"Smach Z is Back!" ...?

Discussion in 'Everything else' started by kev_os, Jul 16, 2016.

  1. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,229
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    True, it's a skinny player holding the device close to the camera. Still big, but more of a shake-shoe than a skate-board I think,

    Also, I wonder what kind of vents this thing has for the sort of power budget that CPU has. That one vent at the back looks a little narrow and is likely to sound a bit noisy I reckon, especially if it's the only outlet this thing has.
     
    Nintendo likes this.
  2. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,746
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    Day 2 purchase!
     
    ClockworkCoder, NetBLOKS and levi like this.
  3. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,746
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    I'm just about to order the Ultra model, but then I noticed in FAQs it says..."RAM upgradable - up to 8GB", yet I'll be getting one with 16GB RAM. How's that possible?
     
  4. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,746
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    I hope Smach Z comes out in time for Christmas, because I wanna be able to play this thing during my Chrissy holidays :)
     
  5. JDTAY

    JDTAY Half Pepperoni, All Cheese

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Man, if the Smach Z still manages to come out after being blown out by GPD Win, I won't even need EvilDragon in order to have faith in the Pyra. Apparently, anything will come out if you just wait long enough.

    *starts holding breath on new Sega console*
     
  6. crazyhorse

    crazyhorse Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Its real!
     
    JDTAY, CommanderB and Nintendo like this.
  7. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,746
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
  8. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,229
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I see the unit has some fans already.
     
    Nintendo likes this.
  9. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,746
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    [​IMG]
     
    levi likes this.
  10. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,066
    Location:
    germany
    WHAT DID YOU SAY? I CAN'T HEAR YOU, THE FAN IS TO LOUD!... xD
    Really, that noise would annoy me within a second. And what a brick the Smach Z is, I remember the Atary Lynx well, I guess the battery runtime is also as low as the abysemal one from the Lynx.
     
    levi likes this.
  11. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,746
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
  12. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,746
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    Sekiro is shit, but The Witcher III is awesome :D

     
  13. vcoleiro1

    vcoleiro1 Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,559
    Reminds me , I need to get and try a steam controller. Still have never tried one
     
  14. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,746
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    Will take forever to get used to.
     
  15. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,229
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    70 minutes playtime at 25W max? People were complaining when the Lynx topped out at 4 hours.

    Still, remains to be seen what it'll do at a more moderate wattage, but that's not the most promising initial stat.
     
    Nintendo likes this.
  16. vcoleiro1

    vcoleiro1 Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,559
    I think Phawx said that when he removed 24GB of the 32GB it had, power draw dropped by 20W. So amount of RAM looks to be a huge factor. I don't think the standard model has anywhere near that amount of RAM
     
  17. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,746
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    Smach Z model(s)

    4GB RAM (Standard)

    8GB RAM (Pro)

    16GB RAM (Ultra)

    32GB RAM (Muthafucker)*



    * = Power killer
     
  18. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,229
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    True. Didn't he say in that video it had two sodimm slots? I guess if he had a couple of 4GB sodimm's floating about he could have swapped them in, assuming they need to be matched pairs.
     
  19. Nintendo

    Nintendo Nintendo Switch

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12,746
    Location:
    Melbourne, VICTORIA - AUSTRALIA
    I think he mentioned that the Smach Z had 2 x 16GB RAM?
     
  20. NetBLOKS

    NetBLOKS Finally on-board

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Cologne
    Didn`t he say, that he disabled SMP or 2 Cores and then the power consumption dropped by 20%?
     

Share This Page

Loading...