Forum software switch...


rSl

teadrunk
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
1,055
Location
急須
whatever the outcome is, it would be great if i could use
quote and edit my posts again using my trusted cli
javascript-less browser w3m. it worked ok in the last
forumsoftware version, so here is hope it will work again!

i like the idea of integrating the other boards.
for now a 4.1 update is a good idea imho, as this seems
to be a bugfix release hopefully fixing lots of stuff
without too much work.

ah, and re-add the rss-feed for new topics pretty please,
as my rss-feed-reader feels soo lonely without 'em. :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

_jr_

Advanced Member
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
1,170
You have to use the second text area (outside the noscript tag and hidden by default) to edit a post. The board software seems to ignore the noscript field when the other has content (which is the case when editing). You just have to find a way to unhide it (e.g. user style targeting textarea.ipsHide).
 
Last edited by a moderator:
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

Wally

I am a banana!
Staff member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,156
Age
34
Location
Melbourne, Australia
@Levi

1. Glad you agree

2. I tend to agree also,I made a new thread in the Improvements area just now.

3. Fair enough but this is something that everyone will probably have to deal with, surely there's simple bug trackers out there.

4. The new forum software that's proposed, I had a play with it. Everything looks consistent. 
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rSl

teadrunk
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
1,055
Location
急須
@_jr_
wow thanks! just found this little textarea, it's even
shown by default here, now i can edit my posts again, yay!!
:)

-update-
as ed has now updated the boardsoftware, it even works now
in the regular textarea, woohoo!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,796
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
Okay, upgrade happened, I know I need to work on some more things, so no need to post any bugs yet, I'll work on those tonight :)
 

FelixNemis

Very Active Member
Joined
May 15, 2012
Messages
306
Testing quotes:

Well, certainly don't wipe them... great treasure trove of information here, much akin to the gp32x.de forums that are still a good read for their tasty, tasty knowledge :p



IPB4, MyBB and XenForo offer tabbed forums, so my plan is to integrate gp32x.de and the german boards as it's own tab, so everyone can find them but they don't get in the way of other users.


With XenForo and MyBB, an import would work, with IPB4, there's no importer yet (but I still could add them into the site as menu topic, setting them to ReadOnly...)


The German boards are pretty much dead, sadly, so I am thinking adding german and french sections here (again, as tabs, so that the forum doesn't get cluttered).


I've got some ideas to make the site more structured, but all of them include switching to IPB4 (heavily improved menu system), XenForo or MyBB.
Okay, upgrade happened, I know I need to work on some more things, so no need to post any bugs yet, I'll work on those tonight :)





quotes aren't nested automatically, but nesting them manually seems to work fine, that could get really tedious though
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rSl

teadrunk
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
1,055
Location
急須
thanks for upgrading, seems it went smooth.
*whispers* ...rss-feed for newtopics... ;)

-update-
just found the discover-unread-rss-feed, i think i can live
with that too! ;)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

fusion_power

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Messages
13,173
Location
germany
Website
Visit site
OK, I don't see much difference to be honest. Well, the Forum is red again but besides that... ^^


I still see no preview options for postings or a switcher to plain BB code here in the editor, at least the editor still works. Oh, and the page numbers are bugy (the green ones), at least under Opera. I don't see any page numbers except the current page.


And the cursor sometimes jumps wildly here, had this before. This editor has it's own will, scary! 
default_ph34r.png

 
 
Last edited by a moderator:

PowerGod

Forum Addict!
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
4,021
Oh, and the page numbers are bugy (the green ones), at least under Opera. I don't see any page numbers except the current page, not so great.

I confirm, same browser anyway... also if I click on the quoted text I can't place the cursor, I have to go there with the keyboard
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,796
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
The PM function has improved a lot, the menu system also is usable again, I'll make use of that :)


Also, the new activity function is useful, everyone can create his / her own favourite unread-Stream... I will add some useful defaults as well.
 

ZXDunny

Deep avatar
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
2,584
I finally managed to make a stream that works like the old "New content" page. Still have those annoying date splits though, can't seem to get rid of them. 


Show Me: Content Items only


Content Types: All content


Read status: Content I haven't read


Ownership: Everything


Follow Status: Everything


Time Period: Since my last visit


Seems to work well, just those annoying date splitters to get rid of. Might have to adblock those.


D.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,796
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
Seems to work well, just those annoying date splitters to get rid of. Might have to adblock those.



Can you make a screenshot of what you mean?


I can edit the theme and want to make it cleaner, just haven't looked at the stream setup yet :)
 

ZXDunny

Deep avatar
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
2,584
Sure!


You can see the "Past Hour" and "Today" markers - totally unnecessary, as are the icons to the left which denote the type of entry (though they're unobtrusive and don't get in the way, so it's probably not worth it to remove them). 


I actually really like this new upgrade, but there's one thing missing - I have to go to "activity", then "My activity streams" and then click on my "New content" stream to get an updated list of new posts. The old forum had a single button at the top of the page which did the same job. Unfortunately, with the new streams setup, you can't really have one generic "new content" button, as each user's preference might be different to mine.


Overall though, this is vastly improved. You could certainly teach WorldOfSpectrum.org a thing or two about how to choose a forum that's easy to use and nicer to read with this layout...


D.

Pandora.png
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Neelix

Insecticidal Maniac
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
3,277
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Yes there is,  it's just been renamed so that it's now listed as "unread content"  you can actually see it in your screenshot.   The icon that used to go with it (a star?) seems to be missing though.


-Neelix
 

ZXDunny

Deep avatar
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
2,584
Yes there is,  it's just been renamed so that it's now listed as "unread content"  you can actually see it in your screenshot.   The icon that used to go with it (a star?) seems to be missing though.



No, that's not the same thing at all. "Unread content" lists posts with previews which takes up a huge amount of room, and also lists all unread posts, not just the ones made since my last visit. As such there's pages and pages of it. I much prefer my custom stream - just need a way to get to it that doesn't involve navigating a menu or setting a bookmark.


D.
 
Top