Yay some news!

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by Wally, May 31, 2019.

  1. ClockworkCoder

    ClockworkCoder Chaotic Neutral

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,092
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Yes. I'm not sure what the terminology is, but (rightly or wrongly) see this as a first release candidate iteration.
     
  2. comradekingu

    comradekingu Glowing ember

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,968
    @Wally is the space-field still two buttons? Edit: on the PCB.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019
  3. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,225
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Yeah, I'm not sure that terminology in that sense has been defined yet. I would discount previous prototypes that aTc has received; in this context we're only really interested in the ones sent out in the past month or two, and to my recollection this is the first one out of the small dozen or so ED was planning to build. Good news in any case though, of course.
     
  4. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    Well my point is that people have had prototype units for quite a while and hardware and software development hasn't been totally been hindered with having less that optimal units.

    From the comments it sounded like the claim was that nothing has been accomplished until this current version has been sent out.
     
    levi likes this.
  5. ClockworkCoder

    ClockworkCoder Chaotic Neutral

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,092
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Not my intention. Anyone who's spent any length of time on the forums here will understand the roller-coaster it's been so far, and a great deal has been accomplished. We've never been closer to a shippable product before now though (without major issues to resolve first), which is the difference.
     
  6. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Well, it's easier if everyone has the same hardware revision which should be final as well :)
     
    Grench and ClockworkCoder like this.
  7. jacob martinelli

    jacob martinelli Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    this question has probably been asked alot but how much longer would you say till mass production?
     
  8. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,053
    They don't want to say, because people may be disappointed if there are delays.
     
  9. Letalis Sonus

    Letalis Sonus Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    PulseAudio does not support any kind of hardware mixing, though. The daemon only configures a single ALSA instance for all incoming audio data - all the conversion and mixing work is literally forced onto the CPU.
     
  10. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,225
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I just started two instances of mplayer at the same time, and it seemed to play them both mixed simultaneously as far as I can tell. My mplayer is configured to talk pulseaudio natively though, so it doesn't go through the alsa to pulseaudio bridge, so what you say may well be true in that instance. I'd have to deconfigure my mplayer back to use alsa to test that out I guess.
     
  11. docbroke

    docbroke Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    India
    Is pulseaudio working in pyra prototypes ?
     
  12. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    It has in the past, from what I understand. Changes in kernel versions tend to fix or break things...
     
  13. Zink

    Zink Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    170
    Mixing is basically just adding samples together, so not really a hard task for such CPU, even if it needs to do it 48000 times per sedond. Don't know about the conversion though.
     
  14. Letalis Sonus

    Letalis Sonus Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    If you "basically just add samples together", you'll end up with lots of clipping and distortions. It takes a lot more math to mix audio samples together without thrashing them, especially if you need to mix more than just two streams together. Many implementations use dynamic compression, exploiting the ability to look ahead for a few samples. Hardware mixers usually just throw more precision at the problem to keep things relatively simple and lossless.

    There's a reason why many audio frameworks switched over to using float samples internally.

    PulseAudio has a wide selection of available resampling algorithms - you can throw a LOT of CPU cycles at this task if you want a good audio quality.
     
    Djoga'Ro and ClockworkCoder like this.
  15. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,139
    So - how do we get the TI DSP driver back into a current kernel?
     
  16. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,225
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    God knows. It's not something we need to ship units, so I don't think anyone's looking at it at present.
     
  17. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    Prayers, shady money sent to Ti employees, begging and maybe a notaz and a few clones of notaz.
     
    Djoga'Ro, rSl and Wally like this.
  18. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,139
    Agreed. But - it would be nice to have a plan?

    I'm all for cloning of Notaz - but I'd not want to wait 15-20 years for them to become useful. So, we're going to need a time machine first - and you have a sci-fi puppet robot for an Avatar, so you can get to work on that part.

    I have this vision of "someone" taking the old/working kernel, building a 2nd version of the same kernel with everything the same but without the TI DSP, then doing an examination of the binary differences... Yeah, not sure where to go with that from there.
     
  19. gpsqueeek

    gpsqueeek Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    If you have a time machine you can go back and prevent it from being removed from the kernel I guees
     
    Djoga'Ro and ible like this.
  20. Pyramancer

    Pyramancer Fairly Idle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    If you had a time machine you wouldn't go back in time. You'd go forward in time to when the Pyra has been released for a while and all the software goodies are thoroughly polished. You'd get one and bring it back to now so that you'd have your Pyra already.
     

Share This Page

Loading...