Release Mupen64Plus 2.2

ssokolow

Member
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
245
Location
Ontario, Canada
The sound isn't working for me with either of the audio plugins. (Tested with Super Mario 64 and Banjo-Kazooie under 2.1.0.19 from the repo)

When using the notaz plugin, the log contains the following four lines:
[audio] open("/dev/dsp"): No such file or directory
[audio] open("/dev/dsp1"): No such file or directory
[audio] open("/dev/dsp"): No such file or directory
[audio] open("/dev/dsp1"): No such file or directory
When using the SDL plugin, it contains this:
Audio Error: Couldn't open audio: No available audio device
I'm not sure whether I'm supposed to have OSS device nodes or not, but I figured this was the most appropriate place to report it since, now that I've upgraded PicoDrive from 1.8x to 1.9x, Mupen64Plus seems to be the only app on my system without audio.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,605
I'm using that same version without issues and Notaz's audio plugin.

I do have /dev/dsp device, but not a /dev/dsp1. perhaps your user account isn't in the audio group? kind of a long shot...

Code:
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 14, 3 Feb 24 18:04 /dev/dsp
 

ssokolow

Member
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
245
Location
Ontario, Canada
I'm using that same version without issues and Notaz's audio plugin.

I do have /dev/dsp device, but not a /dev/dsp1. perhaps your user account isn't in the audio group? kind of a long shot...

Code:
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 14, 3 Feb 24 18:04 /dev/dsp
My account is in the audio group and, when I tried manually re-creating the device node to match yours...

Code:
sudo mknod -m 660 /dev/dsp c 14 3
sudo chown root:audio /dev/dsp
...it got rid of the error message but I still got no sound out of Mupen64Plus.

EDIT: Some further testing with Audacious Media Player indicates that it's more than just a case of "Neither Mupen64Plus audio plugin knows how to ALSA and the OSS dev node is missing". Setting Audacious to OSS 3 output causes each track to play for 0 seconds and catting some test garbage to /dev/dsp results in "No such device or address".

Could you post your lsmod output?
 
Last edited:

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
10,605
Could you post your lsmod output?
Code:
trashy-OP512:~$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
isofs                  30714  0 
aufs                  155783  8 
squashfs               22947  1 
xz_dec                 12845  1 squashfs
bluetooth             132099  0 
asix                   12743  0 
usbnet                 12901  1 asix
hid_logitech_dj         9648  0 
ehci_hcd               35045  0 
bufferclass_ti          4654  0 
omaplfb                 7532  0 
pvrsrvkm              144635  6 bufferclass_ti,omaplfb
snd_seq                41694  0 
snd_seq_device          4451  1 snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            33550  0 
snd_mixer_oss          13345  1 snd_pcm_oss
ipv6                  226342  16 
ads7846                 8678  0 
fuse                   56718  2
 

ssokolow

Member
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
245
Location
Ontario, Canada
Code:
trashy-OP512:~$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
isofs                  30714  0 
aufs                  155783  8 
squashfs               22947  1 
xz_dec                 12845  1 squashfs
bluetooth             132099  0 
asix                   12743  0 
usbnet                 12901  1 asix
hid_logitech_dj         9648  0 
ehci_hcd               35045  0 
bufferclass_ti          4654  0 
omaplfb                 7532  0 
pvrsrvkm              144635  6 bufferclass_ti,omaplfb
snd_seq                41694  0 
snd_seq_device          4451  1 snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            33550  0 
snd_mixer_oss          13345  1 snd_pcm_oss
ipv6                  226342  16 
ads7846                 8678  0 
fuse                   56718  2
Well, there's the problem. I've got no snd_*_oss because /lib/modules/3.2.39/kernel/sound/core/oss/ is empty for some reason.

Still not sure why the SDL audio plugin for Mupen64Plus doesn't fall back to ALSA like everything else, though.
 

z2442

Still Fresh
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
11
Hey has anyone had any luck getting the gles2n64 plugin running in fullscreen mode? I have been testing out different window resolutions in the settings with no luck.
 

gunrock

Active Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
506
With Excitebike 64, I get pretty good visuals using the Rice plugin, but sound is a stuttering mess. Switched off the rampack and reduced graphical resolution in the hope that it's was CPU bound but no dice. Still a stuttering, annoying soundscape.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,356
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Excitebike was one of the later releases for the system, and really pushes it hard. Even on my real 64 the framerate chugs sometimes, but the sound is generally stable. But it's perhaps not that surprising that this is one game the Pandora's just not quite powerful to emulate properly.
 

jimmy james

Newbie
Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
4
i downloaded the latest version 2.2.
the emulator works but the controls don't work.
if i launch mupen64plus config and click "config" for the input plugin it opens InputAutoCfg.ini but the file is empty, should that be?

any ideas?
 

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,214
Maybe you have to update the Pandora firmware.
Or delete the mupen preferences somewhere on your SD card ?
 

jimmy james

Newbie
Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
4
this is on a fresh install of the latest SuperZaxxon 1.76 image.
i tried uninstalling mupen64plus2 (using PNDManager), deleting the pandora/appdata/mupen64plus2 directory, and reinstalling mupen64plus2 (using PNDManager).

the emulator runs fine but none of the buttons or nubs do anything.

i notice in the appdata/mupen64plus2 directory there is an audiodriver.txt, rspdriver.txt, and videodriver.txt but no "inputdriver.txt" (or something similar). should this file exist?
is it possible that the latest version of mupen64plus is missing an input config file that i would have already had if i had upgraded from a previous version?
 

jimmy james

Newbie
Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
4
i ran mupen64plus, loaded a game, then exited.


i noticed this line shows up several times:

Input Error: Couldn't find config file 'InputAutoCfg.ini'

should i have this file? where would i find it and where should it reside in the appdata folder?

in my appdata/mupen64plus2 folder i _do_ have the similarly named files:
home/InputAutoCfg.b04
home/InputAutoCfg.b14
 
Last edited:

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,356
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Ah, maybe an old release correctly put this file in the appdata, and the recent releases depend on it but don't actually have it inside or put it in the appdata. I'm not sure how many of us testing it automatically delete our appdata before testing new releases (I know I didn't, for example).
 

jimmy james

Newbie
Joined
Jan 18, 2019
Messages
4
ok, i got the controls working.

in the pandora/appdata/mupen64plus2 directory i did:
cp home/InputAutoCfg.b14 InputAutoCfg.ini

it looks like part of the init.sh script in the mupen64plus2.pnd file was supposed to do this copy but ummm...well...i didn't look into it too much.
how would i notify the maintainer of this problem?

thanx for the help.
 
Top