Release PFBA

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by ptitSeb, Jan 21, 2018.

  1. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    Here is PFBA: the Portable FBA.
    [​IMG]
    This version of FBA is maintained by Cpasjuste, and is multiplatform (Vita, RPi, Linux...), with optimisations for ARM devices.
    This Pandora version has been compiled with SDL2 and use OpenGL (yeah, gl4es again).

    Key configuration is adapted to Pandora, so all 4 buttons are mapped to Arcade buttons (5th and 6th buttons are letters O and P).
    Insert Coins is mapped to "Select"
    Start is mapped to "Start".

    While in the Rom selection menu, "Esc" quit the emulator, "Select" show Options Screen for the current Rom, and "SPACE" shows the global options.
    While in-game, press "SPACE" to have Option menu (you can quit only with this menu).
    There are other shortcut:
    Select + Start => Dip switches
    Select + {A} => P1P2Switches
    Select + Up/Down => Change scaler
    Select + Left/Right => Change Shader (inactive here)
    Select + O => Save state

    While PFBA may not be as advanced, in term of GUI, as CAPEX, it's still very usable and already is feature rich (you can add previews and title pack, png does work).

    By default, pfba looks for roms in appdata/pfba/roms but you can add alternative path: after 1st start, edit pfba/pfba.cfg to select alternate roms path.

    History log
    =========

    Build 06
    -----------

    • Using latest sources
    • Version is completly new
    • Using gl4es and gles2 backend
    Build 05
    -----------

    • Never released
    Build 04
    -----------

    • Compile with LTO to get back to build02 level of performances
    • Audio frequency can be selected now in Emulation option (44,22 and 11kHz)
    • Fixed QuickBrowse key issues
    Build 03
    -----------

    • Fixed sound for the 1st game
    • Fixed audio lag
    • Fixed analog control (using left nub)
    • Menu is now SPACE
    • Added QuickBrowse in roms browser (so pressing 0..9 A..Z do something).
    • Some games are not compatible with ASM m68k core, so it's disabled for them
    Build 02
    -----------

    • Repackaged
    Build 01
    -----------

    • Initial build
    • Pandora port use SDL2/GL
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2019
  2. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,955
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Thanks for the port. Unfortunately when I run it I get a missing library error relating to sdl2.lib (plus a version number; I can dig out the exact message if needed).
     
  3. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    A shortcut was missing... I repackaged and it does run now.

    But, while I tested on my CC to be sure it works this time, I noticed that on thta CC model, with default driver, the GUI is all messed up. It will works fine if you switch to the 4.04 driver.
    I had no issue on my Gigahertz during my testing (using 4.10 SGX driver).

    Build 02
    -----------

    • Repackaged
     
  4. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,192
    Awesome.
    No time to test for now, but many thanks.
     
  5. mamemaniac

    mamemaniac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    PtitSeb you made a miracle with this, i made a quick try with Street Fighter 3 Third Strike and it played fullspeed on my Rebirth with a bit of overclock. This is AMAZING!
     
    FBnil likes this.
  6. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    @mamemaniac : glad you like that build :)

    I have done some quick testing on my Gigahertz model (default speed of 1Ghz, SGX driver 4.10), with fps shown:
    SFIII is doing a bit a frameskip, but less then 1 (I get 45~55 fps)
    System16 games seems fullspeed
    RType (IRem M72 IIRC) is mostly fullspeed (around 55 fps).
    RType II seems pretty fast too
    RType Leo was too slow, with huge frameskip (around 6~8 fps).
    1942 was fullspeed (even when compiling at the same time :) ).

    On my CC at 800Mhz, RType was having some frameskip. It seem playable but more choppy then on my Gigahertz.

    Also, note that the sound is 44100Hz (stereo, 16bits).

    And, for games that runs à 50Hz or 59.94Hz, LCD Speed should be changed accordingly (all other refresh rates are using 60Hz LCD refresh).
     
  7. mamemaniac

    mamemaniac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    It seems the FPS counter is not very accurate, with SF3TS i get around 45 FPS but the game feels absolutely fullspeed to me with 0 slowdowns. I noticed sometimes the sound stop plays for about 0,5 secs (i am using SGX 4.10 BTW) and at times the emulator quit to XFCE when larger roms are loaded (like SF3TS which is around 60 MB in size).
     
  8. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    45fps doesn't means there is slow down, it means there are is few frameskip: the games still go 100% of speed, but will drop a frame from time to time. It's mostly fullspeed indeed, and feel pretty smooth.
     
  9. xnopasaranx

    xnopasaranx Superbad!

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3,319
    Awesome! This is a great port, thanks a lot!
     
  10. mamemaniac

    mamemaniac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    Well, i tried the same SF3 rom in old FBA Capex and Retroarch FBA and i can confirm the performance in PFBA is vastly improved, i'll test later other arcade games and report back.
     
  11. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,955
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Woah, this plays CPS3 games close to full speed? I'll definitely have to get me some of those then finally!
     
  12. Xcl4m4t10n

    Xcl4m4t10n Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,068
    Can somebody record some jojoba.zip playthrough please?
     
  13. hilake

    hilake Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Wow! Amazingly. Thanks a lot! It's long time for me want to get a new fba version.
     
  14. mamemaniac

    mamemaniac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    226
  15. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,955
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    if the emu crashes to XFCE with large datasets, try running with a swapfile enabled.
     
  16. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    1. Audio lag: yeah, I increased the buffer size to be sure it's created with a reasonnable size. I can try to reduce it, but it may have some side effect. I need to test.
    2. I don't reproduce that on my Gigahertz, but I use a swapfile all the time (it's my dev. Pandora). Not sure I can do something for this one (and not sure why it would crash if loaded 1st but not crash if loaded 2nd).
    3. I'll check that. I guess Chase HQ require analog control (steering wheel and gas/brake pedal IIRC) and a digital control substitute is not there?
     
  17. mamemaniac

    mamemaniac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    226
    @levi : i remember i was able to launch any CPS3 game in old FBA Capex with old kernel (so with only 256 MB RAM available) and never needed any swapfile, this sounds more a bug than a memory issue to me.

    @ptitSeb: the Vita port has some new audio options not present in the Pandora port, maybe you can try to add these to fix the lag:

    http://www.psx-place.com/attachments/pfba3-jpg.9536/
     
  18. Magic Sam

    Magic Sam Forever Homebrew

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Innsmouth, MA
    Hi all :)

    @ptitSeb : thanks for porting this one to the Pandora, it's really appreciated !

    I just tried to play Metal Slug 1 (Neo Geo MVS) but that game failed to launch. I tried both MAME and Neo Geo roms by the way.

    Does PFBA need external BIOS files, like other emulators do ?

    And do you guys know whether PFBA is compatible with UniBIOS ?

    http://unibios.free.fr/

    EDIT : looks like it is, at least with version 3.2...

    Cheers, Magic Sam
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2018
  19. ptitSeb

    ptitSeb Serial Porter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    8,359
    Location:
    France, near Lyon
    New build on the repo, with quite some changes...

    Build 03
    -----------

    • Fixed sound for the 1st game
    • Fixed audio lag
    • Fixed analog control (using left nub)
    • Menu is now SPACE
    • Added QuickBrowse in roms browser (so pressing 0..9 A..Z do something).
    • Some games are not compatible with ASM m68k core, so it's disabled for them

    Also, I added the diff of the Pandora version in the 1st post.
     
    oskarzer0, levi, Linux-SWAT and 2 others like this.
  20. oskarzer0

    oskarzer0 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Salamanca
    Thanks for your great work!
    When I press any key in the keyboard the emulation slow down and the screen flick :( Why?
    I can't play Street Fighter if i cant press "o" and "p" keys.

    Thank you very much and sorry for my poor english :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...