usual Emulators from Debian Repo, make some tweaks to the Controlls and will be apple to test some things in the first few months until the real mass production..

    The only thing I need is the last revision of the Case, because I also want it to use on Unimog, so I need a strong hinge area..
    and the Power Supplie..
    then I will make the Pyra Prototype my EDC Handheld
    Let's see how it's compare to my Pandora
     
    rygD likes this.
  14. Xcl4m4t10n

    Xcl4m4t10n Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    822
    I want to be an Apple too :(.
     
  15. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    Dam autocorrection on my Apple IPhone...
    Would be happy if the Pyra ditnt have this feature
     
    rygD likes this.
  16. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,712
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I'll quote myself:
    ^^ (just kiding of course, Android autocorrect is no better).
     
  17. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,491
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Once again, I say do it if you can afford it. If you do, please let us know everything you do with it. I think you are one of the best purple to get one early since you would probably carry and use it frequently. If you got a clear case you could even put a card with moves for some of your favourite games in the bottom.

    I don't usually get excited about other people getting things. @Grench and other prototype buyers, looking forward to whatever you share.
     
  18. mecksg1

    mecksg1 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    So are they going to do the pyra auction now? Or are we still waiting? Cause I'm game to get one asap
     
  19. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,052
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    We're auctioning once we have those units finished. The first ones will go to those who already ordered a prototype.
    That said, the only things missing now for those are the keymats and the cases, and I've got some news about these.
    I just didn't have the time to post much as I had to ship over 200 packages during the last few days (christmas time in an online shop) and catched my usual pre-christmas flu (probably from being overworked).

    I'll update you soon :)
     
    el joker, rSl, ClockworkCoder and 2 others like this.
  20. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,052
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Sure, the more ideas the better :)
     
    el joker, error, 2coop4 and 1 other person like this.

Share This Page

Loading...