Psx4gp2x V0.1.2 Test 1 - Playstation 1 Emulator For Gp2x

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by zodttd, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. Rivroner

    Rivroner Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,106
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  2. quadomatic

    quadomatic DingooWiki Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,233
    Location:
    Chicago, IL - USA
  3. lobski

    lobski Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Can someone make a video of Red Alert with the latest release...?
     
  4. cowai

    cowai hellolo.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    462
    Location:
    Norway,
    In what state is is yapse4all, zodttd/hlide? Is it portable?
     
  5. iCeD00D

    iCeD00D Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Just tried Rayman and I get stuck at "loading bios' ... guess i need to FIND a good bios file that works.... :) ....
     
  6. sbock

    sbock Chaos is our mode and modus

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,387
    Location:
    Germany
    Try to change PSX Cycle or Clock at this point. Sometimes this helps to get farther...

    Regards,
    Stephan
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  7. Diplomat

    Diplomat Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Hey im brand new (got an F200 at xmas) and have been playin with this psx4all thingy for awile now. Just wanted to say BIG THANKS ZOD and im happy to test, will post some readouts from some games people havnt tried yet.
     
  8. iCeD00D

    iCeD00D Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    sbock -- Tks .. Just tried changing the clock cycle in the app to 250 and still stuck.. also tried in G2menu as well with no luck .. Tks though..
     
  9. HeXy

    HeXy Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Just tested Gex on the new build, 250Mhz ram timings on, interlace 1 frameskip 3/5 cycle 2 clock 20% and its fabulous! the sound is much better, as well as the ingame speed (especially if you press the L trigger to run).

    Brilliant job Zodttd :D Gonna test FFVII later this evening, really looking forward to seeing what this can do :)
     
  10. iCeD00D

    iCeD00D Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Hey Hexy .. what build are you using and can you provide me a link to the build? I'm testing v0.1.2 test 3 and i don't have the cycle or clock settings... tks..
     
  11. Amon_Re

    Amon_Re Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    428
    Newest version works with Tales of Phantasia, however, it's very slow :(
     
  12. quadomatic

    quadomatic DingooWiki Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,233
    Location:
    Chicago, IL - USA
    There's a good chance that the problem isn't your bios file.

    Is your rip of Rayman in a raw image format? I had that problem too, even when I ripped to bin/cue and iso. Try ripping a .img with CloneCD and see how that works out.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  13. iCeD00D

    iCeD00D Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks quad.. i'll try that.. also can you tell me how or where i can change the PSX Cycle and PSX Clock ?? I can not find it anywhere in the menus....
    oh and the file was a .bin until I used PocketISO which only got the file down %18 of its orginal form.... I'll try the regular .bin when I get home but i"d still like to know about the cycle and clock functions everyone keeps talking about.. tks
     
  14. quadomatic

    quadomatic DingooWiki Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,233
    Location:
    Chicago, IL - USA
    http://www.zodttd.com/psx4gp2x/psx4gp2x_0_2_0_t1.zip

    That's the latest build.

    I'll try to keep the psx4gp2x page on the gp2x wiki updated so that it will be easier to find the newest build.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  15. HeXy

    HeXy Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    32
    Hiya iCeD00D, im using http://www.zodttd.com/psx4gp2x/psx4gp2x_0_2_0_t1.zip - the clock and cycle settings can only be adjusted once you have loaded a game (after the "loading bios" message). You just need to hold down L then press + or - volume or R then + or - volume (one alters clock speed, other alters cycle).

    Good luck!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  16. quadomatic

    quadomatic DingooWiki Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,233
    Location:
    Chicago, IL - USA
    Right Trigger + Vol up/down: Change PSX CLOCK

    Left Trigger + Vol up/down: Change PSX CYCLE

    PSX Cycle at 1.1 and PSX Clock at 25% makes some games run pretty good, like Resident Evil and Final Fantasy VII. Zodttd said that PSX CLOCK at 20% and PSX CYCLE at 4 or 6 works pretty good as well.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  17. iCeD00D

    iCeD00D Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Man tks guys for the reply... Guess I'll have to get a 'solid' image in order to test this puppy out..... And tks for the link .. I just tried it again, and could not get past the "loading bios" screen... no biggie.. TG for 2GB SD cards ;) ... I'll let you know how it turns out.... tks again about the PSX clock and cycle.. its good to know those lil things ;) ..

    Edit
    Ok tard alert!! :p ..... when i got home, I tried using ISObuster to 'convert' the mdf file to a compatiable file.. but for the life of me, I cant find out how to do this. If someone would be so kind as to point me in the right direction as how to do this, that would be great... thanks in advance.. <cracks open ANOTHER beer> .. :)
     
  18. quadomatic

    quadomatic DingooWiki Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,233
    Location:
    Chicago, IL - USA
    Go ahead and see if PSX4GP2X is able to open the mdf. If not, rip the disc using Alcohol 120% in playstation format or to .img using CloneCD. I really don't know how to convert disc images properly. I've never gotten it to work.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2015
  19. iCeD00D

    iCeD00D Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Tks Quad .. i'll give it a shot...
     
  20. yaKC

    yaKC Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Nr Newcastle, England
    Tony Hawks Pro Skater 2 is quite playable on the old version from last July.

    Using PSX Cycle at 2.0 and PSX Clock at 125%, Interlace on 1 and frameskip off, 266 Mhz
    I get between 6 and 10 fps with the game engine running about 2/3 fullspeed :)

    On the new test versions however it is slower :( It's hard to tell how much or even to
    tweak very well, as the real framerate indicator no longer tells the true actual framerate, so
    when tweaking you don't know if it's getting better or worse.


    Thanks a lot Zodtt for this amazing emulator, never thought I'd be playing Hawks
    when I got my F200 :D Good luck with continuing your work !

    ---------------

    edit. Crash Bandicoot Collection seems to run faster than in last July's build :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...