WIP Report: No known hardware issues, 30 days of uptime

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Nov 19, 2018.

  1. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,440
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    It's more than time for a small update.
    There's not much to see - even though a lot is happening!

    Why is that?

    Well, right now, the main goals is to get all the hardware working so I can create an automatic testing card - which will not only test the units but also flash the OS onto the internal storage, etc.
    This tester is needed for the production run so GC can quickly and easily test all produced boards and make them ready for development.
    Also, with this tester, I can quickly find out whether the hardware still has issues or not.

    Some (good) news about the results about that can be found further down.

    Nikolaus did a great job getting all the hardware to work in the kernel and also code a large part of the testing routines.

    I'm using his routines to create the automated tester.
    Most of this is finished now!

    So while it's not much to see, it's VERY very important.

    Here are the tests already fully implemented in the tester:

    • All sensors (Barometer, Gyroscope, Accelerator, Compass, Temperature)
    • Both SD-Card Slots
    • The USB Port
    • Temperatures (Battery, CPU)
    • Battery Gauge
    • 4G / LTE Modem and GPS
    • Wifi (incl. Speed test)
    • Vibration
    • LCD
    • All LEDs
    • eMMC


    These are the tests that are implemented but need a bit more work:
    • Input tester (TILER rotation needs to be fixed) for all inputs (incl. touchscreen, nubs and lid-sensor)
    • Audio (this has just been fixed one or two days ago in the kernel)
    • USB OTG (need to figure out how to switch the SD-Card to mass-storage mode)
    • Bluetooth
    • Flashing the OS onto the eMMC (already manually tested, but need to implement it autoamtically)

    I hope I haven't forgotten anything, but that should be it!
    So yes, most of the tests are already working and testing the Pyra almost fully automatic - and the rest should be implemented pretty soon!
    I'm trying the best I can - but as I'm no coder, writing the scrits is a bit slower than it could be.

    I will do a video showing the test run incl. flashing the OS, as soon as it's finished.
    While it's anything but spectacular, it's a VERY important process :)



    What about hardware defects on the current revision?

    So far, none are known. Everything seems to work now, which we could now test thanks to the existing test scripts.

    notaz even did a burn-in test of a 4GB RAM unit with the DLL-Off patch: So far, it has been running over 30 days. Without reboot or being switched off.
    No crash, nothing.

    So it seems we're doing fine with that patch :)

    Each day working with it, it seems less likely that we need anymore hardware fixes.
    That's good, right?


    ... the cases?

    I'll have more news about that soon, but give me a bit more time sorting everything out here.



    EvilDragon in a live stream!

    Naaah, not another "Ask-ED"-Stream - not yet. I will do another one when I can finally show off stuff running nicely on the Pyra.

    And while this stream is more dedicated to new games on retro systems than the Pyra, some of you might be interested in it.

    I'm guest in the upcoming show #32 of RetroBlah:
    https://the.nag.zone/video/sendungen-formate/retroblah/

    It's a german internet-only retro-gaming show. It'll surely be fun, so be sure to tune in if you're interested (and understand German).


    That's it for today.
    See you soon!
     
    Tags:
    ObiKKa, Yorizuka, Ted and 50 others like this.
  2. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    9,948
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Of the boards you've been able to test thus far, how many have all features working? If few units have anything wrong with them that would suggest mass production at GC is simply a matter of pressing a few buttons to let everything run.

    Of course, since you've only just got this script partially together, I guess you've been spending time on that rather than manually running tests on boards, but I hope you'll let us know once you get a feel for this kind of stat.
     
  3. Coupo

    Coupo Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    This is realy great news! I have full confidece, that you guys will do it!
    Thanks also to notaz and Nikolaus and everybody who do there part of getting the Pyra of the ground.

    Keep up the good work and visit some christmas markets.
     
  4. Kippykip

    Kippykip BFG 9000

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    'STRAYA
    OH YES!!!
    503232133746393088.gif
     
    remjey and Drezrek like this.
  5. sebt3

    sebt3 homebrew player (P. & C.)

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,745
    Location:
    France
    probably the best update in years ;)
     
  6. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    So this means, mybe a bit more testing, and when the Keymat and the Cases arive, where are ready for massproduktion ??
    Sounds great as the Nubs on my Pandora are slowly starts to make whyred things,
     
  7. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    9,948
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Maybe, but maybe not. All we know is that ED's got a unit where almost everything looks good, and Notaz has a unit which can stay up for a day. This is brilliant news, but there are a few more steps needed before you can hit the button marked 'mass produce', possibly the main one being the case still not being quite right.

    Only now? Blimey!
     
  8. Stainy

    Stainy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,106
    Location:
    Born UK Living USA
    Great great news.

    Question. do these sensors come with the non phone version?
    • All sensors (Barometer, Gyroscope, Accelerator, Compass, Temperature)
     
  9. ashcloud

    ashcloud Lactose Intolerant Volcano

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    guru.awakes.dormant
    Yes, but you don't get GPS Sorry, that was wrong :(
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2018
    Stainy likes this.
  10. Blue Shadow

    Blue Shadow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    122
    Not just a day, a whole month. Of course there are more tests to be done, but that seems pretty significant imho.
     
    error and Djhg2000 like this.
  11. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    It’s since mybe August, but i didn’t bother much as i can still play Super Mario Land ^^
     
    levi likes this.
  12. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    9,948
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Good point. When I'm in quoting mode, the title crops to ending with 'hardware issues, 30...ime' for me, which I assumed was 30 hours. I'd forgotten, but you're right, it's been up for longer than a month (providing that month is February)
     
  13. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,803
    I vote that in 10 days we completely derail this thread to develop a community definition of, "whyred".

    THAT is an awesome word, potentially containing far more meaning than weird, strange, wonky, etc.
     
    rSl, CommanderB and den Tim like this.
  14. gunrock

    gunrock Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    486
    Poor @matzesu - English isn't his first language, but as an Englishman living in nearby Denmark, I guess he means 'worn' as in 'worn out'. Things wear out, so I think he tried to put 'wear' in the past tense and with bad spelling of 'wear' instead of 'weared' he got 'whyred'.
     
  15. codifies

    codifies Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    357
    Can't happen soon enough my trusty Nexus 7 died recently... :eek:
     
  16. matzesu

    matzesu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    No I exactly meant „weird“
    When I use the nub in mouse mode, the cursor gets forced to the screen corner
     
  17. A2000

    A2000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Fantastic news. Time to look for accessories!
    Looks like SD cards are comparable cheap these days. What speed (IOPS) do I need? Sandisk Ultra, Extreme or ExtremePro?
     
  18. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,803
    Yup - I know that English is not his first language. He accidentally invented a great word - which I find excellent! I was not intending to tease.

    Which is why the word/spelling you accidentally chose is so amazing - I knew near to exact what you meant. "weird" is so mundane and generic - it can mean a wide variety of intentional or unintentional variations in anything. "whyred" implies so much more information - less predictable, less intentional, more wonky, further out on the unintentionally "weird" continuum.

    Still too early to derail a news thread for this though - wait another 9+ days?
     
    Djhg2000, Akko, rSl and 1 other person like this.
  19. ible

    ible Advanced Guard Tower

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,081
    Location:
    Thrice in CA, twice in ND, once in the NL
    why red,

    some other canned color?

    so mother can't color?

    my wife is not hopeful on the timeline, but i'm excited about the potential next year. good work everyone!
     
  20. Wally

    Wally I am a banana! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,897
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    It really depends on what you're planning on doing with these SD cards. I think any Class 10 cards will be fine, you can probably ignore any marketing material!

    I have 2 Kingston 512GB cards which one is already in my Pandora and is working nicely. on there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...