Spot


___

Advanced Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,376
so basically... you are saying... it's running so fast that it blurs on the lcd screen of the gp2x? holy crap...
 

Tobriand

Very Active Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2002
Messages
4,071
Age
34
Location
Croydon (UK)
Website
Visit site
Sounds fantastic. Although I imagine the reason it might be blurring is because the BLU firmware underclocked a lot, iirc, didn't it?
 

Squidge

Certified Guru
Joined
Nov 16, 2003
Messages
8,495
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
I would imagine so, if anyone knows how fast the blu firmware runs, I'm all ears :)

There's no Dyanrec or JIT techniques used here. Just another MMU hack, Data abort exception handler, and running the Gp32 code completely native (which is currently interrupted 7,200 times a second to process i/o requests, LCD screen registers, LCD redrawing, etc...)
 

Squidge

Certified Guru
Joined
Nov 16, 2003
Messages
8,495
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
Dunno :(

Maybe the best thing would be to find that pllsetting program for the mmsp2? Then I could calculate what it should be running at in the emu.
 

critical

Certified Guru
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
666
Website
www.handheldhacker.com
Squidge said:
There's no Dyanrec or JIT techniques used here. Just another MMU hack, Data abort exception handler, and running the Gp32 code completely native (which is currently interrupted 7,200 times a second to process i/o requests, LCD screen registers, LCD redrawing, etc...)
Great stuff, squidge :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

shinneri

Certified Guru
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
2,393
Age
32
Location
Middle of Nowhere, USA
Website
www.gpnewbie.com
Vimacs said:
didnt the fw run at 40 or 66mhz?
I do recall it ran at 66mhz. For a short time when I was a GP32 newb I actually thought the GP32 HAD a 66mhz processor because that's what it "natively" ran at in the firmware.

Luckily, I haven't been a newb in a long time.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Vimacs

Don't be evil!
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
5,762
Age
33
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
well, the official developers thought so as well, thats why most of the official games run at the speed the fw sets :)
 

Squidge

Certified Guru
Joined
Nov 16, 2003
Messages
8,495
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
zodttd said:
See Spot run?
Unlikely, it's currently running on a different system (but arm based) simply because it was easier and no linux or other OS to get in the way (so it just runs on the hardware directly). It could be ported to the GP2X via HH or a Linux Kernel module, but I've just no motivation (or time, currently) to do that.

Maybe I'll port a later version later on in the year? Perhaps towards the end of summer?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

___

Advanced Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,376
yeah, that's a great idea. kernel module with open2x and there you go: gp2x with built in backwards compability!!!
 
Top