Psx4gp2x Beta Testers Thread

Butchke

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
28
Oh it's good to know.
Your results are not bad - and if that's with the old beta then I can hardly wait for the new release...
 

Pickle

Mega GP Mania
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
5,453
Location
Detroit, Michigan
Website
Visit site
I wanted to add that FF origins worked on the last beta release. I think it was in 20's for frame rate. It was playable, but im waiting for a newer version before I put time into it.
 

kevcal

Coding " Abduction;Retrieval "
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
836
Age
52
Location
Southern England
Website
homepage.ntlworld.com
I wanted to add that FF origins worked on the last beta release. I think it was in 20's for frame rate. It was playable, but im waiting for a newer version before I put time into it.
Only tried Soul Blade so far and found I could only select the cue file not the bin - said load success and went black - guess I really dunno what I'm doing! ;)
Will wait for beta release and test everything my son has (30+ games) that others don't appear to.. :)

Kev
 
Last edited by a moderator:

X-Code

Beermaster
Joined
Jun 24, 2006
Messages
805
Location
Texas - Spain
Website
www.bitmaniacs.com
Hmm, it should let you load the BIN, ISO, IMG, etc... Images, forget the CUE, CCD, TOC, etc... Files.

Try ripping the CD again ( RAW ), and make sure that the PSX Bios file ( Scph1001.bin ) is in your SD card.
 

kevcal

Coding " Abduction;Retrieval "
Joined
Jun 14, 2006
Messages
836
Age
52
Location
Southern England
Website
homepage.ntlworld.com
Hmm, it should let you load the BIN, ISO, IMG, etc... Images, forget the CUE, CCD, TOC, etc... Files.

Try ripping the CD again ( RAW ), and make sure that the PSX Bios file ( Scph1001.bin ) is in your SD card.
Hmm... Just had another look...
Here's a snapshot of what's in the directory when I use the 2x explorer -
sstates/
mcd001.mcr
mcd002.mcr
psx4all.gpe
scph1001.bin
soulblade.cue

ie no soulblade.bin(!) - I am a complete idiot --
I reckon when I copied it on it had got cached and I ejected too soon. Sorry.
Am copying it on now and will try it immediately..

Kev


EDIT -
Have turned off caching of the SD(!).

Oooh it worked :D - amazing how helpful having the bin file is.
It's rather impressive actually - although slow of course -
Clock=240
Intro video - vsyncr ate 16, FR=5
Menu very 'scanlined' - VS=4, FR=4
Ingame VS=13, FR=2
Hehe - wot fun! Strangely fun - I need a few beers to get in-phase with it I think.
Will look at options to improve image now - thanks a lot x-code!

EDIT2: Heh - turned interlacing off - looked hugely better - then batteries died - typical!
Another go tomorrow then.

Kev
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Crazy Goat

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2006
Messages
199
Last edited by a moderator:

trixom

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
30
Any chance this the release will be out in the next four hours, going on a business trip... :(
 

banner88

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 17, 2006
Messages
33
Age
31
Location
Sydney
Website
Visit site
I am going on a trip next tuesday. I have already sacrificed ample amounts of lesser life forms in hope of a new version being out by then.
 

X-Code

Beermaster
Joined
Jun 24, 2006
Messages
805
Location
Texas - Spain
Website
www.bitmaniacs.com
I know that this is probably the most tested game so far, but I need my own reference point :)


FINAL FANTASY TACTICS NTSC ( BIN ) :

OC : 250
VSYNC : Intro between 17 / 25 , main menu 16, Ingame ( dialogues in monastery prior to first battle ) 10 / 22
FPS : Intro between 4 / 9, main menu 16, Ingame ( dialogues in monastery prior to first battle ) 8 / 22 ( corrupt graphics at initial rainfall, it corrects itself after a second or two, slight distortion in dialogue boxes )... Slow grainy text output in some areas and in dialogue boxes.
INTERLACE : 0
PROGRESSIVE : OFF
UC_PSX : No changes

Game is working quite nicely considering all B) .

Next ones that I'll be testing over the next couple of days are :

G-Police 2
Parasite Eve I & II
Syphon Filter I
Hogs Of War ( Borrowing it :lol: don't get any weird ideas ).
Ridge Racer I
 

Shaun

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
278
Age
31
Location
United Kingdom
Website
www.shauncollier.com
*dies waiting for new release*

Maaan, waiting SUCKS. ;) I tried FFVII on the current release (arrived from Amazon) and it crashes either on the FMV intro or before Cloud gets off the train. I haven't managed to try FFVIII again.
 

kajuberdut

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
16
Hi, my first post ever, been shadowing these boards for 2 weeks now. I bought a GP2X for this new release of PSX4GP2X, its due to arrive today or tomorrow gp32_console , so I think the timing is perfect. :D
 
Top