Release PPSSPP, Emulator for PSP

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,083
Age
38
Location
49.491276,8.423518
Can we delete/cut out the unrelevant personal Posts?


We try to Test and Report PPSSPP related Things here.


When there is such a Discussion,i try ever to stay out of that Discussion.


However is my english so bad that i cant discuss in english :)


To all : Make Love,no War,we are all Humans :)


And some Things can often be missunderstand because the writer mean often other Things or meaned that not so aregssive like others understand.


But hey now back to Ontopic :D


I have now working End and i am @ homeway.


I am curious about testing PPSSPP without Zram and hope for lesser Slowdowns.


And i try more Games this Evening :)


@ Ptitseb:


When you choose in Dev Settings (new Gui) then have you after restart PPSSPP a wonderfull new Gui with a:


Save Settings per Game Function :D


Yehaahhh :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,426
Age
46
Location
France, near Lyon
@ Ptitseb:


When you choose in Dev Settings (new Gui) then have you after restart PPSSPP a wonderfull new Gui with a:


Save Settings per Game Function :D


Yehaahhh :)
that's great. I have to check if the alpha hack is saved by games (or may be you can test). I'll still have to work on the downscale texture function (and will be better with the per game save).
 

mcobit

Advanced Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
6,910
Edit: Deleted for the sake of ontopicness.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,426
Age
46
Location
France, near Lyon
So, I synced the sources, and added back the (hugly) downscale option. I don't do any filtering on the downscale texture, so it look very pixelated. I don't rescale texture when size < 16.

Enjoy some more parameters to play with (there is also a a few FrameBuffer parameters to play with).

Build 26

----------

  • In sync with git sources
  • putted back the downscale of texture option.
 

calc84maniac

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
332
I tried running from the terminal and testing Danganronpa again, and I get the following message after the crash:

*** glibc detected *** ./PPSSPPSDL: malloc(): memory corruption: 0x00b1cf80 ***

And of course, the address at the end varies each time I try. Does this mean something's getting corrupted in relation to SDL?
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,426
Age
46
Location
France, near Lyon
That mean there is a memory corruption in PPSSPPSDL, which is PPSSPP. Did you use the downscale texture, or is it the same regardless of the parameters?
 

NoeleyC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,348
Stupid question time (as last night is my first time using this emulator), I have 2 games currently installed for this (LocoRoco Midnight Carnival and Ghosts and Goblins). With both games, if I bring up the the in-game options menu and try to change any options, onve I press the apply button, the normal mouse pointer reappears, I can't get back to the game itself not hill the app, and I have to reset my Pandora. If I go into that menu and don't change anything, it'll allow me to exit fine. I'm using a 1gig Pandora with the latest SuperZaxxon updates and the recommended beta SGX driver.
 

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,083
Age
38
Location
49.491276,8.423518
I tried Yesterday for a Hour or so on the Rebirth Pandora.

It seem that the Texture Scaling Function work not right,

Tried many Settings Yesterday to get Mana Khemia Run,but it start only short and break then.

I made a unofficial Video from the Error maybe it help you a Little.

https://www.youtube.com/embed/E9t-auZOL_0?feature=oembed
(its uploading,it should work in 20 Minutes)
 

calc84maniac

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
332
That mean there is a memory corruption in PPSSPPSDL, which is PPSSPP. Did you use the downscale texture, or is it the same regardless of the parameters?
You mean scale texture and select 1/2? That doesn't seem to change its behavior.
 

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,083
Age
38
Location
49.491276,8.423518
Ah i forgot to write:


Without ZRAM have we realy lesser Slowdowns,then recommend i to disable it:


Sudo swapoff /dev/zram0


But Texture scaling have i with and without Zram tested and ever broke.


When the Games should be a little little faster,then try to start PPSSPP from Mini Menu :)


And on Rebirth Pandora help a lot to execute this:


Sudo /usr/pandora/scripts/op_sysspeed 375


Work stable here with opp5 and 1 GHZ overclocked Rebirth Pandora.


I hope the Informations in the Video help you a little Ptitseb ;)


You do so much for us all,but dont forget to rest and make little Pause here and there ;)
 

Askarus

Hardcore Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
4,304
Location
Germany
Ingo, don't post a video.

go into tmp and upload the pndrun_out file for ppsspp.

That's what the devs need.

And thanks for the zram hint.

I always disliked it as it might slow things down.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,083
Age
38
Location
49.491276,8.423518
I will do ;)

Logs wil come and btw have we here a Spoiler Function?

I never found that in this Forum,even not in Full Edit.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Askarus

Hardcore Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
4,304
Location
Germany
No spoiler function in the editor.

Type

[spolier]

Text

[/spolier]

(Of course it has to be spoiler instead of spolier but then you could not see the structure

That's what it looks like in the end:

Text
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,083
Age
38
Location
49.491276,8.423518
Many Thx,then is the PPSSPP PND Runout in this Spoiler ;)

=======================================================================================
PND             : /media/SPIELE/pandora/desktop/PPSSPP.pnd
PND_FSTYPE      : Squashfs
APPDATADIR      : /media/SPIELE/pandora/appdata/PPSSPP
APPDD_FSTYPE    : vfat
PND_CPUSPEED    : <unset>
EXENAME         : runscript.sh
ARGUMENTS       : <unset>
=======================================================================================
[ START ]--- Mount the PND ----------
Mounting : mount -t squashfs -o ro "/dev/loop0" "/mnt/utmp/PPSSPP"
Mounting the Union FS : mount -t aufs -o exec,noplink,dirs="/media/SPIELE/pandora/appdata/PPSSPP=rw+nolwh":"/mnt/pnd/PPSSPP=rr" none "/mnt/utmp/PPSSPP"
[sUCCESS]--- Mount the PND ----------
[ START ]--- Starting the application ( runscript.sh  ) ----------
--------------------------------------------------------------
Setting PATH to /mnt/utmp/PPSSPP/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/games
--------------------------------------------------------------
Setting LD_LIBRARY_PATH to /mnt/utmp/PPSSPP/lib:/lib:/usr/lib
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/file/zip_read.cpp:227: I: Registered VFS for prefix : assets/
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/file/zip_read.cpp:227: I: Registered VFS for prefix : /mnt/utmp/PPSSPP/home/
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/UI/NativeApp.cpp:251: I: Logman: 0x9a2600
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/gfx/texture.cpp:235: I: ZIM loaded: 1 levels
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/gfx/texture.cpp:266: I: Gen-binding texture
Pixels: 800 x 480
Virtual pixels: 800 x 480
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/ui/screen.cpp:32: I: Screen switch! Top of the stack switches.
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/ui/screen.cpp:32: I: Screen switch! Top of the stack switches.
E: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/ui/screen.cpp:50: E: Deleting screen
W: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/file/file_util.cpp:193: W: IsDirectory: stat failed on
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/ui/screen.cpp:32: I: Screen switch! Top of the stack switches.
E: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/ui/screen.cpp:50: E: Deleting screen
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/ui/screen.cpp:32: I: Screen switch! Top of the stack switches.
E: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/ui/screen.cpp:50: E: Deleting screen
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/UI/MenuScreens.cpp:1973: I: //media/SPIELE/roms
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/UI/MenuScreens.cpp:1978: I: Selected: 10 : //media/SPIELE/3Mana_Khemia_Student_Alliance.cso
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/Core/HW/atrac3plus.cpp:152: I: Attempting to load atrac3plus decoder from /mnt/utmp/PPSSPP/lib/libat3plusdecoder.so
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/Core/HW/atrac3plus.cpp:158: I: Successfully loaded atrac3plus decoder from /mnt/utmp/PPSSPP/lib/libat3plusdecoder.so
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/ui/screen.cpp:32: I: Screen switch! Top of the stack switches.
E: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/ui/screen.cpp:50: E: Deleting screen
I: /media/SEBEXT/sources/git/ppsspp/native/gfx_es2/fbo.cpp:178: I: Creating 480 x 272 FBO using separate stencil
./runscript.sh: line 72:  4069 Floating point exception./PPSSPPSDL $@
[sUCCESS]--- Starting the application ( runscript.sh  ) ----------
[ START ]--- Restoring the frame buffer status ----------
[sUCCESS]--- Restoring the frame buffer status ----------
[ START ]--- uMount the PND ----------
[ START ]--- Waiting the Union to be available ----------
[sUCCESS]--- Waiting the Union to be available ----------
auplink:plink.c:223: AUFS_CTL_PLINK_MAINT: Inappropriate ioctl for device
rmdir: failed to remove `/mnt/utmp/PPSSPP': Device or resource busy
[ START ]--- Waiting the PND mount dir to be free ----------
[sUCCESS]--- Waiting the PND mount dir to be free ----------
cleanup done
[sUCCESS]--- uMount the PND ----------
=======================================================================================
Return code is : 2
 

Help alot with Error Messages,thx ;)

@ Ptitseb:

Its not a SGX Driver related Problem i tried now differrent Drivers.

But dont hurry,everyone need a Rest ^_^
 
Last edited by a moderator:

rohezal

Advanced Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
1,673
Just overclocked the gpu too high  sorry guys.

Edit: Thank you ptitseb for doing so much cool stuff for us :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,083
Age
38
Location
49.491276,8.423518
You find the PPSSPP PndRunout in /tmp :)


In the Moment is Ptitseb in Holiday,i think he will search the Error soon,but first:


Nice Holiday Ptitseb ;)


Thank you for doing so much for us all ;D
 

Askarus

Hardcore Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
4,304
Location
Germany
Official website:

0.9 will arrive in mid-August (in about two weeks), with full automap support for nVidia Shield controls. Will also try to get the Ouya version out slightly after, also with automatically mapped gamepad controls. Shield runs PPSSPP quite well, many games reach full speed and are extremely playable with the excellent hardware controls. Of course, all other Android devices with gamepads will work too, in some cases you might have to tweak the button mapping manually though.

Also, I've done quite a bit of work on the JITs for 0.9, so expect a modest to large speed boost too on all platforms, especially ARM-based ones - plus some additional compatibility.
New hope for us.

Maybe it's already released before Gamescom.

ptitSeb, please keep an eye on it :) .
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,426
Age
46
Location
France, near Lyon
I compiled a version 2 days ago, and yes, it is promising! I notice some speed gain, but it was a bit unstable so I didn't released it. I'll probably do a new build this Weekend, the new auto Frameskipping code looks promising too :)
 

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,083
Age
38
Location
49.491276,8.423518
Official website:

0.9 will arrive in mid-August (in about two weeks), with full automap support for nVidia Shield controls. Will also try to get the Ouya version out slightly after, also with automatically mapped gamepad controls. Shield runs PPSSPP quite well, many games reach full speed and are extremely playable with the excellent hardware controls. Of course, all other Android devices with gamepads will work too, in some cases you might have to tweak the button mapping manually though.

Also, I've done quite a bit of work on the JITs for 0.9, so expect a modest to large speed boost too on all platforms, especially ARM-based ones - plus some additional compatibility.
New hope for us.

Maybe it's already released before Gamescom.

ptitSeb, please keep an eye on it :) .
I compiled a version 2 days ago, and yes, it is promising! I notice some speed gain, but it was a bit unstable so I didn't released it. I'll probably do a new build this Weekend, the new auto Frameskipping code looks promising too :)
Interesting ;)
 
Top