Not everything is as fast as planned

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Dec 11, 2015.

  1. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,380
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Who cares about the LCD, just ship the bottom half to me as I can hook my 1080P desktop LCD to it.  Ship me the top half later when everything is iron out with the rotation. :)
     
    FBnil likes this.
  2. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    The Rotator chip works fine and rotates, with X, you won't have any issues in its current state.


    However, as it's missing the sync, you would see a feint line on fast video animations, similar to the VSync issue the WIZ had at first (where there was a feint diagonal line when playing games) or any emulator that does not support VSync on the Pandora.


    The chip can be bypassed, so games using OpenGL can use the 3D chip to rotate the screen (so any of the Emu-EX emulators would work).


    So the problem is NOT that the chip doesn't work at all, it just has VSync lines until we get the sync working. The hardware is there and connected, but the software is missing.
     
  3. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,066
    Location:
    germany
    So, your goal is still to really make the chip work "global" under any circumstances, independent on what is runing onto the Pyra? Sounds good of course, good luck. It would surely be very efficient if the chip "just" rotates and the various software does not need to be adjusted to rotate their output.
     
  4. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)


    I think what people are worrying about here is that you may put the first Pyra on sale / shipping the first units  while not having this issue resolved yet. So can you confirm if you will delay the release of the Pyra in case the Vsync problem is not figured out, or ship them anyway expecting the problem to be solved later on ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 12, 2015
  5. comradekingu

    comradekingu Glowing ember

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,968
    Bypass and hardware accelerate, or run double the resolution with flipped RGB sub-pixel smoothing. You would only notice on batterylife, which if nobody told you it was supposed to be even better, wouldnt be a thing.


    Its an open handheld, as soon as the hardware is ready is when "delays" is just waiting for waiting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 12, 2015
  6. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Location:
    Ingolstadt


    What should a delay help here?


    There's nothing to be fixed in hardware.
     
    bubblebee, Cralex and comradekingu like this.
  7. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,225
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I'd personally like notaz's agreement that the system has access to all the signals (probably) needed.  I guess for that he'll need access to a proper prototype board set up and running first though.


    I'm a little confused by the problems this delay is causing.  Presumably the people you're talking about sending boards and cases separately to are the ~20 prototype users, not the ~200 preorder users.  That sounds like business as usual to me; prototype users can be expected to do something useful with just a board and a way to power it.  Retail users, less so.
     
  8. comradekingu

    comradekingu Glowing ember

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,968
    Prototype users also already paid for their hardware ;) Its not like they aren't each and all ecstatic anyhow. The best chance anything has at getting fixed is getting those units out.
     
    FaeMinx likes this.
  9. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,139


    The prototype pre-orders paid up front in full plus shipping.  


    It should be OK with a part injection molded and part 3d printed case.  I want to be able to fiddle with the device away from an antistatic workbench though, so some sort of case please?  It does not have to be art gallery quality, just functional.


    Rotator chip's software not working at prototype time isn't a big deal.  Sketchy software at prototype time is expected.


    I'm still looking forward to the first video from ED of a complete unit in a case running on battery.  That will be magical.
     
    Neelix, bubblebee and FaeMinx like this.
  10. Xcl4m4t10n

    Xcl4m4t10n Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089


    I knew most of that information but thank you for all the clarifications. What about the alternative LCD? I haven't read anything on the boards, maybe it is lose on some random post that I didn't saw.
     
  11. FaeMinx

    FaeMinx Rainbow Liberation Instigation

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,118
    Location:
    outside looking in side looking out
    That's the moment I'm waiting for...
     
    Farox likes this.
  12. LEOXD

    LEOXD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Denmark
    Landscape 5" LCDs are non-existent. So the rotator chip is needed no matter what LCD you use, unless you want to GPU-rotate everything like Android does.
     
  13. Xcl4m4t10n

    Xcl4m4t10n Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,089


    Ok, just saw some people talking about another LCD and was curious about that. Thanks for the explanation.
     
  14. Majin Wamu

    Majin Wamu Powered by Pixels

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Location:
    Somewhere
    That's alright. Stuff happens. This is to be expected. :) I still have faith in you!
     
  15. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)


    I'm taking about a delay in delivery, because of software not being ready yet to accommodate Vsync and ensure the first Pyra owners do not suffer from this ? It does not seem Notaz was very confident it could be fixed easily based on his post on this thread.
     
  16. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)


    How does the Smach Z approach this particular issue then ?
     
  17. Askarus

    Askarus Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,296
    Location:
    Germany


    Is it important?


    It's just an annoying line in some programs.


    I'd rather have my Pyra and play Games (some with a small line) and use all the other stuff instead of having nothing.


    A software update is not a big deal.
     
    eric and Link like this.
  18. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    It is well known what is technically needed http://projects.goldelico.com/p/gta04-kernel/issues/703/ . If someone wants to jump in to write this code, please contact me. Otherwise you have to wait until I find the time to do it (after finishing/fixing the pre-production issues which are currently of higher priority). It is not a matter of "if" it can be fixed, it is a matter of "when".
     
  19. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,913
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Which means the rotator is basically unusable in the video mode, I don't see how you can say it's not a fault of that chip. It could've provided some way to sync to the video stream but it does not. The only way to use it is the command mode, but OMAPs have no drivers for that (Nikolaus has another solution, see below, but I'm a bit skeptical).


    And it IS complicated to use, it's very picky on register programming sequence where you have to program tons of obscure parameters "right" for it to do anything at all.


    The clock sources are different. I've already experimented with that and failed, it's just always drifting away. Even if we could somehow find compatible multipliers/dividers to make it stable one one unit, it doesn't mean it will work on another. Hell, it might even start drifting when temperature conditions change.


    Nikolaus has a solution (see his link) but for me it still looks problematic to both implement now and to maintain later.


    I wouldn't be so certain but I'll trust you both on that...

    If there is nobody to work on that software update it is, don't you think?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 12, 2015
  20. Askarus

    Askarus Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,296
    Location:
    Germany


    Didn't mean it like that.


    I don't want to say it's easy to do but it wouldn't be a big deal for me.


    I'd rather hope for the update and have my Pyra than waiting.


    (Gaming is not main use for me. It's working, Music and hopefully Mobile Internet)


    (Quote messed up. Silly Editor. Can't handle it)
     

Share This Page

Loading...