Psx4gp2x Beta Testers Thread


Vimacs

Don't be evil!
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
5,762
Age
34
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
great news zodttd, i wonder how much speed there is,
recently it sounds like there is lot of potetial laying in the "hardware decoder" of the gp2x as well, maybe this could give a good speed incrase when its understood in the future.
Hows the dynarec processing?
 

zodttd

Solving your premature emulation since the Tapwave
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
1,167
Website
www.zodttd.com
Can someone explain HH to me? I'm a little behind on it's advancement as well. How would I go about implementing HH for psx4gp2x? What does it offer? :)

Thanks.
 

PSyMastR

\m/O__O\m/
Joined
Sep 14, 2005
Messages
2,968
Website
Visit site
HH is basically Hardcore Homebrew. Its using the gp2x, without linux running in the background. Directly accessing the hardware. So far it offers a lot, goto the dev sections of this site, or the dev irc channel to see.
 

Vimacs

Don't be evil!
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
5,762
Age
34
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
*cleaned topic from offtopic stuff*
sdk2x (or hh as spiv calls it) is basicialy a sdk to run software on the raw harware, it allso fetures a "trampoline" app that throws your code onto raw hardware from within linux (killing linux).
It will/does also feture advanced hardware stuff.
However it is not completed yet and some important things are missing, like audio and filesystem.
Disclaimer: This post may be partialy or completely bullshite, lets wait for someone with a clue to explain the current state accurately.
 

Squidge

Certified Guru
Joined
Nov 16, 2003
Messages
8,495
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
HH does have several advantages, like full access to 64MB of RAM, full access to hardware, IRQ's, etc.

However, unless this PSX emu can make use of the extra stuff provided by HH, it will provide little benefit. Just porting a program from Linux to HH-mode will give a minimal speed increase, and you will actually lose some functionality that isn't implemented yet, such as a file system (so no loading of roms once the emu is running) and audio.

So, unless you can make use of the hardware which Linux makes difficult to access, its a bit of waste of time to convert apps to HH.

As for ARM chips getting hot. Well, we have some 48Mhz ARM7s at work that run on a couple of AA batteries, and they can get quite toasty when overclocked past 60Mhz. I have noticed a can of freezer spray helps them keep stable longer, and you can see how much heat is generated by how quickly it evaporates.
 

Fishbong

man of poor reputation
Joined
Apr 23, 2004
Messages
2,730
Age
34
Location
Hildesheim, Germany.
Website
Visit site
I never said that cooling the proc wouldn´t help overclockability, its just that the GP2X´s processor won´t get that hot in the first place, except someone comes up with a voltagemod which significantly increases the power consumption of the cores.

I don´t know anything about your ARM7´s at work, but i assume their power consumption is way above spec?
 

OmarNawaz

Member
Joined
May 15, 2004
Messages
663
I got better speeds when running off a 7v lithium battery stepped down to 3.3v

Not sure about stability though just tested it quickly playing with lithium packs without protection circuits is a dangerous business and a blown up gp2x aint fun either

will run more tests once the protection IC comes but 3.3v shouldn't damage my gp2x with continued use would it?

::veers back on topic::

Excellent stuff guys those videos look amazing :) expect a donation once i get paid
 

snailian

Still Fresh
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
7
zodttd posted on May 14 2006 at 12:29 AM said:
I wonder why FF7 PAL crashes there. Hmm, will be hard to find a fix for it.

I think when cloud jumps off the train, that may be the first time a polygon is actually drawn to the screen. Everything prior is a movie or the environments background. Just an idea :]
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Nr.56

Member
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
327
it is really a good idea. safe resources on gp2x by compile the games on pc. one tool rips, tweeks, delete musik or video and compile. finally you get an gpe-file you can install on the handheld and play at full speed without a emulator tool like the original on psx. al needed code for emulation in one executable file. only phantasy but nice to dream about
 

Vimacs

Don't be evil!
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
5,762
Age
34
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
OmarNawaz posted on May 23 2006 at 01:59 PM said:
will run more tests once the protection IC comes but 3.3v shouldn't damage my gp2x with continued use would it?
squidge runs his from 4v.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

reallynotnick

The smartest newb
Joined
Aug 20, 2005
Messages
871
Website
Visit site
Vimacs posted on May 23 2006 at 07:36 PM said:
OmarNawaz posted on May 23 2006 at 01:59 PM said:
will run more tests once the protection IC comes but 3.3v shouldn't damage my gp2x with continued use would it?
squidge runs his from 4v.

*flips over gp2x*
It says 3.3v right on the back ;)

I use 3v though being the next step on my adapter is 5v :angry: its just stupid.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

zodttd

Solving your premature emulation since the Tapwave
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
1,167
Website
www.zodttd.com
It would be great to do a voltage mod for the GP2X. I would imagine more people would be able to reach some of the higher overclocks we've seen with it. For instance, I was able to change the voltage on my Sharp Zaurus C1000 to 1600mv and got a 624MHz overclock stable over the 1500mv 514MHz.

Maybe Squidge can do a voltage mod? How hard of a job would it be? :)
 

Vimacs

Don't be evil!
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
5,762
Age
34
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
we had this at gp32 as well, allowed people who couldnt even reach 166 to go over 200mhz.
Would be a matter of finding the voltage regulator thet produces the 1.65(?)v for the cpu and changeing the corresponding resistor, im not a electronics dude through, maybe someone else can find it out?
I bet 1,7-1,8v would allow most people to go over 300mhz

I just checked the datasheet (mp2520fdatasheet.pdf page 44) it says 1.65v min and 1.95v max with a recommended voltage of 1.8v for the cpu, so if i heard right and its currently running at 1.65 1.95 could realy give a huge boost.
 

zodttd

Solving your premature emulation since the Tapwave
Joined
Dec 2, 2005
Messages
1,167
Website
www.zodttd.com
Is there any way to change voltage via software?
I've known other ARM's voltage to be able to be changed via software such as the pxa270. Would be quite nice to not have to mod the hardware and instead use software.
 

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
zodttd posted on May 24 2006 at 02:24 AM said:
It would be great to do a voltage mod for the GP2X. I would imagine more people would be able to reach some of the higher overclocks we've seen with it. For instance, I was able to change the voltage on my Sharp Zaurus C1000 to 1600mv and got a 624MHz overclock stable over the 1500mv 514MHz.

Maybe Squidge can do a voltage mod? How hard of a job would it be? :)


PENCIL TRICK!!! :lol:

:ph34r:
 
Last edited by a moderator:

PSyMastR

\m/O__O\m/
Joined
Sep 14, 2005
Messages
2,968
Website
Visit site
DaveC posted on May 23 2006 at 11:26 PM said:
zodttd posted on May 24 2006 at 02:24 AM said:
It would be great to do a voltage mod for the GP2X. I would imagine more people would be able to reach some of the higher overclocks we've seen with it. For instance, I was able to change the voltage on my Sharp Zaurus C1000 to 1600mv and got a 624MHz overclock stable over the 1500mv 514MHz.

Maybe Squidge can do a voltage mod? How hard of a job would it be? :)


PENCIL TRICK!!! :lol:

:ph34r:
:lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Nr.56

Member
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
327
can the gp2x used as an PORTABLE device when ist overclocked like you want it? how long runs the handheld with a standard akkupack (2400mAh)? isn´t it better to save reources if it is possible? in our case: is a playeble framerate possible with your optimised software with standard cpu-timing or overclock to ca 250 (should be possible for all users) finally?
 
Top