Quick update and summary

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    I have not yet heard about that. Generally it would be much easier for everyone to avoid out-of-tree drivers or file-systems because they may block upgrading to newer kernels with security fixes. So maybe someone knows details.
     
    pyrat likes this.
  2. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,181
    A standard button set up for applications should be put on vote soon to avoid the OP mess.
     
    directive0 likes this.
  3. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,852
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    As long as nobody designs software to use the A button, as happened for some early Pandora software we're fine IMO. Nobody would choose Y, the top button by default, and as long as they choose between B and X I don't mind which they use personally. I had a PS1 where Japanese games used O for yes while western games used X, and that's just the same.
     
  4. lukey

    lukey Rare Species

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    475
    Location:
    Germany
    AFAIK OverlayFS doesn't work with FAT32 SD-Cards.
     
    levi likes this.
  5. Zook

    Zook Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    While waiting for the Pyra preorder, I've started college, almost have my Associates, and am officially over 30 years old now as well.

    2 more months though and I'll have a Pyra.. and probably my BA.
     
  6. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,024
    I don't plan to use FAT anything on an internal card in a Pyra.
     
  7. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,005
    I think they want people with Windows PCs to be able to put the SD card in their computer to put media on it.
     
    Swordfish II and directive0 like this.
  8. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,852
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Yeah, but it also applies (or perhaps only applies, I've not considered the full eventualities yet) to removable cards inserted into your Pyra. People have and do use FAT32 cards on their Pandoras, and will likely do so on their Pyras too, probably mainly because they just bought a card and inserted it into their device, I guess. Whether you consider removable cards to be internal or external is debatable though.
     
  9. Zwerg01

    Zwerg01 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    64
    Check this forum again, when you have your PhD.
     
    ckblackm, ThinkPad, gunrock and 2 others like this.
  10. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    I have found such a hint (German Heise forum): https://www.heise.de/forum/c-t/Komm...n-und-Raspbian-Stretch/posting-30979477/show/
    So it appears that there is (was?) a limitation with FAT as "lowerdir". According to https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Overlay_filesystem or https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/filesystems/overlayfs.txt the "lowerdir" is the directory that is made read-only and overlaid by a writeable other directory.
    I do not really know details how PyraOS is using overlays, but would assume that in our case the "lowerdir" is the factory installed PyraOS in eMMC. And the "upperdir" are the files on the SD card that is inserted, so that files from the SD card appear in the correct locations of PyraOS but don't overwrite anything. This is opposite to that OverlayFS would not work with FAT SD cards becasue it would not be used as "lowerdir". It seems as if it would not work with FAT in eMMC.
    Maybe the PyraOS developers can clarify.
     
  11. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,852
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    The overlay is between the DBP (which is generally some kind of archive or an iso) and the appdata folder. The former is read only, so it might be workable, but they both originate from the sd card. The eMMC would only be used for loading shared libraries in the main.
     
  12. Splintercat

    Splintercat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    United States
    Just did some testing with overlayfs, in the hope that maybe NTFS or ExFat would support the needed features.
    Overlayfs refuses to mount Fat32 (Through vfat) filesystems even as a lower directory...
    It can mount exFat and NTFS filesystems as a lower directory, but cannot use them as upper directories...
    (Lower being read-only directories or devices, Upper being where changes are written back to..).

    So right now if you used OverlayFS on any of the common Windows filesystems you wouldn't be able to store things like config data for a pnd in the /media/SDCARD/pandora/APPDATA/APPNAME.

    There's probably some clever way you could deal with that issue, but if AUFS works it's probably the better call. Additionally AUFS appears to still be compatible with the latest Linux Kernels so I don't think it'll cause any potential upgrade problems, at least for a while.

    That all said.... I think Flatpack, or possibly Snapcraft could be worth looking into for packaging systems, or at least be worth studying for features for DBP to support...

    If I get really motivated about it, I will see about contributing to DBP and could research adding the option of it supporting OverlayFS mounts when the underlying filesystem can support it.
     
    FBnil, Farox, hns and 2 others like this.
  13. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,852
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    What would be the benefit of that? I can only forsee problems where developers are only testing using one technology and some users end up using something else. That already causes some problems, but I can see it being a lot more complex with their being more variables to consider. You could add it as a #defined configure option or something so that if we ever go down that route in the future, you've already done the work, but I wouldn't have it auto-deciding when aufs might be older and perhaps a little crufty, but does work for us.

    Thanks for testing out OverlayFS though. I'd have thought exfat would be the primary fat format in use today, what with everything being formatted that way when you get them, but it doesn't help to not support even relatively common filesystems.
     
  14. mclien

    mclien Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    Hannover
    Hmmm, so you dare to raise the wrath of fenfire?? I think that might not be very wise, but well it's your life :)
     
    Drezrek likes this.
  15. Swordfish II

    Swordfish II Very Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    746
    @EvilDragon

    It's been 20 days since the original post. Surely there must be an update on the new case manufacturer or how many prototypes have been made and sent out?... Devs can't get working without them and there are only 10-13 right?
     
    janvlug and Xcl4m4t10n like this.
  16. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,459
    All the major Devs have Prototypes already...
     
    docbroke likes this.
  17. docbroke

    docbroke Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    India
    Eagerly waiting for images/videos of new prototypes :p
     
  18. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,459
    they all have older prototypes, some have just internals from what I understand.
     
  19. Swordfish II

    Swordfish II Very Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    746
    So not the fully revised with the cases from form action....which was what i was asking about. ED mentioned mass production would not happen without test and eval of the latest
     
  20. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,024
    Agreed. When we last left off in the saga, @EvilDragon had to order up some stronger magnets for lid switch activation...

    I think he was pretty clear that he/we would like to see something of the new prototypes. Yes, the most important software devs have some early prototypes - some of them even have semi-functional cases on them. What we're all hitting F5 for in this thread is more news of the latest generation of prototypes - hopefully fully functional with shoulder buttons, etc... I.e. we're all sitting with our fingers crossed in hopes that this round of prototypes will be nearly the final step prior to mass production. It is an exciting time for the project.

    Sometimes lack of news can be more disturbing than bad news - though we're all hoping for good news. But - is there any new news?
     
    Djhg2000, Neelix, CommanderB and 2 others like this.

Share This Page

Loading...