Release FreeGish

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,530
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
Here is FreeGish, a physics based arcade game.

This version of Gish used gl4es and has all lightning effect. It comes with the "FreeGish" dataset, but it can also used the full Gish data. You will have a question at first launch if you want to extract FreeGish data if no data are found. To use Gish data, you need to all the folder (like "music", "animation", etc.) from a full install to appdata/freegish (or put gish_1.6.1_all.tar.gz for automatic extraction).
Gamma is forced to 1.8 at start. If you don't like this setting, create a file named ".gamma" in appdata/freegish containing the desired gamma value.

If you find the game to slow to your taste (because of the lightning effect), you can still use pickle version that may run faster.

A video of the gameplay with the FreeGish data on a gigahertz Pandora, thanks to @ingoreis

Keymap has been adapted to Pandora, with:
Dpad: move
{A}: Soft
{Y}: Heavy
{X}: Jump
{B}: Spyke

History log
=========

Build 03
-------------

  • Removed borders and changed Zom factor (thanks to EXL for the patch)
  • Screenshots not updated
Build 02
-------------

  • Optimized renderer for gl4es
Build 01
-------------

  • Initial build
  • Keymap adapted to Pandora
  • Forced fullscreen

On a side note, Gish has been ported to Android by EXL using gl4es: http://exlmoto.ru/gish-droid/ and sources here: https://github.com/EXL/Gish
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: EXL

atari_afternoon

Active Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2012
Messages
716
Location
Germany
Working my way down the Practise :) thanks for the port.
The other way around: Using these extracted "free" files and folders into the Pickle version - does not seem to work for me, I have tried. That one acts as if nothing is there.
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,530
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
Working my way down the Practise :) thanks for the port.
The other way around: Using these extracted "free" files and folders into the Pickle version - does not seem to work for me, I have tried. That one acts as if nothing is there.
Ah maybe yes. I was more thinking of the full data...

You find this version a bit slow?
 

atari_afternoon

Active Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2012
Messages
716
Location
Germany
Haven´t looked at any gameplay videos, so I don´t really know what is normal speed; just mirrored what you wrote above :) just still trying my way bouncing and dropping out off the practise level at CC/600 Mhz.
EDIT Just looked at a gameplay video, and I can´t jump really that well, to the point that I believed my buttons were not working properly (ABXY). A matter of practise and targetting I guess but as of now I am being much less fluid :)
 

canseco

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2004
Messages
885
Location
Spain
Looks like I picked up Gish 1.53 in the humble bundle way back. Is it worth me trying this version of data?
It did work for me, the same way it did on my PC with Linux, and it's worth it until someone makes better libre replacements.
 

atari_afternoon

Active Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2012
Messages
716
Location
Germany
Runs fine now, and I got the hang of it, made it through the first levels now.- But it needs overclocking. Plays much better now than before and at CC/750 MHz :)
 

atari_afternoon

Active Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2012
Messages
716
Location
Germany
I would not have forgotten to report ;) thanks for having looked into it, because now that the dev Pyra is in your hands I understand you have less time than ever before ;)
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,940
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Runs fine using gish 1.53 data from the humble bundle on my GHz unit, I can confirm. I ran it first expecting it to print an error telling me where to put the data files, but instead it dropped me into a white screen with grey boxes I seemed to be able to click through using a white mouse pointer box, and eventually exit out of (once I discovered the Esc key worked). So I looked at the documentation for once, and at the end it gave me enough clues to get the data in (copy the stuff from inside the gish153 folder apart from gish and gish64 (i left the bmps and things in there, although I don't think they're used), and then it ran a lot better.
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,530
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
Runs fine using gish 1.53 data from the humble bundle on my GHz unit, I can confirm. I ran it first expecting it to print an error telling me where to put the data files, but instead it dropped me into a white screen with grey boxes I seemed to be able to click through using a white mouse pointer box, and eventually exit out of (once I discovered the Esc key worked). So I looked at the documentation for once, and at the end it gave me enough clues to get the data in (copy the stuff from inside the gish153 folder apart from gish and gish64 (i left the bmps and things in there, although I don't think they're used), and then it ran a lot better.
Strange, the 1st run should provide a zenity dialog box asking if the game should expand Freegish data, and answering "no" should just exit. I'll check that (plus, I have some patch from the Android port author to test on the Pandora).
 

ingoreis

Advanced Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,094
Age
38
Location
49.491276,8.423518
I tried this Game Yesterday Evening and it work very good with the free Files.
Thank you :D

I realy enjoyed this Game..good Work.
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
8,530
Age
47
Location
France, near Lyon
So, thanks to EXL, the author of the Android port, I have made a new build.
The border are removed, for more screen estate, and the gameplay is a bit zoomed in, for faster speed.
(but I haven't updated the screenshot, sorry)

Build 03
-------------

  • Removed borders and changed Zom factor (thanks to EXL for the patch)
  • Screenshots not updated
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,940
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
So I gave this a try, and it seems to have deleted the gish 153 install I put in its appdata. But at least this time it did offer to install the demo data if I wanted it. I haven't tried that yet though.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
11,940
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Seems I have an apology to make; I seemed to have put the game data in appdata/gish instead of appdata/freegish, and now I'm not actually sure what I was testing last time when it failed to offer to unpack data for me. Now that I've moved the data to freegish and made sure I'm running freegish, it all works much better now. Thanks for the port!
 
Top