Of boards and displays

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Feb 2, 2015.

  1. TeDaDeS

    TeDaDeS Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    883
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2016
  2. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,711
    T-Mobile. I'd advocate T-Mobile just in general, not strictly because it'd be compatible with the PLS8-US
     
    rygD likes this.
  3. Wrath Of Khan

    Wrath Of Khan Soul soother...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,146
    Location:
    Ireland
    It's inching closer to the finishing line. Good things come to those who wait.

    I must say, the first time I opened the box and took out my pandora was kinda special. I had so much fun mucking about with it for a whole year, practically non-stop.

    Roll on the Pyra.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2015
  4. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,052
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2016
  5. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,359
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I blame the screen protector.  It seems plenty sensitive when I don't want it to be, which causes misclicks and stuff, and that is when I don't think I even have the stylus on the screen.  I can add a note about that when I send it in (I promise, I will eventually...maybe) if you think that needs to be looked out.  I am more concerned about the difference in pressure required on different parts of the screen to get the same response, although that doesn't bother me much, and I did try to make sure the tabs are all correct and there is nothing stuck in there.  I could take my screen protector off to see if it fixes issues, but I am fine with it for now.  Thanks for the heads up, though.
     
  6. Mr_Loon

    Mr_Loon Can't Remember

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,326
    Use 1001 of a Pandora :)

    A quick google told me this 'brown noise' was, thankfully, not quite what I thought 
     
    bzar, ible and PokeParadox like this.
  7. Bosbeetle

    Bosbeetle Terminally lost

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,693
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2015
    Wally likes this.
  8. matzesu

    matzesu Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,045
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    Nice, saw it allready in Twitter, but there are also peaple whitout twitter..


    Glad to see the Bare Boards are ready, even whitout the Parts on it,


    But you can allready messure out they fit in the Case..


    Are these Boards also made by Clobal Components, or do they just put the Parts on they??
     
  9. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    Neither.

    Boards were made by Würth and its me who will manually put the parts on them (asap and as soon as the missing coil has arrived).

    GC will do the reflow soldering (vapor phase machine). This is only doable this way for prototyping.

    But for mass production GC will order the boards wherever appropriate and use their pick&place machine.

    -- hns

    PS: I changed the nickname (ex. gta04)  because some people were confused.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2015
  10. Saber

    Saber Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,303
    From the picture it appears keyboard backlighting may be AltGr + Dpad Up/Down, and screen brightness could be AltGr + PgUp/PgDn. If AltGr is essentially Left Control + Right Alt, I thought there'd be reservations about putting these shortcuts with those controls. Control + Alt + Up/Down(or PgUp/PgDn) are already set in some programs. 

    Also, I see the letters are "centered", if the labels on the PCB are anything to go by. Time will tell. Looking good.  :)
     
  11. Neelix

    Neelix Insecticidal Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,224
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Interesting.  I was somewhat surprised to see the that the CPU board was printed on the same piece of substrate as the main board.  For some reason I had imagined that the difference in structure (number of layers) would require them to be printed separately. 

    - Neelix
     
  12. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    This is not the final CPU board, just an interim revision that would not work if the OMAP5 would be soldered to it. It is for testing the PCB production data - and is used as an adapter to the OMAP5432EVM.

    The "real" CPU board will have more layers and smaller copper traces, so it must be produced separately.
     
  13. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,066
    Location:
    germany
    You will put in every part by hand? Wow!  :ph34r:  Such tiny stuff, I never could do that. Or if I did, there would be alot of parts left over. :D

    Just out of curiosity, how are the measuerements of the PCB(s)? I may be make a 3D dummy to play around in 123D design and fit an self designed case around. :)
     
  14. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    Well, you must have

    * tools (e.g. stereo microscope)

    * a calm hand

    * experience

    * and use some secret tricks and magic words :)

    But it is not necessary that everyone can do that. People are different and everybody has his/her own strengths.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2015
    Mr_Loon likes this.
  15. matzesu

    matzesu Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,045
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    Thangs for the answers hns,


    Populate from hand sounds like a lot of work..
     
  16. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,137
    May you soon have a new populated and functioning system board to use as a new avatar photo as well.  (Well wishes for the prototypes.)

    I'm curious... So you line up the components with a series of solder pads on the board, then it is heated in a vacuum to re-flow the solder?  How do you keep the board and components from shifting when it's moved from the bench top to the vacuum oven?  Some kind of glue?
     
  17. Binky

    Binky Death's Steed Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6,910
    Location:
    16A (TO)
    Don't you also have to stick your tounge out at just the right angle? :p
     
  18. Liariv

    Liariv Guest

    Hi, not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but will the Pyra be able to make phone calls and send SMS texts if its the 3G version? I would LOVE to replace my phone with a Pyra entirely if I could.
     
  19. Greybeard

    Greybeard Guest

    Hello ED,

    Thanks for the update. We all appreciate it!

    Have you seen the questions that are waiting for you over in the "Ask EvilDragon Questions" section?
     
  20. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,785
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Yes, but phone calls will probably work best with a headset, as it's probably not comfortable to hold it to your ear ;)

    Yes, just need more time (or clone myself ;) )
     

Share This Page

Loading...