It reminds me of the Pandora!


pyrat

Very Active Member
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
262
Or does suspend and hibernate not work on the Pyra ? And then it is just work on software to make it work, or there's some reason it can't ever work ?
Ah, I see it. You want the modem on, tracked by telephony towers and wake up the whole system when a call comes, is that the problem ? Then you would need some small cpu somewhere to wake the system up, but could miss the handshake with the phone network, the call or whatever, if awakening is too slow.
Mmm... Maybe I should correct myself. I still don't know, but I read an update at pine64.org that seems to indicate the PinePhone suspends when unused and will resume when a call comes in time to pick it up. So maybe idling is not necessary for telephony with a Pyra???
From Lukasz Erecinski (or maybe Gamiee, JF, PizzaLovingNerd, or Clover, all credited as helping in writing /reviewing the update):
Lastly, I also found that the PinePhone now resumes faster from suspend on incoming calls, and that the Bluetooth adapter functions reliably. Both of these features, while relatively minor when compared to the major strides made in the past month, are actually very significant in terms of making the PinePhone viable as a daily driver. This, combined with the much improved voice call audio quality in the newest kernel, means that my SIM card now resides exclusively in the PinePhone, while I keep my Android phone for auxiliary tasks. We’ve come a long way since January 2020 and at this pace I feel the PinePhone may become a viable daily driver for many users early next year – I truly believe this.
(boldtype mine)
So if "resumes from suspend" means literally that, and not something like "transitions from idle to more performant states", could mean idle won't be needed once we manage to nail suspend/hibernate (possibly by kernel improvements, which doesn't sound simple, but we can't consider impossible yet).
 

docbroke

Banned
Joined
Feb 21, 2019
Messages
478
Age
39
Location
India
As per my understanding in suspend mode running state of system is saved in RAM, and power supply to all other parts excluding RAM is cut off. So how did pinephone is able to detect incoming call in suspend mode, and what triggers it to come out of suspend mode ?
 

asimov-solensan

Very Active Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
546
As per my understanding in suspend mode running state of system is saved in RAM, and power supply to all other parts excluding RAM is cut off. So how did pinephone is able to detect incoming call in suspend mode, and what triggers it to come out of suspend mode ?
I'm a complete ignorant on these things but it may be that 3G/4G modem is able to do a wake-on-lan kind of thing? Will be Pyra capable of something similar?
 

pyrat

Very Active Member
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
262
As per my understanding in suspend mode running state of system is saved in RAM, and power supply to all other parts excluding RAM is cut off. So how did pinephone is able to detect incoming call in suspend mode, and what triggers it to come out of suspend mode ?
My understanding is the same. I assume the modem chip keeps powered on and can activate an IRQ line to wake up the SOC.
The SOC has that IRQ line configured as a wakeup source. (and the touchscreen, keyboard, etc. too, maybe also a timer).
In the Pyra schematics I see a MODEM-WAKEUP 11.3B line that goes to pin 41 of the Board to-board connector. It seems to be connected to GPIO1_WK15/28.1A on the CPU board and go to U2201GPIO1_WK1 on the OMAP5432 CPU.
Before one can use that the kernel must be able to suspend (or hibernate) and resume correctly, of course.

But maybe it would be worth investigating the PinePhone software closer, if someone plans to use the Pyra as a phone.

Not sure it does? Just tested mine, and it doesn't wake up for a call.
Correction - my PinePhone did apparently try to wake up. It just crashed in the process.
Maybe you can update your software somehow with the changes Lukasz Erecinski attributed to Ondrej (Megi) Jirman ?
Or just wait till some update to the software you are using picks them up ?
I have no idea, just lurking in other people's forums.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,596
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
Aaah, the good old Osborne Effect. I know that one perfectly well, I even own a fully working Osborne 1 with modem, 50+ floppy disks... sigh.
Those were the days.

But a possible i.MX8 upgrade cannot be compared to the Osborne.

The Osborne 2 was supposed a completely new PC. And these were damn expensive back then. You would buy one every few years, not every few months as a lot do these days.
The Pyra only gets a new CPU board and can be upgraded. A new CPU board is a long time away (not a month). It will be a lot cheaper than buying a full new device - and while waiting, you can use the current unit.

So nope, that's something completely different. Maybe not if you're a Zwerg, but the world for Zwergs seems to be completely different anyways, with SoCs being not available anymore even though they're still in production... so yeah, in the parallel world where he's living, the Osborne effect could very well trigger here :)
 

Null

Witty remark.
Joined
Jun 16, 2007
Messages
10,286
Nice it's got two floppy drives, I bet that's so that it can crunch through two .bat files at the same time. :cool:
 
Last edited:

FBnil

There is 1 impostor among us.
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
3,501
Location
Yurp
Nice it's got two floppy drives, I bet that's so that it can crunch through two .bat files at the same time. :cool:
In one, you need the OS. Because each command was actually loaded from floppy.
So the other could have your program, while in the program, you could remove the floppy for the OS, and put there your data floppy with your files.
Sounds complicated, but its not.
 
Top