Release [Port] Residual


Gillou68310

Still Fresh
Joined
Sep 13, 2012
Messages
7
You might need to include eglport.
Dude I thought this was already done on the pandora port!! My GLES plugin isn't going to work if there's no EGL Context!

a few less errors



Code:
engines/grim/gfx_opengl.cpp: In member function ‘virtual void Grim::GfxOpenGL::drawShadowPlanes()’:

engines/grim/gfx_opengl.cpp:650: error: ISO C++ forbids variable length array ‘vertices’

engines/grim/gfx_opengl.cpp: In member function ‘virtual void Grim::GfxOpenGL::drawModelFace(const Grim::MeshFace*, float*, float*, float*)’:

engines/grim/gfx_opengl.cpp:756: error: ISO C++ forbids variable length array ‘vert’

engines/grim/gfx_opengl.cpp:757: error: ISO C++ forbids variable length array ‘normal’

engines/grim/gfx_opengl.cpp:758: error: ISO C++ forbids variable length array ‘tex’

engines/grim/gfx_opengl.cpp: At global scope:

engines/grim/gfx_opengl.cpp:91: warning: ‘Grim::fragSrc’ defined but not used

engines/grim/gfx_opengl.cpp:98: warning: ‘Grim::dimFragSrc’ defined but not used

make: *** [engines/grim/gfx_opengl.o] Error 1

Ok this is happening because you're using an older builder version you'll need at least gcc4.6



Anyway here's a quick (and ugly) fix:



Look for the following code in gfx_opengl.cpp





Code:
GLfloat vertices[3*shadowSector->getNumVertices()];

...

...

...

GLfloat vert[3*face->_numVertices];

GLfloat normal[3*face->_numVertices];

GLfloat tex[2*face->_numVertices];


Replace it by:



Code:
GLfloat vertices[1000];

...

...

...

GLfloat vert[1000];

GLfloat normal[1000];

GLfloat tex[1000];
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
436
Looking at a few previous posts in the ResdiualVM forums does seem to have been some duplicated work regarding opengles port, but a general consensus that for GrimE at least Opengles 2.0 is needed.


I have tried to get your alterations working, mostly to try out Myst III, but has gone a little beyond my knowledge.. any help from anyone would be appreciated.... of course I do have to note that Myst III is classed as only "25%" playable.


It would be interesting to see how it handles on the Pandora, which I would imagine would run quite well.. it would still be more of a "demo" than a fully playable game at the moment.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
436
I would be grateful if someone could test the latest build for me.. 

it's only really bug fixes for GF and EMI. 

The Demo of GF now seems to work properly.. before it seemed to have problems with animations.

  Although more work has been put into EMI... it is still unstable and not really playable..

residualvm-op.pnd
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
436
I don't appear to have permission to view it either.. and it's my attachment...  lol

 
 
Last edited by a moderator:

NoeleyC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,348
Did anyone figure out who exactly has access to this PND? ;) I'm happy to give it a test if I can get my grubby spawgs on it!
 

NoeleyC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,348
I'll have to get it after work, my network won';t allow me to access it from here! (thanks for posting anyway)
 

ZXDunny

Deep avatar
Joined
Oct 12, 2010
Messages
2,559
Looks like I have to sign up for an account to download - not a chance, I've signed up to way too many services to add yet another one.

D.
 

NoeleyC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,348
Can't say I'm a fan of signing up for these things wither, is there anyway it can be uploaded somewhere where you can download it more easily without registering?
 

Null

Paeonia
Joined
Jun 16, 2007
Messages
9,721



Click the residualvm-op.pnd link next to Download: to download the file without needing to register.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
436
-what Strigoi said-

you don't need to register to download..

but I admit.they don't make it that obvious.. mostly because they are trying to trick you to register.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

NoeleyC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,348
Downloaded this new version, has ever been a change with the save game format again? I was able to load my old save into this new version, but I wanted to check see whether the previous version played faster, but it crashes when I try to load a new saver into the previous version
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
436
I think the save format has changed again.

Why would you want to load a (new version)-save into an (old version)ResidualVM?

or am I misunderstanding you?
 

NoeleyC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,348
I've never played much of Grim Fandango before, but the last time I tried ì seemed to run very smoothly on my new 1gig machine. This time I got down to the initial meeting with Glottis and the animation got quite jerky, so I wanted to go back to the last version and see was it the same at that point, but saved over my original save by mistake. That's why I was trying to load an new save into the previous version (hope that makes sense?}
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
436
I overclocked my Pandora to 1000MHz got to that initial scene with Glottis. seems to run at about the same fps for me as it did before.  But I wouldn't say it was ever "extremely smooth" just "smooth enough" as it's just using software rendering.

But however the current saves in ResidualVM seem forward compatible but not backwards compatible. 

I'll make a note of that in the repo when I upload it.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2007
Messages
436
Well I uploaded a newer build of ResidualVM yesterday.

Mostly bug fixes but the one useful feature is that ResidualVM now verifies game data before it is run for the first time. Very handy.

Now Monkey Island 4 is still in development and will be a long while before it is 100% completable/playable.

Currently It seems to have a bit of a Heisenbug (a bug that vanishes when you try to debug it).  Running it normally usually results in it crashing (at least my version of MI4).

You can get it to run if you use gdb.  Here is the video of it running:

https://www.youtube.com/embed/QH9yRUYxtOk?feature=oembed


Doing this you can play the game for a bit and apparently it is possible to nearly complete Act 1.
 

NoeleyC

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
1,348
Downloaded the latest update last night, never actually played Monkey Island 4, would be great for the entire series to be playable on the Pandora someday! Grim Fandango is fantastic though :)
 
Top