1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Release Mr. Boom

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Nov 12, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,811
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Here is Mr. Boom, a clone of Bomberman.
    [​IMG]
    This is a straight compile of Mr. Boom, with just some changes to have fullscreen and Pandora friendly keymap for Player 1.

    History log
    =========

    Build 03
    -----------

    • Updated to 4.2
    Build 02
    -----------

    • Updated to 4.1
    Build 01
    -----------

    • Initial build
    • Some Pandora customization
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2018
    Tags:
    TeDaDeS, Wally, klapse and 4 others like this.
  2. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    8,576
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I like how both the bombermen (or should that be Mr Booms?) in that screenshot look to be on a quick exit from the game. I'll give this a spin this evening, I think. I love a bit of bomberman.
     
  3. Farox

    Farox Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,939
    Location:
    Italy
    But this game is not multiplayer only? i remember trying to compile some weeks ago...but when i read multiplayer only...i didn't bored finish.
     
  4. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,811
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    There are bots, so it's a multiplayer game where you can play alone (and AI is good enough for some challenge).
     
    Farox likes this.
  5. Swordfish II

    Swordfish II Very Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    616
    I wonder if the "5656" code famous in most Bomberman games will work
     
  6. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    8,576
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Just gave this a spin, and the bots on difficulty level 1 (I think) handed me my arse :)

    But then I only just managed to win against a npc (create a bot but start before giving it a name, and it'll just sit there), so maybe my bomberman skills need refreshing.

    But yeah. good port. The main menu is a little confusing at first, but I managed a couple of games in the end.
     
  7. Eight Bit

    Eight Bit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Nice game, thanks! :)
     
  8. franck

    franck Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    @ptitSeb Feel free to make a PR and push your changes upstream.
     
  9. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,811
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Sure, I'll do that. There is very little changes, don't expect more than 6 lines of code :p
     
  10. franck

    franck Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Just pushed a commit to fix the keys on macbooks, does it cover your changes ?
     
  11. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,811
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I haven't create a PR because it's really anedoctical changes. And I need to create a #define PANDORA in the makefile to keep that clean.

    Look at the changes, it's really thin (but I still can do a PR).
     

    Attached Files:

  12. franck

    franck Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Yeah would be good PR with a proper define into the Makefile
     
  13. franck

    franck Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    I included most of your patch in master, I guess you simply need to add -DFULLSCREEN on Pandora in your package
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2017
    levi likes this.
  14. FBnil

    FBnil Guess I'll wait 2 more months.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    Yurp
    Does anybody know which key needs to be pressed to continue after the initial screen? Kinda stuck there...
     
  15. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,811
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Use Space to add BOT and then Enter to start.
     
    FBnil likes this.
  16. FBnil

    FBnil Guess I'll wait 2 more months.

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,088
    Location:
    Yurp
    Hmm... The title screen gives this nice music. Pressing space for the first time you hear a pling sound. And only once pressing the enter game me a menu with 4 bombermans side by side. But that is it. no keys make it continue and pressing the pnd button gives me back the Pandora GUI, but what I guess is at lower CPU speed, so the only thing I can do is reboot it.

    I left the Pandy in the heat once, and it doesnt come back up if it goes into deep idle mode. And often the video goes away after hibernation.... so I might have found the first game that actually uses part of the Pandy that are broken. Too bad. Thanks for the compile, though!
     
  17. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,811
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    At the music title screen, press {X} to have the player selection screen, then space (one or two times) to add bots, then Enter to start game.
     
    _jr_ likes this.
  18. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,811
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    The updated version, with 4.1 sources, is on the repo.

    Build 02
    -----------

    • Updated to 4.1
     
    Linux-SWAT and atari_afternoon like this.
  19. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    8,576
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    So, the only change on the github between 4.0 and 4.1 seems to be changing the key used to jump in linux SDL2 builds. I don't know if this was an issue with the Pandora version - I didn't even realise you could jump, but presumably that was something you reconfigured for the Pandora build anyway, so this is no real change for us. Nice that you're keeping on top of the github updates though.
     
  20. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,811
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Previous version was 3.8...
    Plus the key for jumping was a wrong internal binding, making it impossible to jump previously (to jump, you need to find an "Egg" bonus, you then ride a big bunny kangaroo, that can jump, and provide you an extra "life").
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2017
    levi likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...