Back from the Dead!


comradekingu

Glowing ember
Joined
Apr 15, 2011
Messages
5,101
Website
portfolio.anotheragency.no
3XCL4M4t10N: For a different take upon the word gay, i beg to differ.

That is not a small file. Nor is it random writes. Nor is the queue depth or cache taken into account.

Would be interesting to see what the power envelope amounts to in different scenarios.
 
Last edited:

Fworg64

Who knows?
Joined
Apr 27, 2011
Messages
196
Location
Fargo, ND
I have a question. How difficult/what would be required to get the pyra to be a SATA device? For example, let's say I want to boot a computer from the pyra, using it as a HDD or Disk Drive by plugging it into a SATA port on the computer. Or maybe emulate a custom disk drive, such as one used in a video game console?
 

ingoreis

Hardcore Member
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
8,265
Age
41
Location
49.491276,8.423518
I cannot say why..but i like this Design :)
29865-35020bd626d20deb331a92ad65465013.jpg

Tanks for the Newspost ;)
 

Inqui

Very Active Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2014
Messages
240
Location
NRW
I cannot say why..but i like this Design :)
29865-35020bd626d20deb331a92ad65465013.jpg

Tanks for the Newspost ;)

ED have to learn to close the camera iris.
Its horrible!!! Every picture is with that little sharp area. Thats not good for product pictures.

@ED: please try to take them with iris (Blende, du verstehst schon) over 10~14.
So the whole thing will be getting sharp.

Perfect would be to take the highest setting (maybe 22?), because you are not taking pictures from hand and with bad light.
ISO 100, Blende 22 = World happy
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,923
Age
45
Location
Ingolstadt
@ED: please try to take them with iris (Blende, du verstehst schon) over 10~14.
So the whole thing will be getting sharp.

That does not work on my kitchen table with only LED lighting with an older camera and without tripod, which is where I did take the picture (I was at home, not in my office)

Besides, that's only technically better, as you want to see the whole product - from an aesthetic point of view, having a nice depth-of-field is nice.

I also usually dislike pictures where everything is sharp, as that's unnatural (your eyes also have a depth-of-field), but yes, or showing a product, it makes sense.

But here the reason clearly is low light and older camera. I could've taken a grainy picture with a higher iris value, which would've made everything more blurry...
That's why I took two pictures.
 

Wally

I am a banana!
Joined
Jan 31, 2006
Messages
3,207
Age
36
Location
Melbourne, Australia
ED have to learn to close the camera iris.
Its horrible!!! Every picture is with that little sharp area. Thats not good for product pictures.

@ED: please try to take them with iris (Blende, du verstehst schon) over 10~14.
So the whole thing will be getting sharp.

Perfect would be to take the highest setting (maybe 22?), because you are not taking pictures from hand and with bad light.
ISO 100, Blende 22 = World happy

Are you seriously complaining about how the picture is taken? *sigh*
 

Neelix

Insecticidal Maniac
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
3,279
Location
Melbourne, Australia
If ED catered for everyone we wouldn't have any products, just pictures and ideas.. Which is why I ask!


*blinks* That's a good reason for ED to be selective as to what feedback he acts on, but it's not a good reason not to provide feedback, nor is it a good reason to discourage people from providing feedback.

-Neelix
 

kabaiakh

Very Active Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2015
Messages
157
Location
Gone.
That does not work on my kitchen table

Sketch some ideas for a device.

_sketch.jpg


Blender will show the final product.

_blender.jpg


Design a board.

_board.jpg


Put some chips on the board.

_chips.jpg


Then put everything in an oven.

_oven.jpg


A cooling system is required.

_fridge.jpg


No, no ... With a sink !

_sink.jpg


Fork some projects.
_fork.jpg


May our journey finally bring us to the finish line

_tlozalttp.png
 

Black Sliver

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
53
My external SATA housing only uses one USB3 cable for data and power, and I currently have it plugged into a USB2 host port delivering (I assume) only 5V at some amps, and that seems to be able to power my full-sized 3.5" hard discs just fine. Maybe my USB2 PCI card actually supports USB power at higher voltages though, I dunno.
Nope. External housings have a step-up converter to generate 12VDC from VBus (5VDC). Almost all (normal) Desktop SATA HDDs have the rotor connected to 12VDC and the logic connected to 5VDC.
Afaik, eSATAp drives may be powered from 5VDC, so the cable shown above on page 1 *may* work for eSATAp drives, but will most likely not work for desktop HDDs
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: szr

Black Sliver

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
53
Wait, does this mean I can connect a internal desktop harddrive into a pyra?
That's fucken sick!
Yes, but there is no way to directly power it from the pyra. There were some housings with eSATA + external PSU, no idea if they still exist.
 

elw3

ƐʍlƎ
Joined
Aug 10, 2010
Messages
1,756
Perfect would be to take the highest setting (maybe 22?), because you are not taking pictures from hand and with bad light.
ISO 100, Blende 22 = World happy
One of the rules of taking pictures is: Never ever go over apperature 8. The picture will get blurry due to light bending.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
15,852
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Nope. External housings have a step-up converter to generate 12VDC from VBus (5VDC). Almost all (normal) Desktop SATA HDDs have the rotor connected to 12VDC and the logic connected to 5VDC.
Fine, but USB2 without any USB power extensions limits the current to 500mA. Step that up to 12V and you're talking somewhere around 200mA to power the rotor, before you even consider the logic or the stepper motor. I have USB SSDs that need a Y cable to provide enough current, yet this thing runs off a single USB cable, which surprised me slightly.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,294
It only provides regular SATA, you will likely need an external power supply which are fairly easy to get.

Honestly with a battery powered device I'd expect it's best to use externally powered drives even with USB3 drives.
 
Top