WIP Report: No known hardware issues, 30 days of uptime

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Nov 19, 2018.

  1. Xcl4m4t10n

    Xcl4m4t10n Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Hello @EvilDragon, any news regarding the cases? I am a little worried about no news on this topic.
     
    Swordfish II likes this.
  2. crazyhorse

    crazyhorse Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Have the 500 transparent cases been found?
     
    ClockworkCoder and Swordfish II like this.
  3. wdt

    wdt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Is it a "long" micro usb port? If it is only a "normal" port, it will NOT support usb3,,
    usb3 requires 4 more connectors, won't fit in a normal port (i mean micro port)
     
  4. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,857
    Yes it is
     
    Djhg2000, Grench and levi like this.
  5. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    I wanted anyway new hub and card reader because my old one are pretty old and therefore slower,
    So if Pyra can only give USB2, I’m also fine..
     
  6. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,857
    I know it has USB3, we've known that for ages. I'm sure it'll be fine!
     
  7. Askarus

    Askarus Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,217
    Location:
    Germany
    It has USB to e-SATA and a long micro USB 3 port.
     
  8. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    So all i need is a Micro USB 3 Adapter to connect the Micro USB 3 Port to the HUB, or i just use the normal sice USB 2 Port..
    This USB 3 HUB is Powerered whit a 10 Watt USB Charger, , so dos this mean i can use it to have 3 USB Ports and whit the 4th, i can power the Pyra ??
     
  9. ThinkPad

    ThinkPad Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Get yourself a USB 3.0 PCIe expansion card for your PC like this one:

     
    Kippykip likes this.
  10. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    My plan are to move the Music and Pictures over to Pyra, and then to store my Thinkpad somewhere save and use the Pyra for everything..
    Just my 24* TV, a Mouse and Keyboard on my Desktop, and the Pyra via HUB on everything connected..
    I don’t want to buy new Stuff for this Laptop
     
  11. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
  12. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,803
    We're talking GB not TB here right? Just copy the whole file set over WiFi. Might take an hour or two.
     
  13. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    So i make a Network whit my Pyra and the PC, and then copy via WiFi?? This could work..
     
  14. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,803
    Eventually someone will figure out how to configure a Pyra to be both a WiFi hotspot and server. I'm pretty sure it can happen, but maybe not ready at day 1?

    Or if you only have a wired network, you could get one of those USB to Ethernet adapters.

    All still hypothetical until there is a Pyra in your hands of course.
     
  15. NetBLOKS

    NetBLOKS Finally on-board

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Cologne
    Or just connect both to your home network, Pyra via Wifi and PC via cable and just copy over the XFCE smb connector.
    This should be the easiest way.
    For better speed, get a micro-USB3 B to A adapter and connect a USB Ethernet adapter to the Pyra for full gigabit speed.
     
  16. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    Or I make it my every evening routine to copy one interpreter per evening,
    Then I could test this on my SD Card on my Pandora....
     
  17. asimov-solensan

    asimov-solensan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    446
  18. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    Maybe one of my issues: some of my Music Files are still on Download Folder, some on other Folders, in fear it’s will crash my ITunes Library, i never moved they to a single Music Folder..
    i have to look in every folder..

    But well: this is something I have to figure out my own
     
  19. GizmoTheGreen

    GizmoTheGreen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    well there's your problem. lol!
     
  20. Swordfish II

    Swordfish II Very Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    702
    Sftp could do it
     
    Djhg2000 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...