Release Kodi (a.k.a XBMC)

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Mar 31, 2014.

  1. Trip

    Trip Sorry, but I suck at explaining stuff :P

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,671
    Location:
    The cesspit of the world, Bradford U.K
    Shame we can't make XBMC use an external player for streams. Maybe then we could down res the streams, implement buffering and even recording on the fly. It would probably just be easier to do the plugin though (unless there's a plugin that already allows that).
     
  2. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,380
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    Shame, DSP is in the Pandora but no one can unleash its power! :(
     
    PokeParadox likes this.
  3. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    It would never be real time if you expect the Pandora to do everything you say "on the fly".
     
  4. Trip

    Trip Sorry, but I suck at explaining stuff :P

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,671
    Location:
    The cesspit of the world, Bradford U.K
    Well no I suppose on the fly is the wrong term to use but a 30 second buffer or the ability to save it for later would be a bonus :)
     
  5. fayer3

    fayer3 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Austria
    I have a problem when closing the lid.

    when I reopen it the screen stays black.
     
  6. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,408
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Hum. That thing is always difficult to handle. Someone know what kind of (X11) message is send for close lid / open lid ?
     
  7. cuetzpalin

    cuetzpalin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Mexico City
    What are your lid close settings?
     
  8. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,225
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Hmm, I get that in FooBilliards. Wonder if there's some link.
     
  9. fayer3

    fayer3 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Austria
    turn off the screen
     
  10. cuetzpalin

    cuetzpalin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Mexico City
    What happens if you press any button?
     
  11. fayer3

    fayer3 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Austria
    screen stays black but the program reacts to the input.
     
  12. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,225
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Can you bring the screen back using the screen brightness controls (Fn+I)?


    When FooBilliards does this to me, I can't get the screen to come back on. Nor can I exit the game, using memorised keypresses, so it sounds different to what you have here.
     
  13. fayer3

    fayer3 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Austria
    the screen stays black when changing the brightness.

    i'm not sure if its possible to exit the program completely because when holding the pandora key to close it, i'm not able to shut down my pandora by holding the power key.
     
  14. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,225
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    You can't shut the Pandora down with the Pandora button. Best you can do is force a hard reboot by holding it down and sliding the power switch right, which is how I get out of the FooBilliards blank screen freeze.
     
  15. fayer3

    fayer3 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Austria
    no I meant I close xbmc by holding the pandora key.

    and if you hold the powerswitch for ca 5 seconds the pandora should shut down, but that doesn't work.
     
  16. _jr_

    _jr_ Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,170
    The black screen problem is reproducible with KAMI RETRO on my GHz and a newer SGX driver version than the preinstalled one. Haven't tried other games/apps because fscking my partitions sucks :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 27, 2014
  17. fayer3

    fayer3 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Austria
    ok i just tried it with the default sgx driver and there it woks normally.

    it seems to be a problem with the new drivers.
     
    Trip and levi like this.
  18. amyren

    amyren Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    I had the old xbmc installed and wasnt expecting to much when I updated to this version. 

    Now this is really amazing.

    On my Ghz pandora it seem to stream ok. I tried the NRK plugin, Icefilm, Youtube, and even tube8. They all work very well. I think NRK plays better under xbmc than it does in the gingerbread nrk app, or in the firefox browser. 

    Very good work.

    Is there any chance of getting that touchscreen fix?

    I notice that on the repo, this xbmc and the older one have the exact same title, making a bit confusing when searching for xbmc. I think this version should either replace the older one, or get a slightly different title.
     
  19. sebt3

    sebt3 homebrew player (P. & C.)

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,747
    Location:
    France
    Sorry for the inconveniance, I forgot to disable my buggy port. Done now
     
  20. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,408
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Ah, yes, will update soon...
     

Share This Page

Loading...