Release Fullspeed Amiga Emulation On Pandora!

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by EvilDragon, Sep 12, 2008.

  1. silver

    silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    It's definately going to be slower than uae4all.

    The question is whether it's fast enough as it is to be full speed. So when mk2 is slower - I assume you mean less than 100%.

    What settings, and what speed are you running?

    Bugs - lots of bug reports going to Gnostic on EAB, and he is generally killing them quick...
     
  2. Joshwaan2k

    Joshwaan2k Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Australia
    Default settings in the emulator. 600MHZ OC seems like it's running half speed.
     
  3. NickLoTurco

    NickLoTurco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    When I bought my Pandora, it was because I read from Craig that it could run Amiga games fullspeed "comfortably". I'm sense this isn't going to happen now? When I say full speed, I mean ALL games FULL speed.....I'm currently quite miffed that we're still using the GP2X emulator.
     
  4. silver

    silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    still? They have barely released the unit yet...

    It looks like almost all a500 games are full speed now with uae4all.

    50% speed does not tie up with Gnostic's comments above, nor the AGA video from ages ago, but it's all subjective so far.

    Puae is still WIP, although I don't think Gnostic is going to optimise it for specific hardware (i.e ARM).

    At least we have a modern port & source of the best Amiga emu....
     
  5. Joshwaan2k

    Joshwaan2k Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah it's early days, UAE4ALL does like Silver said runs pretty much all A500 games full speed and I love it :)

    Puae, yes is very early build first release cut the guys some slack it's nice for a first release it's got AGA support which UAE4ALL does not atm.

    Once it's tweaked a bit more it be sweat as. Patience people only 500 people have a Pandora and very few dev's have them.
     
  6. Pickle

    Pickle Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,449
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    hi guys, now that i think about it this morning there were some settings that Evildragon and I used to get better performance and I think the critical setting was a sound one.
    Maybe sound_stereo_mixing_delay

    If you dont find the setting in the gui look directly at the .uaerc file in the appdata/puae folder
     
  7. coevin

    coevin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    Hey guys just been using UAE and Playing batman, was wondering if there is a setting to get rid of the flickering background when you move.
     
  8. silver

    silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Do you mean sound_latency?

    sound_latency=x, default is 100 (ms)?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  9. mvickers03

    mvickers03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Manchester
    P-UAE is nice! would love to see better control customization, not a complaint but I can only configure joystick emulation to up, down, left, right, and right ctrl but we cant press right ctrl on Pandora only Left

    Its oh so close to full speed at 880Mhz on Turrican 2

    Just thought I'd add I was using Kick 3.1
     
  10. puppydee

    puppydee Linux Virgin!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Cool, another amiga emulator for the pandora, I could cry with happiness :)
     
  11. TitanUranus

    TitanUranus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Location:
    UK
    Try setting audio to 22050khz if you can... and maybe a frameskip might help. What CPU settings are you using? 68000 and kick3.1 or 68020 with kick3.1?

    Perhaps you could test with CPU 68000, OCS and kick 3.1 and let me know how speedy it is then please (with audio ar 22050khz). If that's useable (even with a frameskip) then setting up a virtual hard drive and loading games from it should make the gaming experience a lot more fun, I can guide you on how to do this if you want to PM me.
     
  12. Iorgy77

    Iorgy77 emu parasite kid

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,068
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Can the thread title be changed until someone actually does post a video of fullspeed amiga emulation?
     
  13. john4p

    john4p Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Location:
    Germany
    R-Trigger is Right Ctrl. So dpad + R as firebutton is the only sensible option PUAE currently provides for Pandora-users.

    But Turrican II already runs fullspeed (frameskip 0 and perfect sound) with UAE4All at the Pandora's default speed. The controls are also much better. Use the 2nd control method and autofire, then you have X to jump, A to single shoot, Y to activate autofire and B for powerlines (and transformation).
    Actually you can just leave autofire (push Y once) on all the time.
    You can still use single fire (hold single fire to use Turrican's laser beam) when you need it as it interrupts the autofire as long as you press it (A). Very comfortable.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  14. silver

    silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    174

    Aha, no you don't you do mean: sound_stereo_mixing_delay - default appears to be 0: sound_stereo_mixing_delay=0

    Can't find any documentation on this, so not sure what appropriate values are. Incidentally for anyone with a Pandora, other settings in the config file that are likely to impact speed:

    (I have no idea what is available in the GUI - below is an extract from a PUAE config file, with settings that should be reasonable fast unless I've missed something)


    Code:
    use_debugger=false
    floppy_speed=800
    sound_output=normal                     ; no need for exact
    sound_bits=16                           ; could try 8, but doubt it would speed up and may well sound worse.
    sound_channels=stereo
    sound_stereo_separation=7
    sound_stereo_mixing_delay=0             ; try 5? - found elsewhere on web...
    sound_frequency=22050                   ; can't see 44100 is needed on portable speakers/headphones?
    sound_interpol=none
    sound_adjust=0
    sound_latency=0				; used to have big impact in WinUAE years ago, no idea on this.
    cachesize=2048
    immediate_blits=true                    ; apparently faster than false
    ntsc=false
    chipset=aga
    collision_level=none                    ; often not needed I believe, though some games might.
    cpu_speed=max				; can also be integer 0-20. Asus EeePC users reported Max not best setting sometimes.
    cpu_type=68ec020
    cpu_compatible=false                    
    cpu_cycle_exact=false                   ; have a feeling some of these cpu settings apply to 68000 only, not the 020 variants.
    blitter_cycle_exact=false
    
    No idea how the gfx settings apply to the Pandora (if the do) as I have no idea how it's going gfx - so I've ignore them for now - but scaling/linedoubling is probably being done in software which is not great (?).

    Also from E-UAE docs:

    Code:
    finegrain_cpu_speed=<n> (default=N/A)
    
      This option adjusts the relative speeds of the CPU and custom chip
      emulations just like supplying an integer value in cpu_speed= does, but it
      allows a more precise setting of the balance. The value <n> corresponds to
      the value supplied in cpu_speed= multiplied by 512.
    
    Read a report that setting this to 2048 improved performance on a EeeePC, but sounds like it's same as cpu_speed.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  15. mvickers03

    mvickers03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Manchester
    Yeah your right :) I already tested UAE4all and is pretty good. just playing with PUAE, I try all of them out. I belive PUAE will be the Emulator to use when it's a little faster. With HDD support ETC
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015

Share This Page

Loading...