Release Blender

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Dec 18, 2012.

  1. whynodd

    whynodd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Thank you. Blender on pandora is a very nice experiment.

    I still hope for a native GLES-Port of the BlenderPlayer (this is basically Blender itself) so we could make a bunch of GLES-Games without too much programming. Someone here worked on it.

    Hey, ptitSeb, you could change one specific option in the preferences for your next release? [x] Emulate Numpad, so number buttons switch the perspective instead of layers.

    A small question: Where is Cycles in this new 2.65a-Release? ;) Just a joke...

    Nobody needs cycles on a handheld... But it would be very impressive:

    - "Hey, whazzzup! Ya know Blender?"

    - "Yup!"

    - "Know Cycles?"

    - "Yup. Its great but needs a beefy computer"

    - "I know, but take a look. I rendered a global illuminated architectural visualisation in my pocket while we had a beer!"

    - "Whngazzza..cool! pretty image but a the same time pretty useless ;)"

    - "True... True..."
     
  2. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,042
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Thanks for the comments.

    About the option, I'll take a look. But all can be setup with the Setup menu, and save config works (you may have to first "Maximize" the Blender Window to show the button Save), and even localization works (just switch it to french).

    For the GLES, I know, I tried to compile it, but no luck for now: blender finaly compiled but the windows flashs and then ... Segfault  :(  . And I can't link blenderplayer for now. I've made a break from blender and will come back to it later...

    For Cycles, I wanted to include it, but it needs OpenImageIO. This library is x86 only, there a few assembler procedure, I have to look at it. If there are just a few, I'll add Cycles next times, just for fun.
     
  3. lunixbochs

    lunixbochs Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    742
    I got it to *start* with my shim, but I'm missing glWritePixels and the GL_SELECT mode (which seems to be how the interface is used). I think I'd have more luck with the player than the editor.
     
  4. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,042
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Do you want blenderplayer to play with or you already compiled it? I dind't put it on PND because Player with Software rendering is just useless.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2013
  5. lunixbochs

    lunixbochs Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    742
    I'd love to play with it.
     
  6. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,042
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Here is the blenderplayer blenderplayer.zip.

    It is the version 2.65a, I assume it needs the same environment that blender to run (so python 3 and a bunch of libs)...

    Good luck, if you can hardware accelerate that, that will be great !
     

    Attached Files:

  7. D4damage

    D4damage Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Is there any hope for this being HW accelerated ?
     
  8. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,042
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I try to make it hardware accelerate from time to time. But no luck from now...
     
  9. D4damage

    D4damage Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Just read some of your updates in the "what software is missing" thread. It's a shame it won't work (yet) but props for your effort. It is appreciated.
     
  10. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,042
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    So, finaly, I have a build of blender that seems to works well enough on glshim.

    I added glRendeMode(GL_SELECT) to glshim, and now you can actually select things in the 3D View :)

    Note that multi-window is still not supported, so I commented out (in Blender code), the 2 functions that seems to spawn new window: "User Preference..." and "Duplicate Window". For User preference, it's still accessible by "mutating"(?) the main windows from 3DView to User Pref with the lower left Icon...

    Build 04

    ----------

    • Switched to Blender v2.68
    • Removed old Blender v2.49b
    • Hardware accelerated!

    Enjoy some real Blender on Go :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 10, 2014
    directive0 likes this.
  11. bluedeer

    bluedeer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Love the idea of Blender on the go! Wondering if you've ever gotten around to fiddling with an updated version. I've got a Rebirth with Firmware 1.9.7.3 R1.73, with the 4.10 SGX driver. Other than the UI artifacts as expected, I notice when I try going into user preferences, the font gets completely screwed up and then I can't read anything, as if it's expecting a font that doesn't exist properly and is just rendering blobs where letters are supposed to be. Been a while since we've seen an update, just poking curiosity, since I am amazed at how fast the 3d view is, which means this could actually be viable for some Blendering on the go with a few more tweaks!
     
  12. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,042
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Yeah, I had some isue with the options screen (it's in fact another window, with another GL context, and had issue sharing them). I had an updated build but with mostly the same issue but I'll try to update the pnd one day.
     
  13. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    718
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Just wanted to say I love this PND, I have been learning Blender and use the Pandora to view and share my files with colleagues. Great job!
     
    kuru likes this.
  14. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,042
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    New build on the repo. I haven't updated blender (but 2.76 seems to works, and 2.78 also), because I need to copy my code to avoid window (as the gl4es and LIBGL_FB=1 or 3 still doesn't like the multiple context it create).

    The fresh build seems to work fine.
    On 1st post, I also put a video of Blender on my gigahertz Pandora.

    Build 05
    ----------

    • Fresh build
    • Updated libs
    • Switched to gl4es
     
    canseco and ingoreis like this.
  15. ingoreis

    ingoreis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,008
    Location:
    49.491276,8.423518
  16. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,042
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Not with this blender engine. Yo Franky use Blender 2.49a version (based on Python 2), while this version use v2.68 (using Python 3). I need to dig out an old blenderplayer for that...
     
    ingoreis likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...