Slackware for Pandora 14.2


peelie2019

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
29
hi @Linux-SWAT
got this OS working, nice, but I can't seem to get Mass Storage working, the Mass Storage program itself works but I am not seeing drive when hooked to my main laptop?
thanks for any help
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
15,611
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
I'm not sure what graphical filer slackware runs if any, but if it doesn't you may need to mount your drive after connecting it. It should appear as a /dev/sd* automatically, but unmounted by default.
 

peelie2019

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
29
I'm not sure what graphical filer slackware runs if any, but if it doesn't you may need to mount your drive after connecting it. It should appear as a /dev/sd* automatically, but unmounted by default.
hi sdcard is mounted in pandora but not seen when connected to laptop
 

PowerGod

Forum Addict!
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
4,125
Mass Storage works only from the OTG port (the mini usb).

Also check that usb ports are actually enabled.
 

peelie2019

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
29
Mass Storage works only from the OTG port (the mini usb).

Also check that usb ports are actually enabled.
yes using mini-usb, i thought the SD MASS Storage program enabled that port like in does in SuperZaxxon?
 

Linux-SWAT

Forum Addict!
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
9,040
Hi @peelie2019 (the peelie I met in Paris ?).
If it's included, it works :^)
Just in case, what's the output of lsusb when enabled ? Also check /var/log/the_right_script please.
Also maybe try another cable ?
 

peelie2019

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
29
Hi @peelie2019 (the peelie I met in Paris ?).
If it's included, it works :^)
Just in case, what's the output of lsusb when enabled ? Also check /var/log/the_right_script please.
Also maybe try another cable ?
oui salut c'est moi : ) ca va?
lsusb showing:
Code:
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

dmesg last line shows:
Code:
gadget: high-speed config #1: CDC Composite (ECM +ACM)

"Also check /var/log/the_right_script please"
what does this mean?

(pendent le confinement j'ai finalement installé votre coque en argent pour le pandora!)
 

Linux-SWAT

Forum Addict!
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
9,040
Ça va merci :^)

Tested, it doesn't work on my SL4P.

Mistakenly wrote lsusb instead of lsmod.
OP logs are stored under /tmp (I forgot about that):
The file is:
Code:
/tmp/pndrun_op_storage.out

The log file reports that rmmod and modprobe aren't found in op_storage.sh .
Go root with su, then edit:
Code:
/usr/pandora/scripts/op_storage.sh

Add /sbin/ before the four lonely rmmod and modprobe.

Now the problem is that the g_file_storage module can't be found.
But it is there and even insmod can't load it.
Have to investigate, but I currently have no time/energy :-(
 

peelie2019

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 17, 2019
Messages
29
Ça va merci :^)

Tested, it doesn't work on my SL4P.

Mistakenly wrote lsusb instead of lsmod.
OP logs are stored under /tmp (I forgot about that):
The file is:
Code:
/tmp/pndrun_op_storage.out

The log file reports that rmmod and modprobe aren't found in op_storage.sh .
Go root with su, then edit:
Code:
/usr/pandora/scripts/op_storage.sh

Add /sbin/ before the four lonely rmmod and modprobe.

Now the problem is that the g_file_storage module can't be found.
But it is there and even insmod can't load it.
Have to investigate, but I currently have no time/energy :-(
hi thanks for investigating.

what does "before the four lonely rmmod and modprobe." mean?
thanks
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
15,611
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
I assume those are commands inside /usr/pandora/scripts/op_storage.sh, where it says either modprobe or rmmod specify that they're in /sbin/ before each of them.
 

Montoya

Still Fresh
Joined
Sep 18, 2019
Messages
10
I am a bit lost. I used to have this as my only pandora OS. Had the poor machine parked for 2 years and decided to undust it.

Now I am unable to connect to the Internet: I use the /usr/pandora/scripts/op_wifi, even the activate wifi menu from xfce4 (even if it is not my standard wm)... The confusing thing is that it seems to work: activates the device, loads the kernel module, dhcp assigns me a valid ip, broadcast and netmask all ok... but when I try to do a ping 8.8.8.8 or go to any website I get a "Network is unreachable error".

At first I tough it might be firmware issues, but I have the same results when I plug an USB Wireless dongle (well,in that case it refuses to use it), try USB tethering with my mobile, or even Bluetooth.

It is not hardware related, because if I boot into the official pandora Linux distro, I got Internet (and sound, which I also don't have in sl4p).

Maybe updating will fix it, but... yeah, no Internet makes it a bit tricky to do
 

b_o_b

Advanced Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2010
Messages
1,437
Hi @Linux-SWAT
Are you planning on creating a 15.0 slackware version now that it is finally released in February? I would totally understand if you didn't - the Pyra is available, there is a lot less activity on the forum and it might not even be technically feasible. Still using 14.2 on one of my Pandora's and don't really have any major issues. I guess 14.2 will be supported for a few years to come anyway.
Just curious.
 

Linux-SWAT

Forum Addict!
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
9,040
Hi !
I plan to release a 15.0, it will be armhf and therefore will not run most pnds.
The development thread is here:

I used the 14.2 a lot recently and found minor problems, I'll probably correct them first.
 
Top