1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Release UAE4All 2.0

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by john4p, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. john4p

    john4p Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Location:
    Germany
    More than a year ago an engineer with a lot of knowledge and experience with Amigas (and preceding Commodore computers) took AnotherGuest's UAE4All Symbian sources, our Pandora sources, some PocketUAE stuff and then added big new features (with help from Toni Wilen) to his enhanced Symbian version of UAE4All:


    - AGA support


    - harddisk support (HDFs and HD-directories) //<- I think AnotherGuest added this one first


    - 68020 support


    - memory settings


    Thanks a lot to AnotherGuest for sending me the sources of his Symbian version so its enhancements could be added to our Pandora version!


    According to the Symbian version's Readme the engineer who did most of the work wants to remain "Anonymous"...


    Grab the first release of UAE4All 2.0 now from the repo:


    http://repo.openpand...ail&app=uae4all


    Recommended setting for Amiga 1200 emulation: 2MB Chip-RAM, 2MB Fast-RAM, no Slow-RAM, CPU 68020, Chipset AGA, Kickstart 3.1 (512kB "kick31.rom"-file in pandora/appdata/uae4all/kickstarts/)


    Not tested yet, but since you navigate with the action buttons through directories another button had to be chosen for selecting a HD directory: press the L-key on your Pandora's keyboard to select a directory as HD-dir.


    Old config-files are incompatible - so delete pandora/appdata/uae4all/conf/*.conf


    Savestates might be broken (didn't test them yet though).


    Also setting CPU speed in the gui currently doesn't work - press the Pandora-button to minimize uae4all and use the system's cpu speed-slider instead to change speed.


    Default speed for this PND is now 800MHz which seems enough to play some AGA titles at 50fps (with no frameskip).


    Fixed a bug where last used dir wasn't loaded at next start.


    UAE4All 2.0 only works with FAME/C core. Cyclone and UAE core are not compatible.


    Thus UAE4All 2.0 replaces the old FAME/C release. The old Cyclone and UAE core releases are still available in this release (but they're still UAE4All 1.1 and won't see new features).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2012
  2. anexanhume

    anexanhume Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    412
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2012
  3. Ian J

    Ian J Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,412
    Just tried Team17 Arcade Pool AGA and it runs OK apart from the sound which is stretched / stuttered.


    Not a problem though as I'd rather have the game to play without sound than not at all.


    Very impressed, many thanks for this.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2012
  4. NoeleyC

    NoeleyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,348
    The sound issue is fixed for me, still getting the same slowdown on some games as before. Switching frame skip to 1 on Robocod makes it perfectly playable!(although trying to create a save state crashes straight back to the desktop!)


    Great work on this anyway, it's fantastic! :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2012
  5. Wrath Of Khan

    Wrath Of Khan Soul soother...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,870
    Location:
    Ireland
    Anyone want to try onescapee on this emu and see if it works? It's a good another world clone.
     
  6. Stainy

    Stainy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    UK
    Done.
     
  7. ShleeDragon

    ShleeDragon Pro-Catflip

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,749
    Excellent work. Superfrog seems to work well :)
     
  8. Wrath Of Khan

    Wrath Of Khan Soul soother...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,870
    Location:
    Ireland
    ^^^^Onescapee?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 13, 2012
  9. Ian J

    Ian J Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,412
    Pinball Illusions runs but is a bit sluggish even OC'd.


    Damn I want a 1Ghz machine.
     
  10. Stainy

    Stainy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    UK
    I only have an iso..
     
  11. Stainy

    Stainy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    UK
    Stunt Car Racer The New Tracks plays brilliantly...
     
  12. sparkymark79

    sparkymark79 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Can somebody please explain how the WHD hard drive games works with this. I have a whole bunch of them zipped up. Within the zip is folders containing the game data. What do I need to do to be able to play these games :(
     
  13. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,178
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    The New Tracks? What's that? an extension disk?
     
  14. NoeleyC

    NoeleyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,348
    it's an unoffical version with new track designs patched into it. I think it's also sometimes called the TNT edition (just in case you might possibly want to search for it using Google....)
     
  15. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,178
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    Is it as good as the original ?
     
  16. NoeleyC

    NoeleyC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,348
    I prefer the original tracks, but that might also be as they're the ones I played on my Amiga (and C64) back in the day! There's also supposed to be another version, with the original tracks, but with a faster framerate for higher processor Amigas, I'd be interested in seeing how that performs on this new UAE!
     
  17. Stainy

    Stainy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    UK
    http://hol.abime.net/2345
     
  18. john4p

    john4p Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Location:
    Germany
    OnEscapee is a CD game without a WHDLoad-install. But I've read it can be installed to HD. If the CD isn't needed for playing one could install the game using WinUAE to HD and then load this HD installed version in UAE4All.


    Superfrog and Stunt Car Racer TNT always worked flawlessly in UAE4All, but good to know they still do.

    I strongly advise to setup a harddisk in WinUAE.


    ClassicWorkbench greatly helps with the procedure: http://classicwb.abi...nstructions.htm


    You should download the FULL or LITE version (with others the fonts will be unreadable in UAE4All).


    Then all you need are Workbench 3.0 or 3.1 ADFs and you can setup your HD in WinUAE.


    The result will be an HDF which you can load as HD file in UAE4All.


    Additionally you will want to load a directory on your SD card as "HD dir" - there you can put your WHDLoad games into.


    The HD dir is loaded by pressing the L-key in the UAE4All load menu (because with the action buttons you navigate into directories).


    With the current version loading HD dirs is broken. In a couple of hours I'll upload a new version where this is fixed.


    Enough time to set up a new harddisk... ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 15, 2012
  19. john4p

    john4p Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Location:
    Germany
    New version up now:


    http://repo.openpand...ail&app=uae4all


    Changes:


    - fixed loading HDFs and HD-directories


    - added button-combinations [L]+Q and [R]+Q for leaving WHDLoad-games and returning to Workbench (Amiga key PrtScr/Numpad multiply)


    - moved floppy speed-setting to "more options"-menu to make space for:


    - added "preset system setup" for convenience to main menu:

    • "A500" sets cpu 68000, chipset OCS, 1MB Chip-RAM, KS 1.3
    • "A1200" sets cpu 68020, chipset AGA, 2MB Chip- and Fast-RAM, KS 3.1
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 14, 2012
  20. Stainy

    Stainy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    UK
    wow! thats great! especially the pre sets :) good job John..


    any news on save states?? ;)
     

Share This Page