Tests, tests, and more tests.

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Sep 15, 2018.

  1. vcoleiro1

    vcoleiro1 Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,332
    Well although the freezing issue is annoying, it's great to see the community coming together and helping with ideas.
     
    Djhg2000, jeeks, rSl and 6 others like this.
  2. Swordfish II

    Swordfish II Very Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    687
    Certainly sounds like a powersave issue. Modules/hardware loaded and trying to work without enough power freezes. Disabling the modules saves some power, but eventually some process needs more power then it gets and freeze.
     
    error likes this.
  3. Djoga'Ro

    Djoga'Ro moonstruck

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    672
    So, you're saying instead of a powersave issue it's more of a back-to-full-throttle issue?
     
  4. Xcl4m4t10n

    Xcl4m4t10n Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    So Pyra is now vaporware?
     
  5. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,792
    Who said that?
     
  6. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    9,768
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    You mentioned on the mailing list that the SoC gets quite hot while it's frozen, so it's almost certainly in a tight loop going round and round and doing nothing while stopping the SoC powering down at all. I don't think it's getting stuck in a low power mode, or receiving a dodgy clock that's stopped the pipelines triggering or anything like that, but it could still be preparing to powersave when it hits this loop.

    Actually, I don't know if a loop tight enough to fit in the top level cache will be sufficient to make the unit settle on a warm enough equilibrium to feel positively hot. So it might need to be a slightly larger loop that causes cache flushes, or gets some power hungry component within the SoC into some indeterminate state that churns current.
     
    Djhg2000, rSl and Swordfish II like this.
  7. ClockworkCoder

    ClockworkCoder Chaotic Neutral

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    Took me a couple of reads before I made sense of that! :p

    I wish I had more to offer in terms of useful input. I'm really impressed how hard people are working to resolve this. Times like this show how fantastic the community is here.
     
  8. PowerGod

    PowerGod Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,760
    Because it's like an endless stream of news !! And we can quench our thirst with it !! (...sorry, but I can only contribute with some spam :( )
     
    bennr01 and Swordfish II like this.
  9. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,792
    I wish I could help too, but I only know a small amount of C and Fortran, I'm no kernel developer.
     
    levi likes this.
  10. Wally

    Wally TrashyMG's worst nightmare Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,880
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Have you tried plugging it out/in again?
     
    ò.Ó, FBnil, Djhg2000 and 6 others like this.
  11. error

    error Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Dallas, TX, USA
    Once I called my ISP because my Internet connection was down. They asked me to reboot my computer. I politely informed them that none of my computers were turned on. They advised me to please power on a computer, so that I could reboot it.
     
    Drezrek, bzar, Djhg2000 and 12 others like this.
  12. Coupo

    Coupo Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    I like this typo :)
     
    Djhg2000, Djoga'Ro and ò.Ó like this.
  13. Djoga'Ro

    Djoga'Ro moonstruck

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    672
    How do power state changes work, anyway? Does the software issue a special instruction or write some specific value to a particular register and the SoC does the rest? Or does the software have to handle some management around it, too?
     
    Djhg2000 and bennr01 like this.
  14. AndiTheBest

    AndiTheBest Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Ried im Innkreis, Austria
    How do you check the kernel log when its freezing? Look at the logfiles, or is a serial port connected? A serial log may put out more infos before freeze than writing a logfile.
     
  15. bukkit

    bukkit Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    208
    That's sad, but it doesn't make your planned test (loading drivers, trying for 15 minutes) useless. You could still fence in one issue wit that method and reduce the problem's overall complexity.
     
  16. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    9,768
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    @AndiTheBest Serial console out over the microUSB2 charging/debug port, I think I've read.

    As far as I can tell, it's largely implementation dependent. The ARM core spec doesn't provide any commands to suspend anything or change the clock speed, but I guess TI have either implemented coprocessor instructions or a special location on the memory map that allows software to control this stuff. It's not like the i686 world where different suspend modes are implemented in the silicon, so you likely at least need to slow the clock, and bring various subsystems down from live. How much of that is implemented yet remains to be seen though; I remember Notaz got some extra hours of idle out from the Pandora by stopping powering the system's 5V rail (for USB power out mostly). As far as I remember during the OMAP3 days with the Pandora we got the dynamic clock through the ondemand governor, and everything else was coded by Notaz though, and it seems like linux these days is slightly more advanced at scaling things back when running on ARM boards out of the box.
     
    Djoga'Ro likes this.
  17. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,420
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    ...and it could be Tony found the reason. At least it seems to be working fine with his unit now - I'm waiting for Nikolaus to compile me the updated version so I can test it on my unit.
     
    error, jeeks, ò.Ó and 17 others like this.
  18. zedr0k

    zedr0k Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Germany
    ...keep my fingers crossed... great news

    Gesendet von meinem Aquaris M5 mit Tapatalk
     
  19. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,761
    And thus was the great crossing of fingers and the repeated pressing of F5 with pinkies such that fingers need not be uncrossed...
     
    erico, rSl, spud42 and 2 others like this.
  20. BeMoreViking

    BeMoreViking Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    USA
    Not sure I understand the post on the mailing list. Anybody know what "DLL timing" is, or what "disable internal DLL trick" means?
     

Share This Page

Loading...