Some personal stuff - and prototypes building!

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Mar 11, 2019.

  1. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,575
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    You're correct. The chip supports all different kinds of configuration, and it's all setup in the driver of the audio chip.
    The wiring is correct, but you need to tell the software how you wired stuff up there, basically :)

    Yes, the issue is not related to Pulseaudio, ALSA has the same.
     
    Link and Silent-Hunter like this.
  2. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,963
    In the world of pro audio, there is no such thing as 'stereo'. Each two-wire output (signal & ground) or mono three-wire (balanced XLR) is a channel. The concept of left/right is speaker positioning and can often be from the perspective of the stage - so, stage-left and stage-right. Tying two or more channels together or creating a 'gang' of channels can result in stereo or surround effect sound.

    There is no such thing as a single stereo channel. Stereo being two discrete audio channels of course. You -can- have one jack with multiple connections sharing a common ground/common connection, but what consumer audio labels as left or right is simply an audio channel that has been labeled.

    A proper mixer allows a person to take any inbound channel (input - physical or application sourced) and proportionally mix it with other channels to any output destination. Seeing discrete channels is a good thing - they can be ganged into stereo - or flipped left/right - or have 'left' go to one output and 'right' go to another, blended into a common output, etc.

    Hope that helps - the above argument/discussions around channels Vs 'stereo' seemed to need a bit of clarification around what a channel is and how it works from a mixer perspective. There is nothing wrong with having the SoC output what the OS sees as 'channels'.
     
    rSl and levi like this.
  3. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,985
    Oh I knew it wasn't a single stereo channel, I was just trying to explain that it was all one system, not completely separate.
     
    el joker and levi like this.
  4. NOP

    NOP Still Fresh

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    I use my shure BT1 (bluetooth inear) all the time on my Linux machines, it works really great out of the box. My Laptop connects and switches to my inears as soon as i turn them on, and also switches back afterward.

    only the play pause buttons behave strange (vlc recognizes them when i press them twice, track skip seems to work better in vlc).

    But other than the buttons, it can't be any better.

    If now someone builds an application for calling which mutes all audio outputs switches the headset into headset mode and after the call back to stereo and resumes the audio. I would throw out my android :)

    Maybe I can hack that into the calling app if that gets developed.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2019
  5. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,563
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    For my uses at least, pausing over muting wins every time if some higher priority signal comes in. Assuming it's a pausable form like flac or mp3, and not something like a streaming media source, where muting's pretty much the best you can do. My phone pretty much does that, although for a text alert sound it just mixes the audio (albeit dimming the audio playback), which actually (despite other complaints) it probably just how I like it.
     
  6. Djoga'Ro

    Djoga'Ro moonstruck

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    800
    @levi You can pause a stream, as long as you don't run out of buffer. @Grench What would the maxed out storage capacity be again? :)
     
    levi likes this.
  7. NOP

    NOP Still Fresh

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Pausing may be better, but also harder to implemet, or are music applications listening to dbus events for pause/unpause (not toggle of course)?

    And even then muting all applications must always be done.
     
  8. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,963
    Somewhere between, "A lot" and a "metric S-ton", depending on how much you want to spend?

    Current maximum theoretical (until someone actually does it, everything is theoretical) on-device in-pocket running storage using cards that can be purchased, of a Pyra is ~5.1TB. https://pyra-handheld.com/boards/threads/preparing-for-a-prototype.76956/page-12#post-1448837
     
    Djoga'Ro likes this.
  9. Coupo

    Coupo Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    So, I haven't been here for a while... Have I missed anyth..... :confused:
    WOW, ok
    Just... 6 more pages of comments....
    And new fotos from ED.
    ...
    Oh! I guess the protos coming together nicely:D
     
    FBnil, remjey and Bosbeetle like this.
  10. CyrusDreams

    CyrusDreams Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    If you manage to do this, the Pyra can do more audio than a "state-of-the-art" ThinkPad T580 :D
    That thing only has one stereo pair which is switched between speakers and headphones. Cheapskates.
     
    FBnil, Coupo and ClockworkCoder like this.
  11. Eight Bit

    Eight Bit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,570
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
  12. JDTAY

    JDTAY Half Pepperoni, All Cheese

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Whoa there, it's only been a week since ED's last update. Give the man some space. Don't make me go get Wally.

    *continues to stalk ED twice as hard as Eight Bit*
     
  13. Eight Bit

    Eight Bit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,570
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Well, as I like those nice, almost finished looking prototypes to be sent out as much as anyone else in here,
    and they only need the cpu board and the battery to be finished,
    and the batteries are already in,
    and ED is not physically making the cpu boards himself,
    and thus ordered them XX days ago,
    I guess it's a legit question how long it takes for the boards to arrive

    :D
     
    JDTAY likes this.
  14. CommanderB

    CommanderB Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    If I understood correctly the prototype boards are already there, but maybe ED is waiting for more heatpipes?
     
  15. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,563
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Yes, he's ordered some more heatpipes too recently for them to be ready just yet; he forgot them temporarily I think. But he said he can run some tester software on them without a heatsink. I don't think I've seen the tester software for them yet, but I don't recall if I actually saw the software tester running on the Pandora back in the day, other than the input tester, which I think we already saw running on a Pyra in the keyboard backlighting video done in the dark.
     
  16. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,963
    Obviously the assembly of the prototypes is going to be a very slow process as each issue is solved rather than given a work around. For example, I somewhat expect the prototypes may end up having black shoulder buttons so that the spring solution can be implemented. for some things, the prototypes will yield better solutions for the production units while using 'old' solutions in the prototypes. Example: not needing separate silicone backing sealing for the speakers but instead modifying the keymat silicone to incorporate that piece. A tweak here a modification there, 'Aha! moments,' that can only occur when handling and carefully studying physical hardware.

    The prototype exercise is clearly being used to make the production Pyra production process more efficient and produce better units. But then, that is the whole idea of this exercise right?
     
    Failbert, zoranc, funkyarif and 3 others like this.
  17. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,575
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Updated the first post :D
    Wow, 82 pictures already :D
     
  18. docbroke

    docbroke Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    India
    Wonderful, so we have one fully working prototype. I am eager to see more photographs :p
     
    rSl likes this.
  19. rSl

    rSl **** COMMODORE 64 PYRA V2 **** 4GB RAM SYSTEM

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Messages:
    509
    Location:
    homecomputer
    looks awesome, really loving the latest progress! <3
     
  20. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,885
    The cases seems really perfect, also everything fits great, really a good job
     

Share This Page

Loading...