1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

We've started to order things!

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Feb 16, 2017.

  1. AVahne

    AVahne Handheld-obsessed

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Texas
    Wrath Of Khan likes this.
  2. directive0

    directive0 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    At this point I think any kind of hardware change or substitution -barring a real technical error or some kind of problem- is unrealistic. 'We're' nearing the final board layout for production aren't 'we'? It would be a bad time to start adding or removing features IMO.
     
  3. mecksg1

    mecksg1 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    ok now i just wait till the auction of the prototypes and im a happy camper
     
    rygD and ClockworkCoder like this.
  4. CrazyIvan

    CrazyIvan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Of course it does, almost every other DAC does the same. It provides typical smartphone power level which is good for typical 16-20 Ohm headphones.
    Additional amplification is needed for higher impedance headphones and quality headphones are usually in that category.
     
  5. mecksg1

    mecksg1 Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    maybe when they do the 1st board upgrade when the pyra takes off they will look that. i also would love the usb-c also, but i can wait for it
     
  6. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,008
    Actually looking at the specs of the headphone amplifier in the Pandora vs the Pyra they're practically the same in terms of driving capabilities.

    Pandora - http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/tpa6110a2.pdf
    Pyra - http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/twl6040.pdf
     
  7. Svekkus

    Svekkus Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Leuven, Belgium
    Yes but those mainly use the big jacks unlike 'smartphone headphones', so you cant insert those anyway. Convertors are available but imo the soundquality that is produced with or wihout amp won't really be up to par for quality headphones.
     
  8. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,163
    Maybe I'm not interpreting it right, but from what I see there:
    6110a2 is 150mW stereo. i.e. 75mW per channel.
    6040 is 1.5W per channel

    So is the 6040 a 20X more powerful amp, or what am I interpreting wrong?

    Edit: To double audio volume requires 10X more amplification. So, one would not be 20X louder than the other, more like double and a bit louder. Overall volume does not denote quality, but more powerful amplification tends to maintain the cross frequency sound load with fewer artifacts or distortions.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
    lukey likes this.
  9. slaeshjag

    slaeshjag ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,666
    Location:
    ~Stockholm, Sweden
    The 1.5 Watt rating is for the speaker out. No sane amplifier would ever pump 1.5 Watt into ordinary headphones.
     
  10. zmatt

    zmatt Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Yo Tony! What brought you here?

    It does run in LPAE, but with 2GB still so far. The other half is still having a bit of a fight with the init since it's dual-rank, so not much examples around, and the ram init code in u-boot is... not very transparent, especially since TI is using undocumented PHY registers there I haven't actually even managed to find yet where it's setting certain registers, but when I inspected them they turned out to contain nonsentical values for the second rank.

    Note that the sort of situation the kernel gets (with a large part not accessible by other initiators) can of course already be tested with 2GB ram: just tell the kernel it has two ranges:
    • 0'800'00'000 - 0'BFF'FF'FFF (1 GB)
    • 2'C00'00'000 - 2'FFF'FF'FFF (1 GB)
     
    levi and rSl like this.
  11. Swordfish II

    Swordfish II Very Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    573
    If he has preordered maybe his preorder should be cancelled to prevent all this stress he has.
     
    Creature XL, jeeks, FBnil and 5 others like this.
  12. CrazyIvan

    CrazyIvan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Well, twl6040 spec isn't as detailed but if 'capability' really means the ability to provide such power for long term usage then yes, they're somewhat close.
    The problem is that twl6040 was used in Galaxy Nexus and that phone didn't look like a great headphone driver.

    There are lots of cans around 100 Ohm with the usual 3.5 mm jack. Just look at the 'better than average' category.
     
  13. vcoleiro1

    vcoleiro1 Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,021
    I'm still concerned at how close the bottom of the dpad and the X button are to the keyboard keys. I have large thumbs, I can see myself accidentally hitting a key when going for d-pad down or the X button.
    I know ED said this was a real issue when doing early tests and was looking to address the issue. I think ED said he was adjusting the height of the keys/ buttons to address it. I'm wondering if there still is an issue there?


    1. [​IMG]
     
    FBnil, Kippykip, rygD and 1 other person like this.
  14. tmlind

    tmlind Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Hi, I've been lurking for quite some time, your post got me curious enough to register! Just in case this might help.. I assume you are aware that igepv5 works with LPAE and 4GB with just kernel command line:

    mem=2032M@0x80000000 mem=2048M@0x300000000

    And I think there's the second cpu startup loop and whatever other boot rom stuff is at the 2032-2048 so maybe it needs to be preserved for pyra too? No idea if that contains any DDR init related code, but possibly. Anyways maybe also check the extra patches igepv5 u-boot git tree at git://git.isee.biz/pub/scm/u-boot-arm.git, you can grep for IGEPv5_MEMORY_4G if you did not do that already. Also n-tuple-check the pin muxing for cke1 and ncs1..
     
    Farox, Link, FBnil and 6 others like this.
  15. elvissteinjr

    elvissteinjr Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Location:
    Germany
    Somewhat outdated Gamescom 2016 experience here, but it was essentially a non-issue for me. I think the action buttons stopped at a height before you'd even push down keyboard keys.
    But as I said old-ish experience, so don't quote me on it. The keyboard keys themselves were a bit harder to push. Not sure if the case part was lowered or the keys are higher as of now, though.


    Something what I'd rather want to know: What happened to the heat spreading solution? I know it's supposed to be a simple thing, but has any work towards that been done yet?
     
    rygD likes this.
  16. sm0kew0n

    sm0kew0n Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Earth
    Yeah! Do that!

    Thank you people who know more than me. 2 Months coming up.....
     
    NetBLOKS and FBnil like this.
  17. vcoleiro1

    vcoleiro1 Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,021
    That's something I'd like to know also, ie what is the cooling solution going into the Pyra?. Is there any?
     
  18. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,858
    Should be a kind of "magic" paper which helps to spread the heat across the device.
    Some components may also help, like eh SD metal cage.
     
  19. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,008
    It's essentially just dumping the heat into the ground plane of the main PCB.
     
  20. FBnil

    FBnil ¡sɥʇuoɯ oʍʇ uı ɐɹʎԀ

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Yurp
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/why-do-sloths-hang-upside-down-9287482.html

    See? It's not that weird...
    --- Double Post Merged, Feb 18, 2017, Original Post Date: Feb 18, 2017 ---
    Well... knowledge is just a search away: the concept of MUX and one of the pins of the CPU is called cke1 is here for Pandora.

    Of course... I know less than you in these matters. I just nod and smile. It makes me look intelligent.

    So if I read "u-boot-arm.git / blob". I know what an U-boat is. And git is certainly a typo so you have arm.pit which is a nasty concept. blob is of course a movie... or another typo for byob (bring your own beer)

    anyways: nod and smile...
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2017

Share This Page

Loading...