Of boards and displays

Discussion in 'Pyra News' started by EvilDragon, Feb 2, 2015.

  1. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,053
    Well, I don't mind holding it like that. I tried it with the Pandora, it's fine.
     
  2. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,066
    Location:
    germany
    I don't have:

    * tools (e.g. stereo microscope)

    * a calm hand

    * experience (I had basic soldering lessons in school but nothing comparable to the tiny stuff in the Pyra)

    * and use some secret tricks and magic words :) (So the Pyra will working through some magic too? :D )

    I only have some ideas, like most people here. ^^"
     
  3. Loonie

    Loonie Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    753
    Great to see the Pyra kicking and punching its way to life. For me it's as good as bought.

    Same deal with mine. I hardly ever use the touch screen because of it. I have to cradle the screen in my left hand and drive the stylus into it with the right hand to get it to register.
     
  4. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,230
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    It's still possible to get an rss feed out of twitter without having a twitter login, though you have to use a third party tool to get it. I'd link my link, but it seems the site's used up all it's twitter connections recently, so me linking it would hardly help - which I guess is why these third party tools never seem to last all that long. I'm afraid you'll have to google for an rss tool to use.
     
  5. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,713
    Those pads are labeled "BL-UP", "BL-DN", "BL-R", and "BL-L". Given that the "keyboard" are labeled "B-" and the game keys on the right are "BR-" I'm guessing that "B" stands for "button" and "BL" stands for "Buttons Left", not "Backlight". I don't see anything to indicate the intention of using them for backlighting or brightness, unless you are seeing something I'm not.Which is good because, as you say, having the gamepads with alternate functions would lead to disaster.

    We can definitely see the double width space on the right, same as on the Pandora, however, so I think it's safe to say that's set in stone.
     
  6. rygD

    rygD Nihilistic Mystic

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    7,360
    Location:
    Everywhere
    People always give me dirty looks and cover the ears of children when I use those loudly.  Then again, maybe your magic words are of a different nature than mine, and they are used in a different context. 
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2015
  7. Saber

    Saber Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,303
    I noticed and thought the same but my post was more a "feeler" for new(any) info on where OP will go with those controls. Those labels are exactly the same as a previous board BTW, unconfirmed still, and mean nothing about what will make it onto those keys, spacebar or otherwise.  
     
  8. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,713
    The two spacebar buttons are physically connected. While I don't suspect it would be too difficult to change the trace from one pair to another it's probably undesired. If those are labeled space on this "final" board I think it's safe to assume that that's what ED has chosen.
     
  9. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,230
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I understood it's a simple trace from one floating side of the switch to the adjacent switch's floating side, which you can simply cut to make the two float independently, based on whether the switch is bridged by a keypress or not. But I can't remember where I read that, I'm afraid.
     
  10. Saber

    Saber Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,303
    It's okay with me if your expectations are correct but ED said before he wants an "uncentered" layout. If space-bar is in the same place it was on the Pandora, then I wonder what will be at the vacated "M" position? Menu? Compose? As I said before, time will tell.
     
  11. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,713
    As far as I know that's the case, it's been said several times in different places, sometimes even by myself so may not be entirely accurate.
    What vacated "M"? Which image are you looking at? I see a comma, period, z, x, c, v, b, n, m, two spaces, and an AltGR on the bottom row, basically the same as on the Pandora.
     
  12. vcoleiro1

    vcoleiro1 Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4,559
    Any more thoughts on how you will fund a production run of the PYRA ED?  .  ie is Kickstarter or Indiegogo still on the cards, or are you leaning to a different method.
     
  13. Hồng Thất Công

    Hồng Thất Công Đả Cẩu Bổng Pháp

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4,380
    Location:
    Cái Bang
    How about I send you my rarely used ghz unit first with perfect touch screen. Once you receive it you can send yours to me. This way you have no down time.
     
    _jr_ likes this.
  14. illuminerdi

    illuminerdi Guest

    I don't see any detailed responses to this so I wanted to see if this issue had ever been properly addressed?

    As far as telephony in the US goes the basic things to deal with are the different in GSM/LTE bands that the US uses compared to Euro territories, and the existence of CDMA.

    Personally I would just abandon CDMA compatibility altogether.  Yes this hurts people who use Verizon/Sprint here in the US but CDMA compatibility is a huge headache because it means separate chips and thus dealing with separate drivers, separate basebands, etc, all to tackle the smallest (overall) segment of the US market.  It's important to note that CDMA is *dying*.  Verizon and Sprint both have LTE networks, so at worst a Pyra user on Verizon/Sprint will lose 3G coverage but still have 4G/LTE, as long as VZ/Sprint has enabled LTE in that user's area.  Yes it's not ideal nor is it fair to VZ/Sprint customers, but I don't think it's fair for the Pyra to have to expend its very limited time/resources catering to a dying segment of the US telephony market.  Another very important factor is that CDMA carriers usually require authorization before they will allow a CDMA device onto their network.  Most of them *don't* allow devices onto their network if the carrier does not sell the device - so not only is CDMA dying, you're facing an uphill battle to get a 3rd party device on a CDMA network.

    The other thing with US cellular compatibility is bands/frequencies.  Some US mobile providers use different frequencies than Euro providers, so the chip needs to be broadly compatible with various frequencies, or else it will effectively be region-limited in that regard. There is *some* overlap, but it's very possible for a device to be compatible with European LTE and not with US LTE.

    The biggest (GSM) providers in the US are AT&T and T-Mobile, so ensuring that the Pyra works on AT&T and TMO will cover the largest majority of US users.  Almost all other US carriers are running on those networks.  Boost Mobile, Virgin Mobile, and a few other small carriers are CDMA but most of them don't let unapproved devices on their networks anyway.

    I can detail the whole thing with LTE bands if asked, but ED is probably already on top of it, but if you want info on how that stuff works, feel free to ask or PM me.  I worked in the US telecom industry for about 5 years, so I'm pretty well versed in all of it and I'm happy to answer any questions if it would be of help.
     
  15. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,139
    Interesting that you would dismiss CDMA as the "smallest (overall) segment of the US Market".  That Sir is a myth.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_United_States_wireless_communications_service_providers

    Sort by descending on the Subscribers column.

    Verizon at 125.3 Million is CDMA

    AT&T at 120.6 Million is GSM

    Sprint at 55.9 Million is CDMA

    T-Mobile at 55.0 Million is GSM

    US Cellular at 4.76 Million is CDMA

    The next 5 companies comprise ~2 Million and are CDMA

    GSM Total in the top 10 companies is 175.6 Million

    CDMA Total in the top 10 companies is ~187 Million

    CDMA is the LARGEST segment of the US subscriber population and has the LARGEST coverage.  There are vast swaths of the country with spotty or no GSM coverage that have strong CDMA signal strengths.  The main cities are covered well by both, but in rural areas, CDMA reigns.

    However, the part that you have correct is that CDMA devices require carrier cooperation in order to get them onto their networks - and that is unlikely to be forthcoming.   GSM's advantage to being able to acquire a SIM card for the given carrier and have it simply work is an incredible advantage.  IMHO this ends up trumping CDMA's larger audience and network.
     
  16. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    Maybe someone can check if the Gemalto PVS8 or PXS8 is ok. They are pin compatible and it might only be a matter of planning and ordering the correct variants. Maybe a little more work for getting type approval.

    http://m2m.gemalto.com/products/industrial-plus/lga/pvs8.html

    http://m2m.gemalto.com/products/industrial-plus/lga/pxs8.html
     
  17. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,139
    I'm not sure how to check this.  Even if the device is compliant/compatible with CDMA, it still leaves open the question of if any of the CDMA carriers would be willing to let it onto their network.  CDMA works via on-device programming instead of a SIM card.  Without the 'secret codes' that the carrier uses to set up the phone...
     
  18. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Then we can forget about CDMA, as I'm pretty sure they don't care about such small companies as us.
     
  19. hns

    hns Very Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Oberhaching
    maybe:

    1. follow links

    2. download Data Sheet:





    But I don't know if these carriers and standards are what you expect. And I don't know the certification procedures for devices using such pre-certified modules.




    Anyways, Cinterion is open to help with such approvals (they want us and others to use their CDMA modules as well): http://m2m.gemalto.com/support-and-downloads/support/overview/support-packages.html

    It would not make sense if they produce and certify modules where the devices built around can't be connected to a network...

     

    This page also sheds some light on it: http://www.globalcertificationforum.org/certification.html
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2015
  20. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,713
    Oh, there is no doubt about the physical capabilities of the device, I'm sure that if you used the PXS8 it could, for all technical reasons, be connected to any CDMA network.The doubt is whether the company will allow it. The person who purchases the device still needs to call up their carrier to have it activated and there's no guarantee they'll allow it.

    Verizon has a bring-your-own-phone program that explicitly mentions being able to sign up with a phone you already own... previously purchased from Verizon. But not just any phone purchased from them, they exclude certain phones from this program. They will refuse to activate certain phones that they have sold on their bring-your-own-device plan, it doesn't seem that much of a stretch to think how hard it would be to get them to activate a phone they didn't get any money from the sale of.

    And it could be entirely inconsistent, each person calling in and getting a different response. Verizon is huge, it's not like they can send out a company memo that says "Pyra is OK to activate", one person may get a rep who knows about it and understands it and can look up the policies on it and give the OK where another might get someone brand new who knows just enough about the system to know you can only use certain phones and this "Pyra" thing isn't on that list, so no go.

    It doesn't really matter how many certificates it has, if the person in control of the network doesn't want to (or simply cannot) activate it they aren't required to.
     

Share This Page

Loading...