1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

I'm out of ideas for news-titles

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Sep 5, 2017.

  1. Wally

    Wally TrashyMG's worst nightmare Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,739
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Pretty sure we have a small surface area to put more than one ram chip at any time Grench. The CPU board is full enough as it is.
     
  2. Pyramancer

    Pyramancer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    130
    It was a very tiny little saga:

    Tony Lindgren found that he could persuade his 4 GB prototype to run two instances of memtester addressing a total of more than 2 GB (I don't think he said for how long, but there were thermal issues I think), provided he set the voltage to 1.50 V instead of 1.35 V (And used a heat sink. And made at least one other change to the configuration settings.).

    For a few minutes it seemed possible that this was because the team had somehow mistakenly used the 1.50 V chips instead of the 1.35 V chips. EvilDragon wrote [1]:

    I just checked the part number on the 4GB RAM chips - and indeed, it is the K4B8G1646D, which means we have the DDR3 and NOT the DDR3L version (which would be K4B8G1646Q).​

    But it turns out that he was simply turned around for a moment and was reading the wrong column of the part number or the wrong line of the spec sheet or something. (The "D" and the "Q" in the 10th column indicate the chip revision; 1.35 V is indicated by the "M" in the 13th column of the part number [2].)

    [1] https://pyra-handheld.com/pipermail/kernel/2017-August/001944.html
    [2] http://www.samsung.com/semiconducto...mt/2016/11/DDR3_Product_guide_Oct.16[2]-0.pdf
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 12, 2017, Original Post Date: Sep 12, 2017 ---
    Thanks for the clarification.
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 12, 2017 ---
    I too would be interested in learning the configuration of the 2 GB units. And the information in the Wiki could be made more detailed / up to date.

    On the other hand, I would prefer that the time be spent debugging the 4 GB issue, finishing the hardware testing, and polishing the OS.
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 12, 2017 ---
    Must be four chips, surely. For 4 GB, at least. The Samsung K4B8G1646D-MMK0 is 8 Gb = 1 GB. So there must be four of them for 4 GB. (Unless there's error correction; then we'd need five.) And 4000 of them have been purchased already which suggests 4 per unit, for 1000 units.
     
  3. YuanHao

    YuanHao Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    215
    Great to know that GamesCom went well and so is the shop -- looking forward to seeing a Pyra with my own eyes in the near future :)
     
    levi likes this.
  4. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,198
    Found it.
    https://pyra-handheld.com/boards/threads/colorful-week.77519/
    So, it makes me wonder, which method and which chips are being used in which prototypes?
     
    Kippykip, Pyramancer, rygD and 3 others like this.
  5. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,471
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Ok, so to get the 1GB ones from the same company would have been more expensive. Wasn't there another thread, or maybe a post buried in one, before this where he talked about possibly doing a 4GB model? I guess I could get off my ass and start digging through the old news to find out.

    Either way, I vividly remember the part about the board design now. I thought "wow, way to plan ahead, he is such a smart guy", and I wanted to give him a high five.
     
  6. Zwerg01

    Zwerg01 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    Does the 2GB version still hang sometimes on boot?
     
  7. Yuji Sakai

    Yuji Sakai Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    I also want 8GB one :)
     
    rygD likes this.
  8. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,018
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    No, that's been fixed ages ago.

    Sent from my XT1650-03 using Tapatalk
     
    Link, YuanHao, rygD and 5 others like this.
  9. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,198
    Does anyone have a part number for the four 512MB chips used in the original spec (2GB Pyra)? Is it the same chip parts that are used in the Ti OMAP5432 EVM dev boards?
     
    ingoreis likes this.
  10. zoranc

    zoranc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Frankly, although I personally prefer 4 GB and would pay extra for it, I'd be more than happy with 2 GB too. If it's delay the production couple of months or so, I'd rather have it sooner than have it perfect...
     
    Swordfish II likes this.
  11. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6,471
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I thought the reason we were all patiently waiting is because we want it as close to perfect as they can get it.
     
  12. Djoga'Ro

    Djoga'Ro moonstruck

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    454
    "were" is the keyword here. Patience is finite.Though, I for one am keeping it up, while it's getting harder 'n' harder due to my phones audio jack being on the fritz. Phone in my front pocket listening to music may work fine or as often the case with every right-legged step the left channel mutes for a moment.

    Where's my Pyra? I need it now - with no RAM if need be. :'(
     
  13. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,912
    All efforts are now focused on this RAM issue. Should be ok soon.
     
    Link, 2coop4, Grench and 1 other person like this.
  14. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,198
    There are many of us who would like a play-by-play of how this is progressing, but also have no intention of slowing them down to document for our 'amusement' as we're all very unlikely to be able to help directly.

    Need someone to find that clip from Airplane where the doctor says something to the effect of, "Good luck. We're all counting on you."
     
    Swordfish II likes this.
  15. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,912
    The mailing list isn't private.
    Even ED is putting hands in the low-level stuff :^) .
     
    ClockworkCoder and Grench like this.
  16. 2coop4

    2coop4 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    I would really like to help but I'm no developer i have always been interested in being one but i barely have time to sit at a pc and learn linux and hardware because of my job and my learning disability this one of my big reasons for wanting this device it makes it easier for to learn like a desktop os is makes more sense than a mobile os. But if it was in front of me i could learn it i am a hands on learner as it's called

    Sent from my LG-K373 using Tapatalk
     
  17. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,198
    Assume I'm an idiot - it shouldn't be that difficult, right?
    If I wanted to be the proverbial, "fly on the wall," how would I get added to or be able to view said mailing list? I don't want to be disruptive, but I would find the process fascinating.
     
  18. sebt3

    sebt3 homebrew player (P. & C.)

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4,678
    Location:
    France
    tarator, Grench and Linux-SWAT like this.
  19. ingoreis

    ingoreis Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,937
    Location:
    49.491276,8.423518
    Maybe i have one funny Idea for the Pyra:

    The Pyra have maybe 4 GB Stable in the Future...
    ...when not we have 2 GB and @EvilDragon have too many Ram Chips over...
    ...
    ...
    ...
    ..maybe EvilDragon can create an Sata to Ram Adapter for swapping Ram on the Pyra Sata?

    It can be a Sort USB3 or Sata to Ram converter and it will be much faster than a "normal" USB Stick.

    Which one should be faster?
    Sata on the Pyra(do not know which Version we have)
    or
    Usb3 on the Pyra

    When one Door is closing...mostly there are another Doors opening :D

    And this Idea is not new:
    There are Sata to Ram Adapter sold..they exist.
    In our Case we need no Battery because its only Swap.

    A Startup Script for creating and activating Swap on Usb/Sata automatic should be no Problem.

    Shurly... its not so fast like real Ram but i think its a good Idea :D
     
  20. Pyramancer

    Pyramancer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    130
    Would that that were true. :( Solving this problem systematically requires 1) skill/knowledge, 2) hardware/equipment, 3) information, and 4) time. Sadly, it seems that no one has a full set of these. Those with the first three seem to lack the fourth (and vice versa). I'm hoping that the problem will very soon be solved by random serendipity instead.
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 13, 2017, Original Post Date: Sep 13, 2017 ---
    Yup. He's applying a bit of 1) and 2), most of 3), and a bunch of 4) afforded by his vacation. Really, though, I think he ought to be going to the beach. Or doing whatever it is that dragons do in their leisure time. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...