"Smach Z is Back!" ...?

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,490
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
True, it's a skinny player holding the device close to the camera. Still big, but more of a shake-shoe than a skate-board I think,

Also, I wonder what kind of vents this thing has for the sort of power budget that CPU has. That one vent at the back looks a little narrow and is likely to sound a bit noisy I reckon, especially if it's the only outlet this thing has.
 

JDTAY

Half Pepperoni, All Cheese
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
722
Age
32
Location
North Carolina, USA
Man, if the Smach Z still manages to come out after being blown out by GPD Win, I won't even need EvilDragon in order to have faith in the Pyra. Apparently, anything will come out if you just wait long enough.

*starts holding breath on new Sega console*
 

fusion_power

Advanced Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2005
Messages
13,046
Location
germany
Website
Visit site
I see the unit has some fans already.
WHAT DID YOU SAY? I CAN'T HEAR YOU, THE FAN IS TO LOUD!... xD
Really, that noise would annoy me within a second. And what a brick the Smach Z is, I remember the Atary Lynx well, I guess the battery runtime is also as low as the abysemal one from the Lynx.
 

vcoleiro1

Hardcore Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
4,564
Reminds me , I need to get and try a steam controller. Still have never tried one
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,490
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
70 minutes playtime at 25W max? People were complaining when the Lynx topped out at 4 hours.

Still, remains to be seen what it'll do at a more moderate wattage, but that's not the most promising initial stat.
 

vcoleiro1

Hardcore Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
4,564
70 minutes playtime at 25W max? People were complaining when the Lynx topped out at 4 hours.

Still, remains to be seen what it'll do at a more moderate wattage, but that's not the most promising initial stat.
I think Phawx said that when he removed 24GB of the 32GB it had, power draw dropped by 20W. So amount of RAM looks to be a huge factor. I don't think the standard model has anywhere near that amount of RAM
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,490
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
I think Phawx said that when he removed 24GB of the 32GB it had, power draw dropped by 20W. So amount of RAM looks to be a huge factor. I don't think the standard model has anywhere near that amount of RAM
True. Didn't he say in that video it had two sodimm slots? I guess if he had a couple of 4GB sodimm's floating about he could have swapped them in, assuming they need to be matched pairs.
 

NetBLOKS

Finally on-board
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
187
Location
Cologne
Website
www.netbloks.de
I think Phawx said that when he removed 24GB of the 32GB it had, power draw dropped by 20W. So amount of RAM looks to be a huge factor. I don't think the standard model has anywhere near that amount of RAM
Didn`t he say, that he disabled SMP or 2 Cores and then the power consumption dropped by 20%?
 
Top