Even more to see here (now)

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Jul 17, 2019.

  1. ClockworkCoder

    ClockworkCoder Chaotic Neutral

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    It looks indeed very close, but to me it doesn't look like it's in a position where it's possible for it to make contact with the cable unless it breaks loose.

    Does it rub against the cable when the button is depressed?
     
  2. docbroke

    docbroke Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    190
    Location:
    India
    Can Pyra boot without battery ? If yes is it possible to boot pyra on AC and then insert battery while connected to power ?
     
  3. matzesu

    matzesu Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,059
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    There arend any Syringes or other Drug Things on my Table, just my usual mess of things, like Multitools, TV IR Controller,
    Mybe you mean the RC Modell Screwdriver, thats looks a bit like a Syring, but it isnt.. (ditnt look this morning on the Picture, but if its a Blue Thing, than its the Screwdriver..
     
    rSl and levi like this.
  4. Eight Bit

    Eight Bit Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,648
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Not sure if it's possible on the Pyra but on the Pandora that's a no-go and will severely damage the charging circuit.
     
  5. azouls

    azouls Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    58
    Wally, rSl and FBnil like this.
  6. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    Well just to clear this up a little, the Pandora could run just fine without a battery, but as you said inserting the battery while running on AC would indeed likely cause some damage.

    As for the Pyra, time will see, it's setup a bit different. But still I suspect it wouldn't be a good idea to swap batteries while operating.
     
    ClockworkCoder and pmprog like this.
  7. ClockworkCoder

    ClockworkCoder Chaotic Neutral

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    That sounds like a pretty normal risk. Don't think there's any device I have where that might be a good idea.
     
    tarator likes this.
  8. harlequin

    harlequin Still Fresh

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    France
    Notebooks.
     
  9. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,558
    Depends on the notebook, many like Lenovos are designed for it, while some don't, they either have batteries that require opening the casing to get to or have mechanisms that require you to unplug the laptop to switch out the battery.
     
  10. Bosbeetle

    Bosbeetle Terminally lost

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,693
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    the part that needs to be cut is that on the inside or the outside of the upper bottom part?
     
  11. ToastBucket

    ToastBucket Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Seattle
    Nope.
     
  12. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    It can't? The Palmas chip is supposed to be able to scavenge power from almost anywhere and direct it to the CPU I thought. That was one of the design intentions of the Pyra, so if it's not working now, it sounds like a bug to me.
     
  13. ToastBucket

    ToastBucket Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Seattle
    The problem is not with the PALMAS, it’s with the battery charger. By default it limits current to 100mA. The hardware allows for an increase to 500mA but this isn’t being enabled for some reason. I’m currently investigating why this is happening and working on a fix. Right now the Pyra draws 480 in the bootloader, so 500 is enough to get past the boot stage where the full limit of 2A can be asserted.
     
    rSl, Grench and levi like this.
  14. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    No, that shouldn't happen. It's close but the movement on the shoulder button is so small, it shouldn't really damage the cable. Additionally (as you can see on your pictures), the part where the shoulder button touches the LCD cable is ground - and that's a pretty wide trace, it shouldn't break that easily :)


    Sadly, that's not easily possible. Adding pegs sideways means you need to create an additional tool that's being put into the mould. It would be easy 3D printing that, but not easy with mould injection.

    Well, there is an easy way: Boot into U-Boot and run a power off from there :)
    It's only possible with a serial out connection at the moment.

    But I've never had problems booting into U-Boot to power it off. Easier than opening the unit :D

    The final version should be able to do that, yes. The charger chip also supports disconnecting and reconnecting a battery while the unit is powered on, it even can remember various charging curves for different batteries (not sure how that works, maybe the battery needs a serial number for that which we don't have).
    At the moment, the software setup for the charger isn't properly done, but in the end, it should work.

    Hm? I never had any issues running the bootloader without a battery - at least the one that has the parameter set to set it 500mA.
    The only issue was when I tried to continue to boot without a battery.

    But the bootloader works fine for my (at least last time I tried).
     
    ObiKKa, jeeks, rSl and 5 others like this.
  15. ToastBucket

    ToastBucket Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Location:
    Seattle
    This is probably part of my charger chip issues then :) I’m currently going through the power management schematic with HNS.
     
  16. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,231
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Look at the picture of the bottom upper mould posted by EvilDragon. There's a circle/heart around the bit that need to be removed manually after moulding the plastic in there; it's around the injection hole aka. the left nub hole. Looks to me like someone was using a forstner bit to shorten the pipe and went too deep before backing it out, although to be fair it could be almost anything fairly sharp that went in there at an acute angle.
     
  17. harlequin

    harlequin Still Fresh

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    France
    Surely it depends on the notebook, but every one I owned allowed me to do that. A I-don't-really-remember-the-unknown-brand Pentium 2 with Aladdin chipset and Neomagic VGA, an IBM Thinkpad A30, an Amilo/Fujitsu-Siemens barebone Athlon 64 from 2004, and my trusty but-not-really-since-nowadays-it's-too-buggy-due-to-GPU-solder-migration Sony Vaio SR21M from 2009.

    But I see where you're coming from: in 2019, every single notebook has an internal and unchangeable battery, so they don't even need to support a dynamic use case...

    And now I'm sad.
     
    ___ likes this.
  18. MTPDA

    MTPDA Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Waterloo, Canada
    Well, not every laptop, some of the really expensive ones still have removable batteries, the system 76 Serval WS has a removable battery for example but it's also a $2000 USD laptop.
     
  19. azouls

    azouls Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    58
    Hello eveybody. Tommorow we will continue with the Black and Red color . Today in 1 hour we will do some samples from the Keyboard mold cause we changed the feeding again. I will try to upload some fotos tommorow when we finish . Monday i will send all the samples to ED .
     
    ObiKKa, Lozrus, tarator and 19 others like this.
  20. matzesu

    matzesu Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,059
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    Sounds great so far azouls,
    Hopefully the Charger Software can be fixed whitout changing the Hardware..
    Ditnt sound that great..
     
    azouls likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...