The Pyra is crying!

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Aug 22, 2015.

  1. bzar

    bzar A Commando

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,444
    Location:
    Finland
    Indeed. I've just started my computer and have 1.994 MiB in use with firefox taking 1067 MiB (at about 50 tabs in groups, with some big offenders taking most of the memory space), plasmashell 182 MiB, akonadi 139 MiB, krunner 124 MiB, kwin 117 MiB, kontact 112 MiB, and okular 102 MiB. Everything else is under 100 MiB.

    Luke-Jr, you might want to clean your KDE :) .
     
  2. Caine

    Caine Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I don't think it needs so much memory, but it might very well be possible that when the memory is available that it makes use of it to speed things up.

    I recall the pre-chrome version of Opera doing this very aggressively. It could run on a few megs of memory but would claim hundreds if it was otherwise unused.
     
  3. matzesu

    matzesu Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,914
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    By the way: how dos this "Blinkenled" thing works??
    Dos the Omap Controll the LED, and you see on Blink Frequenzy what the Omap dos??


    Or is it something like a bypass, which takes the part of the not working traces??


    At your youtube video, its blinks, but i dotnt know why..
     
  4. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,677
    Firefox and Chrome are notorious memory hogs, by design. If you have 2GB of RAM and you open a dozen tabs it will use up to 2GB. If you have 8GB of RAM and open the same dozen tabs it will use up to 8GB. I noticed this effect when I upgraded from 4 to 8 last year and I don't know why. I know it's a "performance" enhancement but I wish it wouldn't.Point being that web browsers are an incredibly poor benchmark of how much RAM you need.
     
  5. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,459
    I'm not seeing this behavio(u)r  with iceweasel on the OMAP5 devboard... I can have more than a dozen tabs open and not even push over 600MBs total for the browser. 
     
  6. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,017
    Location:
    germany
    More RAM also means more power consumption, especialy on mobile devices. So I prefer 2GB RAM on the Pyra over 4GB, which is also cheaper of course. My CC Pandora has 256MB RAM and I'm browsing fine with the bloated Firefox and Pale Moon, both are plain Desktop ports by the way.

    My PC has 4GB RAM (old DDR2) and it's not that bad. I'm sure the Pyra will do fine with 2GB. :)
     
  7. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,677
    I wonder if there's a difference between Iceweasel and Firefox beyond a few security fixes and the removal of trademarks. Alternatively it may have been true a year ago but has gotten better, or my perceptions are messed up. I'll experiment tonight.
     
    bzar likes this.
  8. CFWhitman

    CFWhitman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Iceweasel is based on the ESR (Extended Support Release) builds of Firefox. It has the trademarks removed and any patches the Debian team deems necessary. It may not always be based on the most recent ESR build, especially in stable. It is done the way it is so that the Debian team can patch it themselves. Once they do, they can't call it Firefox.
     
  9. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,022
    So - more ram costs more, takes more juice and produces more heat.

    Explaining this out based on my gut feeling from the above reports from people with dev boards and my experiences with a CC and 1Ghz Pandora:

    256MB is probably enough for 60% of use cases

    512MB is probably enough for 75% of use cases

    1GB is probably enough for 90% of use cases

    2GB is probably enough for 98% of use cases

    3GB is probably enough for 99% of use cases

    4GB is probably enough for 99.99% of use cases
     
  10. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,644
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    It's the Heartbeat from Linux, which means that the kernel is alive.

    You can also let any Pandora LED do that with a simple command :)
     
  11. matzesu

    matzesu Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,914
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    So ok whe know it works, but it will at least 5 Weeks cost to get a new CPU Board Prototyphe..


    Or are whe now apple to test the other Things on CPU Board in this Time??


    Are these CPU Board from the 5 Days Company??


    If these Thread would be about the CPU Board, and not about the RAM, i think it would be much more evicience ..


    Thanks for the Answer EvilDragon


    And back to OFFTOPIC: My Notebook have something around 2 gb of Ram ( if i remember correkly) and it even runs GTA 4 EFLC so i think the Pyra will the most powerfull Device at home, even if i can put it in my Poket :)
     
  12. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,005
    ​What is the command? :) Can my laptop do that too?
     
  13. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,644
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    On the Pandora?


    Easy.


    First, become root (sudo su) in a shell.


    Then:


    echo heartbeat > /sys/class/leds/pandora\:\:wifi/trigger


    Replace wifi in that command with any other led to let a different led blink (bluetooth, sd1, sd2, charger, power)


    Instead of heartbeat you can also use other stuff like nand-disk (to see accesses to the NAND) or timer for a secondly blinking LED.
     
    PowerGod likes this.
  14. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,378
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    OK tried that command and it works.  Now how to stop it from blinking and back to normal without rebooting? 
     
  15. f9kjvppq

    f9kjvppq Guest

    Do "cat /sys/class/leds/whatever/trigger" to see the list of possibilities. "echo none > /sys/class/leds/whatever/trigger" to disable it.
     
  16. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,342
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Thanks for trying this out (if it isn't stuff you usually do with it) and sharing the results.
     
  17. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,022
    This strikes me as something that someone who wants to make their first .pnd could wrap a GUI around.  Blinkenlights.pnd?

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blinkenlights
     
    PowerGod likes this.
  18. f9kjvppq

    f9kjvppq Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Would do it, but sadly I don't own a pandora. Always wanted one, but didn't have the money. About a week ago decided that the time has come to purchase one,

    and that's when I learned about Pyra. I'm so glad I've waited.
     
  19. f9kjvppq

    f9kjvppq Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    So is it final that we will have only two leds, not counting keyboard backlight and the logo? What is their designation?
     
  20. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,022
    Each of those 4 individually addressable LEDs (2 in keyboard/base area, 2 in lid) are RGB LEDs meaning that they are color controllable too.  In my book that makes each one far more capable than all of the single color LEDs as we had in the Pandora combined.

    So, the "only two leds," statement is a bit of a misnomer.  Two LEDs capable of dozens of distinguishable colors each - capable of working in concert with each other, and alternating 'messages' 10 times per second or more, means that they could communicate hundreds of 'things' through those two little LEDs.

    How?  Just using the 6 truncated easy to distinguish (by most - sorry colorblind) colors Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue and Indigo/Violet = purple, we can monitor 36 different 'things'.

    Which combination represents what hardware or function could be decided by whomever writes the control software.  This is just an example of how it could work.

    The pulses could be queued and prioritized so that only the 10 'most important' ones make it through each second.  Alternatively the end user should be able to customize or even turn off any of it.

    Left LED Red + Right LED Green 0.1 second pulse = read from NAND or microSD during the second

    Left LED Red + Right LED Red 0.1 second pulse = write to NAND or microSD during the second

    Left LED Orange + Right LED Green 0.1 second = read from left SD card during the second

    Left LED Orange + Right LED Red 0.1 second = write to left SD card during the second

    Left LED Yellow + Right LED Green 0.1 second = read from right SD card during the second

    Left LED Yellow + Right LED Red 0.1 second = write to right SD card during the second


    Left LED Green + Right LED Green 0.1 second = inbound from WiFi during the second

    Left LED Green + Right LED Red 0.1 second = outbound to WiFi during the second

    Left LED Blue + Right LED Green 0.1 second = inbound from Bluetooth during the second

    Left LED Blue + Right LED Red 0.1 second = outbound to Bluetooth during the second


    Left LED Purple + Right LED Green 0.1 second = inbound from 4G during the second

    Left LED Purple + Right LED Red 0.1 second = outbound to 4G during the second

    Left off + Right Red 0.1 second = low battery

    Left off + Right Orange  0.1 second = charging

    Left off + Right Green 0.1 second = battery full/charged

    Left off + Right Yellow 0.1 second = USB ports active/powered

    Left off + Right Blue 0.1 second = HDMI port active/powered

    Left off + Right Purple 0.1 second = ????

    The list could go on and on...  then you could get into 'priority codes' that would 'push to the front' of the event queue and last longer than the flickers above (alarms, game FX, etc...) as well as additional states (standby/sleep/lid events/etc...), create a 'fire' fx by flickering red/yellow with occasional blue/green and more.

    Those four individually addressable RGB LEDs have a lot of potential to be very cool.  Don't sell them short.

     


     
     
    Silent-Hunter likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...