Release REICAST - Dreamcast Emulator

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Dec 22, 2013.

  1. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,094
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I tried to play with the dynarec, adding a few more opcode. But I'm not sure I haven't broke anything in the process, so here is a alpha alpha version of reicast with my modif (I haven't notice improvement neither).

    Please test and report.

    reicast.pnd
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    I will take a look ! thanks PtitSeb for working hard on this :) (only "one hour" work?)
     
  3. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,094
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Yeah, almost. I'm at something like 8Hrs now, and I added thoses opcode to the dynarec:

    • cvt_i2f_n
    • cvt_i2f_z (same implementation for now)
    • mul_u16
    • mul_s16
    • mul_u64
    • mul_s64 (thoses 4 mul are quite similar in fact)
    • setpeq
    • shad
    • shld
    • sbc
    I spend most of the time on shad, shld and sbc, and I'm still not sure there are 100% correct (setpeq too).
     
  4. scorpio16v

    scorpio16v Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Works nice on Windows, but I highly prefer OS X. Is there any chance to get CHDMAN in a "ready for use version" for Mac ?
     
  5. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,380
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
    [​IMG]
     
  6. rohezal

    rohezal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,648
    Testreport:

    Good news: big speed improvements on the grandia 2 intro movie at rebirth  @ 950 mhz. was a slide show now it is a slow movie, it got at least 2 times faster.

    bad: 

    gamespeed in grandia 2 and gta2 decreased gta 2 got a small render error at the start church, one well gets sometimes invisible.
     
    itami likes this.
  7. MrBazil2k

    MrBazil2k Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    192
    Here is my testreport so far (will keep this post updated several times because I need more time) :

    Setup: 1200 Mhz - SGX 4.10 - SZ 1.60

    - Incoming : Fullspeed, a minor slowdown in scenario two phase 5, no sound stuttering, no graphical issues, stable

    - Expendable : Almost Fullspeed, no slowdowns, no sound stuttering, no graphical issues, stable

    - Trickstyle : is experiencing heavy graphical issues now, cannot even see the selected character, lvl design wont show up completely, only a part of the arena is visible in the far distance.

                        (switching back to old version from the repo resolved this.)

    - Silver : playable as before but still heavy sound stuttering if there are more than two 3 dimensional models (characters) shown.

    - Re-Volt : 70-80% gamespeed now (slower), no slowdowns anymore, sound is way better, BUT still no menus.

    - Dead or Alive 2 : 50-60% of gamespeed (slower), still heavy sound stuttering.

    - MDK 2 : Fullspeed, minor slowdown in huge places, still the sniper mode does not function correct due to a texture bug.

    - Rayman 2 : Fullspeed but I have missing textures sometimes, no sound issues

    P.S. so far I ve got the feeling that I experience less sound stuttering than before tho but sometimes slightly slower gameplay
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 29, 2013
  8. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,351
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Thanks ptitSeb.  Just tried this with Soul Calibur and noticed there's sound improvement.  Though still stuttering, I could hear players' voices clearly now which I couldn't before.  Speed seems to be faster too!

    I'm running mine on 1.0GHz with SGX4.10.

    Good job!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 29, 2013
  9. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,094
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Hum, ok. Thanks for that comprehensive report. I'll bake a new release with some slight adjustement for testing, if your are still up to that :)
     
  10. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,094
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    If you can test this new release and compare it the the previous alpha alpha :)

    reicast.pnd
     

    Attached Files:

  11. dgame

    dgame Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    937
    I don’t have access to a Mac to test it, but I found and attached (intel_osx_chdman0144.zip) an Intel Mac OSX build of chdman version 0144.


    You most likely have to have to use it from a command line like the Windows and Pandora versions of chdman I posted.

    $ ./chdman -createcd Skies1.gdi Skies1.chd

    Windows command line version (with explanation) here: http://boards.openpandora.org/topic/15211-reicast-dreamcast-emulator/?p=300943

    Pandora command line version version here: http://boards.openpandora.org/topic/15211-reicast-dreamcast-emulator/page-3#entry300979

    intel_osx_chdman0144.zip
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2016
  12. Abaddon666

    Abaddon666 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Hi ptitSeb,

    I've tested this release with D2 on my GHZ Pandora @1200MHz and the SGX4.10xxx driver. This new version seems to fix the crashes I've experienced with reicast on Pandora as well as on my Shield so far, so drkIIRaziel should definately have a look at your opcode-implementations. The crashes always happened during the very first cutscene by the time when Parker enters the cottage. Since the cutscenes cannot be skipped this made the whole game unplayable. It could also be that the speed has improved very little, but even if so it s stiil far from full speed (D2). So thanks a lot for your additions an I hope that the shield version will also profit from it.

    Edit: Ok, I could play a few minutes but noticed that I forgot to format the memcards and could not save. So I quit the game, formatted the memcards and tried again, but this time the games crashed again during the cutscene (like described above). I will try again though, maybe I can manage to get past this cutscene again and finally save,

    Edit: Well, I couldn't get past the cutscene again. Seems it was just by coincidence, too bad.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 29, 2013
  13. rohezal

    rohezal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,648
    offtopic: the old reicast version can play gta2 nicely lots of sound stutter but very playable. if you enjoyed it on the pc dont play the reduced playstation version, play the full game via reicast :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 29, 2013
  14. Ricardo

    Ricardo Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I got this error with chdman for mac on OS X 10.9:


    dyld: Library not loaded: @executable_path/../Frameworks/SDL.framework/Versions/A/SDL

    Maybe if I install this SDL from somewhere it works.

    But for now I am using WINE and its is working fine.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2016
  15. drkIIRaziel

    drkIIRaziel Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Yeah, these will def. speed boost movies and (some) games. I've mostly focused on fpu/mem performance, there are quite a few low hanging fruits for movies/intra linking and register allocation.

    Whee :)
     
  16. MarioPandio

    MarioPandio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Half way up the stair
    Your in luck. seems to run slightly underspeed, stutters in the intro movies/cut scenes but is rendered correctly and very playable.


    That's on a 1ghz with v2 or v3 builds and default or 4.10X driver respectively.


    Other titles that seem pretty good to me are :


    crazy taxi 1 (as number 2 is very slow.)


    Daytona USA


    mag force racing


    power stone 1 and 2 (speed fluctuates but certainly playable)


    legacy of kain SR (intros are very slow but in game is a playable speed)


    red dog superior firepower


    Sega bass fishing (rather slow but renders correct on 4.10)


    south park rally (playable speed)


    star wars episode1 racer (good speed but no sound or music in races)


    unreal tournament (slow but rendered well)


    zombie revenge (fairly playable speed)


    virtua tennis (slow and a bit glitchy)


    jet grind radio is a decent speed and sound but lots of graphical problems of the city.


    soldier of fortune (rendered well but is a total slideshow)


    I must have different formats or regions of Sega rally 2, rayman 2 and skies of arcadia as mine all just crash on starting.


    Others that just crash for now are :


    house of the dead


    Tokyo extreme racer 1 (number 2 plays but pretty slowly)


    vanishing point


    Hats off to the devs and all involved in this as its frankly amazing to see any of these titles


    on the Pandora and to have some of them playable is gob smacking. she is still quite the powerhouse and that's some brilliant coding.
     
  17. dgame

    dgame Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    937
    Tested both PNDs you posted today and they seem faster. The sound stuttering is slightly reduced. More sound effects can be heard than before.

    I was having a problem with the runscript.sh not remembering file names with spaces and not selecting the previous file as you intended. So I made a few changes to runscript.sh to allow it to handle spaces in file names and automatically select the previous file.

    The line changes are to 66, 69, 70, and 74. Here is the diff:

    runscript.diff


    --- runscript.sh 2013-12-27 09:48:24.000000000 -0500
    +++ runscript.sh 2013-12-29 17:27:00.000000000 -0500
    @@ -63,15 +63,15 @@
    OLDSELECT=""
    if [ -e home/.oldfile ];then
    CDFILE=`cat home/.oldfile`
    - OLDSELECT="--filename=\"$CDFILE\""
    + OLDSELECT=$(basename "${CDFILE}")
    fi

    - cd $(dirname ${CDFILE})
    - CDFILE=`zenity --file-selection $OLDSELECT --file-filter=" "*.cdi" "*.chd" "*.gdi" "*.iso" "`
    + cd "$(dirname "${CDFILE}")"
    + CDFILE=`zenity --file-selection --filename="$OLDSELECT" --file-filter=" "*.cdi" "*.chd" "*.gdi" "*.iso" "`
    case $? in
    0)
    echo "$CDFILE" selected.
    - echo "$CDFILE">home/.oldfile;;
    + echo "$CDFILE">$pwd/home/.oldfile;;
    1)
    echo "No file selected.";;
    -1)

    I attached the modified runscript.sh.txt. To test it  rename it to runscript.sh (remove the .txt extension) and put it in your  ...pandora/appdata/reicast folder

    EDIT: Replaced hard coded path to "/mnt/utmp/reicast' on line 74 with the $pwd variable.

    EDIT2: Line 69 should be: cd "$(dirname "${CDFILE}")"

    runscript.sh.txt
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 30, 2013
  18. calc84maniac

    calc84maniac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Hey, I don't know what method you used for shad and shld, but I came up with a nice method to emulate these in ARM once upon a time.

    For example, in the case of SHAD Rm,Rn:


    ANDS temp, Rm, #0x8000001F
    RSBMI temp, temp, #0x80000020
    MOVPL Rn, Rn, LSL temp
    MOVMI Rn, Rn, ASR temp
    For SHLD, of course, replace ASR with LSR.

    Edit: Trimmed the quote
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 30, 2013
  19. Saber

    Saber Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,303
  20. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,351
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Armada crashed on start.

    Haven't tried Project Justice.

    Shenmue used to start OK with graphical glitches.  With the new rev, it froze at Yokosuka screen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...