Unofficial keyboard layout poll (bis)

comradekingu's proposal, see http://boards.openpandora.org/topic/17568-final-keyboard-layout-proposa

• I LOVE this layout

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Once the user sees AltGr shares the identical color print as the punctuation marks on the keyboard, they'll learn this AltGr key and that other key gives that symbol. For example, on my layout AltGr with letter s produces quotation marks, which is exactly as what's labeled on the s key. A cakewalk.   
This is a nice feature but does not logically support your use of the letter sequence "AltGr". And for the record, I have zero technical knowledge on this matter and have never seen AltGr before (that I recall).

It's a bit like saying I've got a "Storage" sign up over the restroom, but the little man/woman silhouette on the door should inform people properly that it is in fact a restroom. Those who can understand and are familiar with the letter sequence "storage" will be immediately confused, while those who cannot understand the sign (like non-English readers) may later ask where the storage room is when they mean restroom. Both have a high chance of figuring it out thanks to the picture, but that doesn't logically justify my use of the word "storage".

It may be that AltGr is an ambiguous or faulty convention, but I think it's important to state explicitly why the Pyra should deviate besides just "ED said so" (as much as we all do love him).

So can we please agree that the Pyra-specific modifier should not be called "AltGr"?
No. ED wants it AltGr. A vocal minority in these threads wants something else because of some standard they believe is being violated, and they are trying to rally others to their viewpoint.
I agree with _wb_ that the Pyra-specific modifier should NOT be called "AltGr".

Saber may call it a 'vocal minority', but from what I can tell, it is agreed by everyone who has created a keyboard layout but Saber that it should be called something other than AltGr.