We got a plan!

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,340
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I may be mistaken, but I thought someone told me that serial numbers can't be relied upon to tell you what production number you have.  I think it may have been when I was concerned about a hardware problem.  Tracking problems on certain runs is another reason to have serial numbers that actually match production.

    I don't care about a low number, just where it fits into the history of the product.
     
  2. Bosbeetle

    Bosbeetle Terminally lost

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,671
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well with the pandora it relatively transparant just look at the version number on the PCB :p  (I guess) 
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2015
  3. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,340
    Location:
    Everywhere
    That would not point to a specific run that had a bad batch of a particular component.  I will see if I can find the conversation.
     
  4. matzesu

    matzesu Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,897
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    Mi First Batch Pandora dosnt got a Sticker, but when i sendet it to evildragon, to swapp the Case to a Silver one, i got also a Sticker (and it says "First Batch")..

    So yes, i also expekt the Pyra to have such a sticker,,.., as it should be everything better than on the Pandora..
     
  5. FaeMinx

    FaeMinx Rainbow Liberation Instigation

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,103
    Location:
    outside looking in side looking out
    So annoying when my food complains.
     
    Tenka likes this.
  6. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,340
    Location:
    Everywhere
    All I would want is a different serial number per unit with the same sticker on all models.  Then you just need to know that all units after #1200 are a different revision without the motor, and after #1600 they have a place on the display board to add a camera, for example.  This does not prevent people from swapping parts, but that is always a possibility with anything.

    You can try...
     
  7. slaeshjag

    slaeshjag ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,687
    Location:
    ~Stockholm, Sweden
    This is a good reason to cook it first!
     
  8. Wrath Of Khan

    Wrath Of Khan Soul soother...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,139
    Location:
    Ireland
    Yes, a tiny usb camera could work fine for the Pyra. But is their software available to utilise it?

    I forget the details; are we using a debian os offshoot thingy for the Pyra?

    As such will camera software/functionality be automatically present or will it have to be ported?

    I'm now wondering how much of the hardware will be fully useable at launch. Bluetooth, bluetooth streaming, mic, motion sensor axis thingies, gyroscope etc.
     
  9. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,762
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    With usb webcams being almost as old as USB itself, I'd be surprised if the Pandora couldn't drive one running SZ, but I've not checked to be fair.
     
  10. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,661
    I've tried 4 different USB webcams on my Pandora, including a cheap piece-o-garbage, and they have all worked exactly as intended out of the box. All you need is mplayer, although any software with v4l support should work.
     
    Wrath Of Khan likes this.
  11. jabz

    jabz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Are you planning on making Pyra Models with no cellular radio?  I'd rather buy it at a cheaper price with no cellular radio and just tether via my smartphone.  Not many people here (NZ) have 2 mobile SIM's etc.. even if only for data.
     
  12. Jumpman

    Jumpman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,049
    Location:
    Sin City
    I believe the pricing discussed so far is actually for the bare bones model, and the one with the added features will cost more, but I may be wrong, as I haven't followed the details of Pyra all that closely.

    Chris
     
  13. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,340
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I don't remember the details of the price breakdown.  I do know that ED has said there will be a wifi only version with no cell module.
     
  14. Wrath Of Khan

    Wrath Of Khan Soul soother...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,139
    Location:
    Ireland
    Oh yes I thats right a wi-fi version and a cell version...hmm... I'm not sure which one to get. It might be nice to have the option of 4g if I decide to board that ship later.
     

Share This Page

Loading...