1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

(N64 Emu) Mupen64plus 2.0

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Stradian, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. Surkow

    Surkow Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    If you really want to be productive I'd suggest you to try reading the v2.0 API documentation for Mupen64plus.


    Repositories for the project:


    - https://bitbucket.org/richard42/ (the main repository containing the Mupen64plus project and the Rice video plugin).


    - https://bitbucket.org/wahrhaft (repository containing Glide64, Glide Napalm, Arachnoid and Z64 video plugins).


    - https://bitbucket.or...4plus/wiki/Home (contains a Mupen64Plus 2.0 GUI frontend written using wxWidgets)


    I'd suggest to send any of your changes upstream to stop fragmentation of this project. From my understanding, some of the plugins like Glide Napalm are being rewritten to remove x86 assembly. The wxWidgets frontend will work if a recent version of wxWidgets is available for the Pandora. The biggest issue will be the lack of support of OpenGL ES 2.0 in the video plugins. It's not going to be as simple as rounding up a few Android ports and expecting them to work with ease on a Linux system like the one that is running on the Pandora. Hopefully Ari64's dynarec will be included in the main repository eventually (it also supports x86 and x86_64 - not just ARM).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2012
  2. Stradian

    Stradian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    Surkow, I know I can't just slap the andriod port on the pandora. I am now currently working off of the main muphen repo. I will be more then happy to send my changes upstream.
     
  3. Stradian

    Stradian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    Updated main post.
     
  4. xiongxioi

    xiongxioi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    434
    I see how much work Stan you had put into it, And I appreciate it a lot.


    Once you finish this, expect a bit donation... As my gratitude. :)


    This might be the time that I can finally enjoy some robotron 64.
     
  5. Surkow

    Surkow Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    You are doing a great job. Thanks for your efforts.
     
  6. sandwhich

    sandwhich Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Great to see you working on this!
     
  7. paulscode

    paulscode Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    If you need help with the upgrade to the Mupen64Plus 2.0 API or plugging in Kris' port of Rice, let me know. I actually intended to update this project myself when I get my Pandora (still on the waiting list, but since production is continuing, hopefully soon!) I can't do any actual testing, but I do have experience plugging Ari64's code into 1.99.4.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 10, 2012
  8. klaxonn

    klaxonn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 10, 2012
  9. Kris

    Kris Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    The WebOS port has dependencies on SDL and OpenGL ES 2.0 thats about it, (Rice needs libpng and zlib for highres textures). There is maybe one WebOS specific call PDL_Init.


    The menu in the WebOS version is probably not much use to you, it uses opengl to list the the game name or boxart and allows switching gfx plugin not much else. Similarly for the input plugin, although you may want to look at how it uses the gfx plugins render callback to overlay controls and text. You may need to fiddle with how the gl context is created but other than that I would expect only the menu and input would need pandora specific work. I'm not familiar with notaz's sound plugin does it support MusyX? I just use the normal SDL sound plugin.

    Do you use Ari's Dynarec for x86 or the original mupen64plus dynarec?




    Hope you get it up and running soon, if you have any queries let me know.
     
  10. Stradian

    Stradian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    I have always used the original for x86, I'll write up another makefile right quick and see how it goes. I never tested Ari on x86 before, but I am almost positive it will work, as ari has parallel assembly samples for x86 .
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 11, 2012
  11. Stradian

    Stradian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    @ Kris, my build with ari dynarec is working and sane for x86_64.


    Main post updated.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 11, 2012
  12. Kris

    Kris Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks, I was curious as I wanted to test Zelda MM with Ari's dynarec on x86 as there seem to be problems with the arm version. I think it was a bit trickier getting it working on windows but I will have another look as getting that game to work has been a long standing problem.
     
  13. Stradian

    Stradian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    Updated the main post.
     
  14. sukhi2011

    sukhi2011 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    Birmingham
    where is the pnd of this emulator.


    It's not in the repo.
     
  15. Stradian

    Stradian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    Its not released. This is a work in progress thread.
     
  16. Wally

    Wally Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,503
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    PND doesn't appear to be showing up for me.
     
  17. jw11611

    jw11611 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Same for me, not showing up in Minimenu or XFCE4.
     
  18. klaxonn

    klaxonn Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Well, it's the CLI UI, i guess it's not supposed to showing up somewhere. You need to use the console as the first post says.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2012
  19. Wally

    Wally Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,503
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    No, the CLI UI is a wrapper inside the PND.
     
  20. Stradian

    Stradian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    Ok, there is a mistake with my pnd creation, you should be seeing an item to select it. Regardless, I replaced the download with a non pnd version that you can launch from the console.


    Download


    Just download this one, extract (preferably to an sd card), and use the terminal to navigate to and run ./mupen64plus
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2012

Share This Page