New Boards - Help me out :)


EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,796
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
The importer doesn't seem to respect the different ignore options of IP.Board. I have someone on the list whose signature I had had (have had?) set to ignore, then set to no longer ignore, i.e. the person is still on my ignore list, but not actually ignored in any way. The person has been imported onto the ignore list at the XenForo boards, which should not have been the case.

Thanks, I've let that the team know. It should simply ignore the ignored sigs.

I have 288 followed threads here, but only 221 followed threads at the current XenForo boards (if I counted correctly).
The import was made with a database status from last week. Maybe that's the reason.


Could you check which watched threads are missing?]

Several settings seem to have been taken over incorrectly.


I also have "Followers" now, and for some reason I'm following Craigix, and I'm not sure where either of that is coming from. Here on the IP.Boards forum, I've always had friend adding set to consent mode, and while I have received friend requests, I have always refused them (because I don't think that that's how friendship works). I do allow others to "follow" me, but I do not have any followers. It should be noted that Craigix once force-added me to his friends roster here while he was an administrator.

Friends and followers are different things.


I think followers and following was introduced with IPB4, friends already existed before (and afair, with IPB3 everyone could simply declare you as friend).


Everyone can follow you, I don't think you can disable it (though I haven't looked into that, I don't use the function)


Maybe IPB4 changed all friends to followers and following when I upgraded.


Have you made sure the users following you on XenForo are different than the users following you here?


Same for the users you follow.


I don't want to give a false report to the developers, if we report bugs, we need to 100% confirm them upfront.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

comradekingu

Glowing ember
Joined
Apr 15, 2011
Messages
5,075
Website
portfolio.anotheragency.no
Is there a setting to get rid of the default serif-font in posts?


The rest of the watched threads are available. You only see the unread ones by default.


Bug: Portrait avatars scale to width, not to height. What happens is you get your head cut off.


Twitter and facebook scripts loaded: http://boards.openpandora.org/boards/index.php


All this cancer:


cookie   https://twitter.com/{persistent-cookie:guest_id}
cookie   https://twitter.com/{persistent-cookie:external_referer}
cookie   https://twitter.com/{persistent-cookie:ua}
script   https://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js
script   https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js
script   http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js


Scripts arent run on http://boards.openpandora.org/boards/index.php?forums/pyra-news.63/
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,796
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
Is there a setting to get rid of the default serif-font in posts?



Yes, changing the theme, which is something I'm still working on.

The rest of the watched threads are available. You only see the unread ones by default.


Bug: Portrait avatars scale to width, not to height. What happens is you get your head cut off.



Also part of the theme.




That's a simple configuration thing which I haven't setup now, I was simply asking to check for stuff that concerns the importer.


No need to make the same report multiple times :)
 
Last edited:

comradekingu

Glowing ember
Joined
Apr 15, 2011
Messages
5,075
Website
portfolio.anotheragency.no
Font settings are supposedly in:


Admin CP > Appearance > Style Properties > Message Elements > Message Text


.style {
  font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
  font-size: 11px;
  font-weight: bold;
  color: #FFFFFF;                      /* should be black #000000
}


looks good.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Neelix

Insecticidal Maniac
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
3,277
Location
Melbourne, Australia
I just noticed that the timestamps on imported quotes seem to be translated into literal strings instead of timestamps when imported.  the trouble with that being that some of them show up incorrectly as relative times. eg  "12 hours ago, Neelix said:"


Incidentally I still want the quotes to be timestamped, and XenForo doesn't seem to do that currently. Is that an option you can turn on? 


-Neelix
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,796
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
I just noticed that the timestamps on imported quotes seem to be translated into literal strings instead of timestamps when imported.  the trouble with that being that some of them show up incorrectly as relative times. eg  "12 hours ago, Neelix said:"



Yes... I wondered how that could be imported, but looking at the database, I now know why and it just shows how insane IPB is...


Here's part of a post directly from the database:


data-ipsquote-username="Neelix">
<div class="ipsQuote_citation">
8 hours ago, Neelix said:
</div>




So yes, they are saving STATIC timestamps for the quotes in the post of the database... which means that the server has to calculate EVERY timestamp that appears in a quote when loading the page (well, I hope they got a good cache system at least for that)...


XenForo, of course, simply imported that.


I guess easiest way is to simply strip it.

Incidentally I still want the quotes to be timestamped, and XenForo doesn't seem to do that currently. Is that an option you can turn on? 


-Neelix



I don't think so, but I'm not sure that's really that important.
 

Neelix

Insecticidal Maniac
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
3,277
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Yes... I wondered how that could be imported, but looking at the database, I now know why and it just shows how insane IPB is...


...


So yes, they are saving STATIC timestamps for the quotes in the post of the database... which means that the server has to calculate EVERY timestamp that appears in a quote when loading the page (well, I hope they got a good cache system at least for that)...


XenForo, of course, simply imported that.


I guess easiest way is to simply strip it.



Good grief...   Insane is putting it mildly...   You don't suppose a large part of the coding was done by someone with a grudge against the company do you?  Otherwise one wonders what they were smoking.  


Perhaps converting them to a xenforo style quote would be the best way to handle them?  It worked that way for the quote in my sig,  not sure why it didn't work that way for the others.


-Neelix
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,796
Age
44
Location
Ingolstadt
Good grief...   Insane is putting it mildly...   You don't suppose a large part of the coding was done by someone with a grudge against the company do you?  Otherwise one wonders what they were smoking.  


Perhaps converting them to a xenforo style quote would be the best way to handle them?  It worked that way for the quote in my sig,  not sure why it didn't work that way for the others.


-Neelix



And now the insanity continues: This has been changed with the update to 4.1


With 4.0, it was different, that's why THOSE quotes had been imported correctly.


So instead of updating the old stuff in the database, they just seem to add compatibility layers, so the database is a wild mixture of 3.4, 4.0 and 4.1 and the forum code handles that it is being displayed correctly.... Jesus Christ!


But the XenForo team already fixed all the bugs we mentioned here, so it's soon time for another new import :)
 

fayer3

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 26, 2013
Messages
22
Location
Austria
I just noticed, that in some quotes the link to the original post is not working, and the name is not displayed.


For example in this post: http://boards.openpandora.org/boards/index.php?threads/reflect-the-leds.5600195/#post-405838


the link is not working and instead of the name just a number is shown.


in this post the quote works fine: http://boards.openpandora.org/boards/index.php?threads/a-date-with-the-pyra.5600223/#post-406619


and then there are some quotes, that are missing the name and a link back: http://boards.openpandora.org/boards/index.php?threads/total-madness.5600186/#post-405411
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Christoph.Krn

Advanced Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2009
Messages
2,119
Location
Germany
Friends and followers are different things.


I think followers and following was introduced with IPB4, friends already existed before (and afair, with IPB3 everyone could simply declare you as friend).


Everyone can follow you, I don't think you can disable it (though I haven't looked into that, I don't use the function)


Maybe IPB4 changed all friends to followers and following when I upgraded.


Have you made sure the users following you on XenForo are different than the users following you here?


Same for the users you follow.


I don't want to give a false report to the developers, if we report bugs, we need to 100% confirm them upfront.

You can disable following here. I had it enabled until yesterday.


In IP.Board 3, you could configure friend adding so that people would have to send you a friend request that you could agree to.


I don't have any followers here, so the followers that I do have on the XenForo boards neccessarily are not the same as here. I just looked through my previous friend requests, these followers that I have over at the XenForo boards have previously sent me friend requests. However, I've had more friend requests from other people, and those do not appear as followers over at my XenForo accounts.


Over here, I don't have anyone in my list of people that I'm following. I do have one person that I'm following an the XenForo boards (Craigix, who, as I've noted before, force-added me to his friends roster).
 

Fzero

Advanced Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
4,703
@EvilDragon I just tested the resend password link from the new forum, and although it worked, there is a little issue with the wording I think.


2psg3f5.png



On both the confirmation of reset mail sent page, and also the actual email that is sent ... the wording is 'Official Pyra and Pyra Site'... Which I guess should read Pyra and Pandora site?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top