New Blog Post


gaterooze

Coltrane Sundia
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
2,723
Website
Visit site
Ah, I still remember the days of 1200bps... man when 2400bps came along it seemed blindingly fast!

And 1200kbps is as fast as I could utilize it anyway, so that's no worries.
 

TaG

Fau-fau-faulty software.
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
1,727
Location
England
Website
Visit site
Silkscreen / no silkscreen

or

Pandora / no Pandora

I'll accept whatever when it's done...
 

emil10001

Member
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
669
kingbuzzo said:
davidgro said:
EvilDragon said:
Vitel said:
There's no software audio mixer yet. ... but multiple sounds at once will not work yet.
Does that mean that ALSA doesn't support the audio chip yet?
It just means we don't have a software mixer setup yet. Sound output is done through Alsa, so I guess ALSA works ;)
I thought I heard somewhere that the plan was to use PulseAudio - which should work as a mixer and also let me stream my Pandora's audio to a PC with decent speakers when home. Was I wrong about that? (I kinda hope not)

(edit: typo)
I would advise that we DON'T use pulseaudio as it's still too messy to use. ALSA is fine on its own. I would prefer jack of course but then most apps would need to be rewritten to use it.
+1

If ALSA broke, I'm pretty sure I could fix it. If pulseaudio broke, I might need to go without sound for a while. <_<

Also, alsamixer isn't working??? If ALSA works, then that should too. Right?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

MonkeyChops

NO! I don't play basketball
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Messages
1,000
Age
40
Location
OHIO
We were all kinds of excited when my friend got his Pentium 60 with a 9600 baud modem.

We literally waited 4 days for Heritic to finish downloading. That didn't really seem fast even back then but it was free damn it! We got it from AOL chat rooms.

ahh, memories...
 

urjaman

"I Know. We're going for a ride."
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
1,111
Age
30
Location
Finland
Website
urjaman.dy.fi
emil10001 said:
If ALSA broke, I'm pretty sure I could fix it. If pulseaudio broke, I might need to go without sound for a while. <_<

Also, alsamixer isn't working??? If ALSA works, then that should too. Right?
well... I've once (tried) to write a sound driver and forgot the mixer. No alsamixer for me then :/. And i think we're talking about mixing multiple audio sources in software (the pandora's sound hw doesnt support that, AFAIK), not just adjusting the single output volume (which should be possible in hardware, for which alsamixer should work if drivers are 100%).
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Nova

Is that a Caanoo in your pocket or are you just ha
Joined
Apr 27, 2005
Messages
6,093
Age
30
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
Yeah, definitely want silkscreening on mine.
 

borgqueenx

Very Active Member
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
1,887
Age
30
Location
The Netherlands, Overijssel
Website
gdteam.net
Mlre delay. Silkscreening picture will took longer then exptected i can tell you right now.
Second, im glad you forget about silkscreening if it doesnt look good.

I still expect many delays.

Im a year into the pandora scene now.
And in one and a half month i preordered 365 days ago.... :(
and in 19 days, i have grown a year older...i hope i got my pandora then.

Sigh.

Sigh.

Sigh.

Sigh.

Thats all i can tell about the project now...
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
emil10001 said:
Also, alsamixer isn't working??? If ALSA works, then that should too. Right?
Alsamixer is just volume control.
The problem (as I understand it) is what happens when you have two audio sources that want to output at the same time. It's an "easy" problem (just add the two sources together) with a lot of difficult quirks that can get in the way. I would wager it's one of those problems that is easy to solve just as soon as someone with the right skill set sits down and looks at it for a couple of hours, but finding a person with the time to do so is probably not easy right now.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mindlord

Notices Two Things
Joined
Mar 10, 2006
Messages
1,790
Location
In a cave.
Website
Visit site
WizardStan said:
emil10001 said:
Also, alsamixer isn't working??? If ALSA works, then that should too. Right?
Alsamixer is just volume control.
The problem (as I understand it) is what happens when you have two audio sources that want to output at the same time. It's an "easy" problem (just add the two sources together) with a lot of difficult quirks that can get in the way. I would wager it's one of those problems that is easy to solve just as soon as someone with the right skill set sits down and looks at it for a couple of hours, but finding a person with the time to do so is probably not easy right now.
This problem is why PulseAudio exists in the first place. To my knowledge ALSA doesn't support source mixing. Once an application has control of the sound system it's it up to that program to play nice and do the mixing itself. Most games and applications do not do this, and thus hog the soundsystem.

PulseAudio plays the intermediary and allows programs not to have to worry about playing nice.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

droneb

Very Active Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2009
Messages
1,072
OMG, how many times this issue has been talked.

my opinion is just send em all with silkscreen if you dont like it wipe it off!

more people of the comunity would be happy.

if you dont like it just wipe it off.

btw i want mine with silkscreen. please?
 

WizardStan

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 24, 2008
Messages
16,733
mindlord said:
PulseAudio plays the intermediary and allows programs not to have to worry about playing nice.
Yes, but Pulse also brought a lot more to the table. It solves the one problem and then creates a giant mess of it's own. They (whomever it was that came up with Pulse) should have come out with some sort of Pulse compatible "miniPulse", something that does nothing but act as the intermediary, but is still input-compatible with Pulse. That would be swell.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

quote

dwarf shortage
Joined
Dec 20, 2007
Messages
2,078
Age
15
Location
Cave
Website
Visit site
What? OP are thinking of cancelling the silk screening?
Damn, I feel sorry for you guys!

:(
 

kingoddball

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
1,686
@ ED and OS Devs:

Why is there no hardware acceleration for movies?
You have had the device (dev boards, etc) for what.... Two years?


You said it works - but it's just odd that two years on and you have not got the hardware working for media (movies).
It's the DaVinci chip?

WIFI is more understandable, but the media side of things is a big seller.
 

lulzfish

Pandora Defense Squad
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
3,503
Website
troyanonymous.homelinux.com
I thought ALSA ran something called dmix that did mixing automatically?
To be honest, I don't know jack about their APIs but I've always had mixing on my ALSA setups.
 

MWeston

Internal Development
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
1,256
Location
Canada
Website
openpandora.ca
Some of you people need to stop shitting on the devs who have actually stuck around this project for two years taking time away from their wives, girlfriends and families to help out, not to mention any relaxation time away from their full time day jobs. All for free and for a few dev boards to play with...

There are accelerated media players in existence for OMAP3 already but I believe they use the DSP which is another major task of coding that hasn't been a priority. Once other things are stable and more customers who want to code get their units, perhaps these things will happen quickly.
 

urjaman

"I Know. We're going for a ride."
Joined
Jan 6, 2009
Messages
1,111
Age
30
Location
Finland
Website
urjaman.dy.fi
lulzfish said:
I thought ALSA ran something called dmix that did mixing automatically?
To be honest, I don't know jack about their APIs but I've always had mixing on my ALSA setups.
Yeah, but that doesnt come automagically == they need to setup dmix. Most recent PC audio hw can mix many sources of audio in hw, so that is rarely needed. I have a Gigabyte GA-6ZMA motherboard that has integrated audio that (a quirky one IMO) can mix two sources but no more, OTOH it has sliders PCM 1 and PCM 2 in alsamixer - allowing per-application tuning :p.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Bosbeetle

Terminally lost
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Messages
3,859
Age
39
Location
The Netherlands
Website
Visit site
MWeston said:
Some of you people need to stop shitting on the devs who have actually stuck around this project for two years taking time away from their wives, girlfriends and families to help out, not to mention any relaxation time away from their full time day jobs. All for free and for a few dev boards to play with...

^^ This

It is getting worse and worse here. I thought it was one of the nicest and politest forums around when I joined. And indeed people always seemed helpful and mostly ontopic. Now it seems to turn in to more and more into a race who can point out weaknesses of the project (nothing wrong with that) and then blaming somebody for it (really incredibly wrong from a community standpoint) Please stop blaming something, if you can help, offer it. If you can find sources that might be interesting please do. If you want to point fingers please point them at your self or at the off button of your PC.

It make me sad seeing this happening. And even more sad that I am probably part of it since I have nothing to contribute except a lot of interest in the project.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Pleng

Very Active Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
3,030
I dont know who MWeston is referring to but, to be honest, OP Are a company providing a device. The owner of a device expects a working OS.

Nobody as far as I can see is ****ing on the community; they're ****ing on the OP team for simply expecting other people to develop the OS for them. Support in OS development in an OS system should always be appreciated, but not expected - especially if you are a commercial company.
 
Top