1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Release OpenRA

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Sep 17, 2017.

  1. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Here is OpenRA, the open source re-implementation of Red Alert and CnC games
    [​IMG]
    This PND use the MonoRT pnd, so be sure to have it installed (i.e. simply copied) on your Pandora.
    The games is an OpenGL 2.0 game and use the new experiemental GLES2 backend of gl4es.
    Also, beeing C#, the game can be a bit sluggish at first, when the JIT trigger. It should be smoother after the initial hickup.

    /!\ You'll need a swapfile for this game, for any Pandora model /!\
    /!\ While it seems playable on Gigahertz model, it may be too slow to be playable on other models /!\


    You can use CD data or let the launcher download datas.

    History log
    =========

    Build 05
    -----------

    • Fixed a crash in optimized rendering
    • More hacking to shaders to avoid "discard"
    Build 04
    -----------

    • Switched to "bleed" branch
    • Implemented crude zenity based MOD selector (as modchooser is not supported in bleed)
    • Optimized a bit rendering engine
    • Removed perf log stuff
    • Try to optimize mono parameters
    Build 03
    -----------

    • Changed startup parameter, should be less memory hungry now
    Build 02
    -----------

    • Added Tiberian Sun WIP Module
    Build 01
    -----------

    • Initial build

    The diff from the github for the pandora version is attached here.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 26, 2017
  2. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,950
    That's a .pnd !
    Thanks.
     
  3. xnopasaranx

    xnopasaranx Superbad!

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,073
    @ptitSeb did you compile this with all mods supported? I read that the engine already support tiberian sun and ra2, but you have to compile it with some extra flag set.

    thanks a lot anyway! this is pretty awesome.
     
  4. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    No, I haven't added the WIP Mods. But I can have a look at them if it can be usefull?
     
  5. xnopasaranx

    xnopasaranx Superbad!

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,073
    that would be great. I'd love to try how far ra2 is already developed. judging from what I have seen, the skirmish mode is pretty much done and I've been dreaming of a portable ra2 for a long while :D
     
  6. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Ok, so I have updated the pnd on the repo, with the WIP mod for Tiberian Sun. It does works, but seems a bit slow.
    [​IMG]
    Build 02
    -----------

    • Added Tiberian Sun WIP Module
     
    NetBLOKS and FBnil like this.
  7. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Hi all :)

    @ptitSeb : thanks for your efforts on this one, it's really appreciated, as always !

    Unfortunately, this game doesn't run very well on my Rebirth @ 825 MHz (latest SZ, SGX driver 4.10) :(

    - It looks like swap is mandatory on this model too. OpenRA uses almost all the available RAM + ~half the 512 MB swap file. Without swap file it just crashes / segfaults while loading...

    - The game runs at ~2 FPS, way too slow to be playable...

    Sorry for the bad news :(

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  8. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Ah, not good news indeed.

    I have a large swapfile most of the time on my Gigahertz, so I don't always known if a swapfile is mandatory or not. It's not that slow on my model, but I guess the GLES2 part is slowing things down on model other then the Gigahertz. Did you try to play a little, so the JIT doesn't compile stuff and just executed JIT'ed blocks?

    Anyway, thanks for the info, I'll update 1st post and repo with that (swapfile and slow).
     
  9. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    @ptitSeb : yes, I tried to play a little but to no avail (even with OC @ 1GHz). The game actually uses much more memory than previously thought: ~512MB RAM + ~512MB swap.

    It looks like Mono also supports Ahead-of-time (AOT) and Full Static Compiation:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mono_(software)#Code_Execution_Engine

    Could these modes be used instead of JIT on the Pandora ?

    Cheers, Magic Sam
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 17, 2017, Original Post Date: Sep 17, 2017 ---
    According to the wiki, OpenRA shouldn't be using that much RAM:

    https://github.com/OpenRA/OpenRA/wiki/Requirements

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  10. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    It's already active, but maybe that's a bad idea. I'll clean the PND and try a new one without AOT.
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 17, 2017 ---
    @Magic Sam , or anyone that want to try: here is version cleaned of the AOT, in case it make memory consuption worse: openra (edit, link removed, it's on the repo now as build 03)

    Please report if it's better or the same (or worse). If it's better, I'll upload it to the repo.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2017
  11. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    @ptitSeb : I'd say your newer version uses less memory. At least I didn't run out of swap this time :p And it might be a little faster too (~3FPS @ 825MHz).

    I see you already tried some mono options, like -O=simd. Was it supposed to trigger NEON instructions on the Pandora ?

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  12. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Yeah, -O=simd is supposed to use NEON, but I'm not sure it's actually supported by mono.
    --- Double Post Merged, Sep 17, 2017, Original Post Date: Sep 17, 2017 ---
    Ok, that build 03 is on the repo now.

    Build 03
    -----------

    • Changed startup parameter, should be less memory hungry now
     
  13. TeDaDeS

    TeDaDeS Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    720
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Wasn't there already a build of OpenRA in the repo?
     
  14. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    There is an old build of OpenRedAlert.

    And I think this is the first version on OpenRA to works on GLES2 hardware.
     
  15. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    @ptitSeb : "mono --optimize=simd --gc=sgen OpenRA.Game.exe" looks promising on my end (lower memory usage, higher FPS), needs more testing though.

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  16. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Ok, I'll let you test, and I'll try some stuff also on my side, then I'll update the pnd accordingly.
    Just for info, you are using latest Mono RunTime pnd I assume?
     
  17. TeDaDeS

    TeDaDeS Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    720
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks again ptitSeb, my Pandora already has great games ported by you but I will gladly also accept OpenRA :)
     
  18. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    @ptitSeb : yes, I'm using the latest Mono Runtime PND (5.2.0 from July). Turns out only the menu is faster with --optimize=simd (10+ FPS), in-game it is still too slow...

    I'll play with gl4es settings ASAP (tomorrow evening if time permits).

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  19. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,911
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Hi all :)

    @ptitSeb : I just tried many LIBGL options, none of them had any positive effects on the framerate.

    Were you more lucky on your end ?

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
  20. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    7,716
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    I"m not surprised (plus the GLES2 backend is experimental so some options will just not work as expected).
    I haven't worked on OpenRA directly lately. I want to analyse the API Trace of OpenRa (btw, it's in the traces folder on gl4es, if you want to analyse it with apitrace on a Linux PC), but I guess calls are not batched enough?
     

Share This Page

Loading...